the taste space

Raw Sweet Potato Mushroom Sliders

Posted in Appetizers, Favourites, Mains (Vegetarian) by janet @ the taste space on March 16, 2012

Would you go to a steakhouse for an upscale vegan experience?

It seems so counter-intuitive, eh?

My buddies were eager to dine out during Winterlicious and when I checked the menus there was only one that had vegan options: Prime, the steakhouse at the Windsor Arms Hotel in Yorkville.

I was hesitant, though. Could a steakhouse really have great vegan food? It turns out that they recently hired Doug McNish, Raw Aura‘s former vegan chef that catapulted raw food into my dream books. He added a complete vegan menu at Prime, so I was confident that this would not be subpar vegan eats.

I priced out their Winterlicious menu. It turned out it was cheaper to pick from their standard vegan menu than to limit oneself to the vegan options on fixed price menu, especially since there was overlap between the options.

I opted to try the wild mushroom and pearl barley risotto with crispy sage and truffle oil as a starter. It was decadent and delicious. It was also rich and filling, so I decided to pace myself and take half of it home. Rob tried the nori rolls stuffed with a creamy ginger dill sunflower seed pate but we didn’t find them that exceptional.

For our mains, I happily munched on the herbed portobello mushroom and tempeh burger which was the highlight of the night. I have never had such a flavourful veggie burger. Unfortunately, the sweet potato fries were subpar, even after I asked for fresh ones since mine were cold. They also forgot to give me the sun-dried tomato aioli, but I am glad I reminded them because it was really good with the burger.

Rob had been pining over the cornmeal crusted tempeh steaks, spiced sweet potato coconut mash, steamed greens with caramelized onion and cherry tomato relish but we both found it lackluster. I suppose we’ve been spoiled by great vegan eats from Blossom Cafe, Candle 79 and Pure Food and Wine in NYC.

For dessert, I was salivating the vegan Mango Cheesecake with a Raspberry Coulis. When I packed my risotto earlier, I wanted to make room for this dessert. However, it was bad. It was uber sweet but in a dry icing sugar kind of way. Turns out, I can make a better version at home anyhow (remember those Mango Paradise Bars?)

So, the winning dish that night was the mushroom and tempeh burger and that is what inspired me to try my hand at Susan’s Raw Sweet Potato Mushroom “Sliders” for Rob’s birthday party.

I enjoy raw food because the flavours really pop. At Prime, although their meals are not raw, their tempeh burger had great flavours mingling together which is what captured me into the dish. Here, these mini burgers are flavoured with shiitake mushrooms, sage, rosemary, garlic with bulk from pumpkin seeds and sweet potato. They don’t require a long dehydration time since you want to maintain some moisture. Don’t have a dehydrator? I bet they could easily be baked for 15 minutes or so but I can’t say for sure.

I ate my sliders as mini sandwiches with a slice of tomato as the base, followed by a bed of alfalfa sprouts. The slider was then topped with a smear of avocado with a touch of salt. Delicious!

This is being submitted to this month’s Veggie/Fruit A Month featuring sweet potatoes, to this month’s Ingredient Challenge Monday for mushrooms and to this week’s Wellness Weekend.

Sweet Potato Mushroom “Sliders”
Adapted from Rawmazing

1 large clove garlic
1 medium sweet potato, peeled and coarsely chopped
16 oz mushrooms, coarsely chopped (I used stemmed shiitake mushrooms but anything could work)
1/2 red onion, chopped (approx 1 cup)
1 cup pumpkin seeds ground into flour
1/4 cup tamari or soy sauce
1 tablespoon dried sage
1 tablespoon fresh rosemary, minced
Freshly cracked Pepper, to taste

2-3 avocados
Alfalfa sprouts
2-3 tomatoes, sliced

1. Using a food processor, finely chop garlic.

2. Add the sweet potato and process until finely chopped. Remove mixture to a medium bowl.

3. Add the mushrooms and process until finely chopped. Add to the sweet potato mixture.

4. Add the onions and process until finely chopped. Add to the sweet potato mixture.

5. If you haven’t already, add the pumpkin seeds and process until you obtain a fine flour. Add to the sweet potato mixture.

6. Add the remaining ingredients to the sweet potato mixture and mix well.

7. Roll batter into 2-inch balls on non-stick dehydrator sheet and then squish into a 3″ circle.

8. Dehydrate at 145F for 1 hour, turn down heat to 105F and continue to dehydrate for another 3-4 hours. Check half-way to see if they can be flipped onto a mesh screen. Do not dehydrate too dry, you want to maintain moisture. To serve, lay sliced tomato, top with sprouts and slider, then smear avocado mashed with a bit of salt.

Makes 30 “sliders”.

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. chefconnie said, on March 16, 2012 at 7:23 AM

    Very pretty. I love to put sweet potatoes in veg burgers. This recipe is going to be book marked.

  2. sprint2thetable said, on March 16, 2012 at 7:46 AM

    Raw food has been a big focus for me lately. And of course sweet potatoes are always a focus. :)

    I dont have a dehydrator, but I will often mimic one by putting my oven on it’s lowest setting (170). It generally works out… I’ll be trying that with these!

    Hope you have a great weekend!

  3. lolitawalters said, on March 16, 2012 at 7:53 AM

    I am loving the benefits I have experienced from eating raw. These burgers look so amazing I wish I could grab one of your adorable “sandwiches” right out of my computer screen.

    This recipe is definitely getting bookmarked for as soon as I get a dehydrator!

  4. notjustapples said, on March 16, 2012 at 9:13 AM

    This totally sounds like something I would enjoy! I agree that eating raw food means you have amazing flavours that completely pop :)

  5. Susan said, on March 16, 2012 at 9:24 AM

    Wait a minute, you copy my recipe (exactly except you added 2 avocados) without permission and then you submit it to contests? So not cool. My recipes are copyrighted. Please learn about copyright and blog etiquette.

    • janet @ the taste space said, on March 16, 2012 at 9:41 AM

      Sorry you feel this way. I was under the impression ingredient lists cannot be copyrighted. I have written the directions in my own words. Does that require your permission?

  6. Ella @ Lifeologia said, on March 16, 2012 at 1:56 PM

    These look so good…. wish I could take a bit of this right now ;D
    xo

  7. Joanne Bruno (@joanneeatswell) said, on March 16, 2012 at 2:15 PM

    I would have thought that sweet potato would taste kind of…chalky…when raw but I guess not when combined with all these other vibrant flavors and textures!

  8. Ashley said, on March 20, 2012 at 3:08 PM

    Yumm these look delicious. Yet another reason to get a dehydrator!

  9. [...] rather eat whole grains, in their original form, than rely on flours (unless I am making the flour myself in my food [...]

  10. [...] 4. Raw Sweet Potato Mushroom Sliders [...]

  11. [...] Raw Sweet Potato Mushroom Sliders (tastespace.wordpress.com) [...]

  12. […] Thai Pineapple Parsnip Rice, Blackberry, Walnut and Avocado Salad with A Ginger-Lime Vinaigrette, Raw Sweet Potato and Mushroom Sliders, and Raw Beet […]


What do you think?

