the taste space

Chocolate Protein Oatmeal with Mixed Berries

Posted in Breakfasts, Favourites by Janet M on March 31, 2012

How do you cook your steel cut oats?

My cousin’s spouse recently told me he cooks his for 20 minutes. WHAT?!

Mine always takes 35 minutes, if not 45 minutes. I wouldn’t have it any other way. That’s how I get mine to be super creamy.

Because it takes so long, I make a big batch to last me all week. Leftovers heat up beautifully and I can mix-and-match my flavours each day.

I start by dry-toasting my steel cut oats as the water heats up to a boil (1:4 ratio). When they become fragrant and lightly toasted, I turn off the heat. Usually by this time, the water is boiling and I plop it all in, and then simmer it for 40-45 minutes.

I refrigerate the oats and take out a portion every morning. Heat it up in the microwave for 2 minutes along with a touch of water. From there, I add my flavours: cinnamon, vanilla, fruit, flax seeds, nuts, nut butter,  etc.

My recent breakfast fix has a chocolate base. I use the Chocolate Amazing Grass coupled with Manitoba Harvest’s Hemp Pro 70 for a hearty foundation. I also typically add some fresh fruit, but lately I’ve been cleaning out the frozen fruit from the freezer: this time with mixed berries!

Why Amazing Grass? Beyond its nutritional benefits, I really like the taste (Rob doesn’t like it, though). A slightly malty chocolate taste with low calories and a good protein ratio.

Why Hemp Pro 70?  First of all, I am no protein powder aficionado, but Hemp Pro 70 is pure hemp protein. No fillers, no sweeteners, etc. The high protein content (70% by weight), omega fatty acids, iron and calcium is great but the most important part is that it is water-soluble. You can’t taste it in the oatmeal. It thickens it while keeping it smooth. I usually add more water when I add it to my oatmeal. It also makes my oatmeal more filling…. and green-looking. ;)

While I am partial to steel cut oats from the bulk bin, one of my non-bulk favourites is from Essence of Life. The texture is a bit more creamy. I find Bob’s Red Mill a bit too chewy.

My cousin’s spouse, though, recommended Bob’s Red Mill. He suggests using a big pot (a great tip for no spillover!) and to do a hard boil for 18 minutes uncovered and then 2 minutes covered. He keeps it covered and then lets it sit off the heat for an additional 2-5 minutes. Says it never fails him.

I know there are other variations for cooking on steel cut oats: start with a boil then leave the oats overnight, or just soak them overnight for a chewier texture.

I’ve tried overnight slow cooker steel cut oats, but it was way too watery.

Hence, I’ve stuck with my classic, yet lengthy 45-minute boil.

Tell me, how do you cook your steel cut oats?

Here are some other ways I’ve enjoyed oatmeal:

Whipped Banana Oatmeal with Cranberries
Mango Pistachio Steel Cut Oatmeal (aka Mango Shrikhand Oatmeal)
Mango Oatmeal
Balsamic Lemon-Blueberry Steel Cut Oats
Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal with Roasted Flax Seeds
Pan-Fried Oatmeal with Peach-Blueberry Vanilla Compote
Multigrain Oatmeal with Quinoa and Kasha
Apple Pie Oatmeal
Baked Apple Banana Oatmeal
Rhubarb Baked Oatmeal
Savoury Oatmeal with Soy Sauce and Nutritional Yeast
Savoury Oatmeal with Goji Berries, Nori and Ponzu Sauce

This is my submission to this month’s Monthly Mingle featuring cherries and berries.

Classic Steel Cut Oats

1 cup steel cut oats
4 cups water
1/4 tsp salt

1. In a medium skillet over medium heat, toast steel cut oats until fragrant, about 4 minutes. Do not let it burn!

2. Meanwhile, bring water to a boil with the salt. I find the oats to be done toasting when my water begins to boil.

3. Add oats to boiling water. Cover and turn heat down to low; allow the oats to cook for 40-45 minutes.

4. Once cooled, place cooked oats in a container and refrigerate until needed.

Serves 4.

Chocolate Protein Oatmeal with Mixed Berries

1 serving Classic Steel Cut Oats (refrigerated is ok)
1/2 cup chopped fruit (I used a combination of strawberries, raspberries, blackberries and cranberries)
1 scoop Chocolate Amazing Grass
1 scoop Hemp Pro 70 (or your favourite protein powder)

1. Remove oatmeal and place in a microwave-safe dish. If your fruit is frozen, add to oatmeal. Add 1-2 tbsp of water.

2. Microwave on high for 2 minutes.

3. While hot, stir in the Amazing Grass and hemp powder until it all dissolves. Add more water if it is still too thick.

Serves 1.

34 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. [...] Chocolate Protein Oatmeal with Mixed Berries (tastespace.wordpress.com) Share this:TwitterFacebookEmailPrintLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. Filed under Posts and tagged Breakfast, Comfort food, Oatmeal | Leave a comment [...]

  2. elizabeth said, on April 1, 2012 at 11:02 PM

    In the rice cooker on porridge setting. Put them in the cooker at night with water, chia and dash salt. Set timer to have them ready when I get back from my run in the morning. I like to eat them with almond milk, stevia and chopped apple.

  3. Joanne said, on April 1, 2012 at 11:09 PM

    Sadly…I’VE NEVER MADE STEEL CUT OATS! Isn’t that kind of pathetic? I think so. Especially when chocolate flavored varieties like this exist. I’m really missing out.

  4. Rachel said, on April 2, 2012 at 2:18 PM

    I do the boil, turn heat off and then let sit overnight covered on the stove. Works everytime for me.

  5. [...] Janet- The Taste Space Chocolate Protein Oatmeal with Mixed Berries [...]

  6. melecotte said, on April 2, 2012 at 8:20 PM

    I cook mine similarly, and never get the oats to doneness before 30 minutes. For breakfast, I may add milk at the end of the cooking. On special occasions, I like to brulee the oats!

    Love this though! It’s a great twist on breakfast. Will have to look into the protein powder addition.

    So sorry I missed the post. I have added it to the Mingle! Thanks for participating. :)

    • janet @ the taste space said, on April 2, 2012 at 8:29 PM

      Bruleeing the oats sounds like a great idea. Do you just stick it under the broiler after brushing ti with some oil?

  7. Tink said, on April 3, 2012 at 7:36 AM

    I’ve never actually made steal cut oats, I love oatmeal and always have but I’m really intrigued by your fresh take on the breakfast favourite:) I’ve just eaten dinner but I feel like making a big bowl of creamy, chocolate rich oats.
    Thanks for the inspiration! I’m going to try this recipe out this weekend:)

  8. Ashley said, on April 5, 2012 at 3:54 PM

    Interesting to read about the different ways people prepare steel cut oats. And that you find a difference between dfiferent brands. I would’ve thought they’d all be the same. I don’t often make steel cut oats but I just follow the directions on the bag haha (which is Bob’s Red Mill and I think says 15-20 minutes). I use a pot but it always boils over!! But then I use almond/soy milk instead of water and it seems to get foamy easily.

    • janet @ the taste space said, on April 6, 2012 at 6:05 PM

      If there is one thing that boils over on my stove, it is steel cut oats.. but mostly because I wander away! I tried the cook for 3 minutes then leave out overnight method but thought they were too chewy. I definitely prefer the 45 minutes cooked oats. ;)

  9. [...] Chocolate Protein Oatmeal with Mixed Berries (tastespace.wordpress.com) [...]

  10. Tandy said, on April 10, 2012 at 7:25 AM

    I’ve never made oats from scratch but you make it sound so easy that I think I should try :)

  11. [...] I did what everyone turns to in such a panicked state: breakfast for dinner. Not wanting to eat my latest breakfast oats, I went with a savoury twist. I boiled my oats with vegetable broth, through in some leftover [...]

  12. [...] I whittled my pantry down slightly. No more tofu, no more canned green peas, no more hazelnut butter. I polished off the frozen fruit with my breakfasts. [...]

  13. [...] Grass for breakfast. For breakfast fruit, Rob gets the bananas and mangoes while I relish in berries. Rob loves spicy foods, so if cooking for himself, he usually increases the chilies. If cooking for [...]

  14. [...] there is one thing that is predictable with my meals, it is my breakfast. Steel cut oatmeal with fruit and protein powder. Lately, I’ve been eating it with Vega, since I scored it at half price. Making a big batch [...]

  15. [...] pre-planning my meals for the week. I don’t stray too far from my typical weekly batch of steel cut oats, a bean dish and vegetable/grain dish and a soup or salad. My menu is first and foremost based on [...]

  16. [...] I didn’t think it would be so flippin’ fantastic, but it was. Instead of my morning oats, these blackberries are being renewed for another round of this salad! Thanks Matt! What are you [...]

  17. [...] in the past, and have thrown in some greens for good measure, but I keep returning to my easy chocolate protein power oats and berries [...]

  18. [...] if I actually had the time. Of course, I was drawn to the kitchen, so I could easily whip up my routine breakfast oatmeal and other healthy meals. With an Asian grocer a few blocks away, I had access to cheap groceries as [...]

  19. [...] to Manitoba Harvest who had samples of hemp hearts and their protein powders (they had coupons for my favourite Hemp Pro 70, too!), samples and great deals on Camino Chocolate Bars, and the absolute best (hands-on) non-dairy [...]

  20. [...] over top something more bland and neutral like your morning oatmeal (that’s what I did), or serve as a dessert slathered over banana soft-serve ice [...]

  21. [...] really like pureed soups either. I like soups with body and bulk. So I stirred it into my morning oats with the natural Sun Warrior blend and I had a happy protein-rich breakfast for the week. Creamy [...]

  22. [...] biggest fear was breakfast actually (no fruit in my oatmeal?!), but I will share those thoughts in another [...]

  23. [...] of my biggest challenges was to ditch the sweet breakfast during my sweetener-free challenge. Until I realized I used to eat a savoury breakfast all the [...]

  24. [...] a typical day, I try to eat a combination of vegetables, beans and whole grains. While steel cut oats are my typical breakfast, I will often add whole grains to some of my other [...]

  25. [...] to make a single serving of any food, it better be quick. Hence, the oats. I jazzed them up as a dessert pudding with chocolate protein powder, which is also how I ate them for breakfast, too. Still [...]

  26. [...] few hours later, when I arrive at work, I eat my steel-cut oats with protein powder. Lately, I have been adding spirulina to it and it makes it an electric [...]

  27. [...] quinoa wraps, but I have been noshing on lots of great raw eats all week. I also ventured away from my standard chocolate oats, and re-entered overnight oats territory. For some odd reason, I usually only eat overnight oats [...]

  28. […] brother likes to make fun of my standard breakfasts: oatmeal + protein powder + spice/fruit + flax/chia. Not the oatmeal, the protein powder part. Why […]

  29. […] will save my rant about protein powders for another day, but suffice it to say, my preference lies within simple, natural protein powder without any flavours or sweeteners. In times when the […]

  30. […] is a murky green stew but I am not sure if that is any better than my previous (chocolate) brown variety with berries. I used to share a lot of my morning eats but with my morning monotony there is not as much […]


What do you think?

