the taste space

Cinnamon Flax Crackers

Posted in Appetizers, Desserts, Sides by janet @ the taste space on February 24, 2012

Did you know you can revitalize stale chips and crackers with a dehydrator? We were skeptical, but when Rob and I unearthed some stale chips we had forgotten about, we put the dehydrator to the test. After an hour at 145F, we had fresh chips once again! I guess it just goes to show you that it is the moisture that sucks the life out of stale goods.

I don’t think my mom really approved of Rob buying me a dehydrator for Christmas. Figured it would be a passing phase and end up being a dust collector.

Never fear, it is still being used for many different things, even though I haven’t shared them on the blog. I’ve become pretty adept at making apple chips, although dehydrated pineapple is quite good, too (very chewy!). My naked and maple-sweetened cranberries didn’t work out so well, unfortunately. Kale chips have also been great. Rob and I enjoying the polar opposite kinds. He loved the chocolate kale chips, whereas I preferred the Sarah’s maple sesame version. I’ve made raw chocolate macaroons and raw chocolate mint brownies with delicious results. Zucchini wraps, too.

Next up: Crackers.

Looking for a healthy dessert alternative, I decided to make cinnamon flax crackers after spotting them at Vegan Culinary Crusade. I increased the cinnamon for a bigger burst of flavour but otherwise followed her recipe. I mixed together the soaked flax seeds, water and dates in the food processor to create a thick gooey dough. Spread as thinly as possible for a crispy cracker.

Even with 1/2 cup of dates, this wasn’t a sweet cracker. But it was sweet enough to release its prowess with me. I gobbled these crackers up so quickly with their warming hug of cinnamon. I used brown flax seeds but will try golden flax seeds next time since they have a milder taste. In any case, while I originally planned to eat these for dessert, I found they paired beautifully with a butternut squash soup.

This is my submission to Cook Eat Delicious Desserts featuring herbs and spices, to this month’s Sweet Luv and to this week’s Weekend Wellness.

Cinnamon Flax Crackers

2 cups flax seeds (I made mine with brown flax seeds, but next time I will try golden flax since it has a milder taste)
2 cups water
1/2 cup pitted dates
4 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp sea salt

1. Soak the flax seeds and water together for at least 30 minutes. I also threw my dates in there since they were a bit dry.

2. Combine the soaked flax seeds, dates and water in your food processor until almost smooth (my flax seeds stayed mostly intact). Add in the cinnamon and salt and puree until no date chunks are visible (I still had a few date chunks, oops!).

3. Distribute the batter evenly across 3 Telfex-lined dehydrator trays. Spread as thin as possible.

4. Dehydrate at 115F for six hours. Flip the sheets and peel off the Teflex. Continue to dehydrate until you get a crisp cracker, another 8 hours. Remove from dehydrator, cut into crackers and put back into the dehydrator for another 6-12 hours, until you reach your desired crispiness.

Makes tons of crackers!

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Alissa - Not Just Apples said, on February 24, 2012 at 8:15 AM

    Delicious! I really need to get a dehydrator… :)

  2. sprint2thetable said, on February 24, 2012 at 8:48 AM

    I never thought to revive crackers in a dehydrator… genius! I don’t have one, but I have made crackers and other dehydrator with my oven on the lowest setting (170 for me).

    These crackers look great – love the dates in them!

  3. Shira said, on February 24, 2012 at 1:59 PM

    Yum – these look awesome!

  4. Claire said, on February 24, 2012 at 3:32 PM

    These look great. I love healthy desserts like these can be part of a meal, too. Thanks for sending these to Cook.Eat.Delicious-Desserts.

  5. Vardhini said, on February 24, 2012 at 8:37 PM

    Love these healthy crackers. They look yummy. Thx for linking to the event.

  6. Joanne said, on February 24, 2012 at 10:20 PM

    I feel like just the flavor of cinnamon makes things taste sweet to me. I could see myself becoming addicted to these. At least it would be a healthy addiction!

  7. Jane said, on February 26, 2012 at 11:42 AM

    Thanks for the kale chips links! I am seriously thinking of getting a dehydrator … like this week probably! Yay!

  8. Ashley said, on February 27, 2012 at 4:48 PM

    Ooo dehydrated pineapple sounds excellent. I love the sound of these crackers! So gorgeous too. You are making me want a dehydrator more and more with every post. :P

  9. Sophie33 said, on March 4, 2012 at 12:32 PM

    Waw, Your crackers look so special & well flavoured!
    Yummy too! ;)

  10. […] started by making a sweet flax cracker with cinnamon and dates but wanted to tackle something savoury, too. This multiseed cracker, courtesy of Sarah, boasts not […]

  11. […] experimented with homemade unsweetened and maple syrup-sweetened dried cranberries, but my efforts didn’t work out so well. I tried to split the skins by blanching them, but […]

  12. […] 11. Vegan Lisa: When I look for desserts, Lisa’s blog is a great place to start. Her recipes are killer and I have enjoyed everything I have made thus far, including: Raw Strawberry Cream Tart, Raw Mango Energy Bars, Kale Granola, Almost Raw Chocolate Banana Crepes with Almond-Coconut Cream and Cinnamon-Flax Crackers. […]

  13. […] I have gushed over simple dehydrated fruits and veggies before, here I am raving about dried…… wait for it…. […]


What do you think?

