the taste space

Warm Chickpea Salad with Mango, Pomegranate and Chaat Masala

Posted in Mains (Vegetarian), Salads by janet @ the taste space on April 25, 2012

I whittled my pantry down slightly. No more tofu, no more canned green peas, no more hazelnut butter. I polished off the frozen fruit with my breakfasts.

For some ingredients, I do a little happy dance every time we empty a container and put it to rest. White flour, please, I do not need you. Pasta, I loved you once before, but not now. Some ingredients just do not need to be replenished and those we celebrate empty containers!

Other foods have become staples. If we run out, I feel a bit antsy.

On the weekend, I inadvertently finished the last of our tamarind concentrate while making this salad. I also realized that we are awfully low on chickpea flour, due to Rob’s (healthy) weekend obsession with Besan Chilla. We also have no nondairy milk left.

These ingredients can be a challenge to find at reasonable prices, so I feel compelled to restock my pantry before we move. I know, terrible idea. We have hired movers, so it couldn’t be too bad, right? Actually, with my collection of beans and cookbooks, I am slightly worried that the 2 movers won’t be enough. Anyhow, before we move, I plan on fortifying our stocks. We will have tamarind and chickpea flour once again. ;)

Now about this salad: It is a light yet hearty Indian-spiced chickpea salad from 1000 Indian Recipes that I first spotted on Lisa’s blog. Her high praise for 1000 Indian Recipes was one reason I picked it up, despite my embargo on new cookbooks. Lisa described this as a great salad for those not used to fiery hot dishes, which sounded right up my alley. Here, the chickpeas are mixed with sweet and creamy mangoes, sweet and sour tamarind, and tart and sweet pomegranate arils doused in a savoury dressing with ginger, tamarind and chaat masala. Cilantro, used both cooked and fresh, adds a brightness to the dish.

It was refreshing to break free of my typical Indian curries and savour such a nicely balanced salad.

This is my submission to Deb for this week’s Souper Sundays, to this month’s Bookmarked Recipes, to this week’s Weekend Wellness and to Cookbooks Sundays.

Warm Chickpea Salad with Mango, Pomegranate and Chaat Masala
Adapted from 1000 Indian Recipes via Lisa

2 cups cooked chickpeas
1 cup mango, peeled and chopped (I used one large Ataulfo mango)
1 cup cucumber, diced
1/2 cup scallions, chopped, white parts and some of the green parts
1/2 cup cilantro, chopped, divided
2 teaspoons chaat masala (store-bought or homemade), divided
1 tablespoon oil
1 clove garlic, minced
1 tbsp fresh ginger, peeled and finely chopped
1 fresh green chilies, seeded and finely chopped
2 tablespoons ground coriander
1 tablespoon tamarind concentrate
dash of amchoor powder
1/4 cup water
1/2 cup pomegranate arils (half a large pomegranate)

1. Mix together the chickpeas, mango, cucumber, scallions, half of the cilantro and 1/2 tsp of the chaat masala.

2. In a large skillet over medium-high heat, heat the oil. Add the garlic, ginger, green chiles, stirring until golden, around 1 minute. Add the ground coriander, the remaining 1.5 tsp chaat masala, the remaining 1/4 cup cilantro and stir for about 30 seconds.

3. Add the chickpeas, water, tamarind and amchoor, and cook, stirring as necessary until the juices have partly evaporated, around 3-5 minutes. You don’t want to evaporate too much because this will become your dressing.

4. Remove the chickpea mixture from the heat and allow to cool slightly. Once cooled, gently toss with the mango mixture. Gently stir in half of the pomegranate arils. Sprinkle the remaining pomegranate seeds overtop. Serve at warm, room temperature or chilled.

Serves 4.

23 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. More Than Greens said, on April 25, 2012 at 6:23 AM

    I have recently dicovered a love for pomegrante arils so I am super-keen to make this recipe. It’s looks so fresh and delicious!

  2. Chris Stergalas said, on April 25, 2012 at 9:09 AM

    This looks so good… even if it is just 9am here :-)

  3. Cara said, on April 25, 2012 at 9:15 AM

    I really need to hit my Indian grocery store. This just sounds fantastic! But I’m surprised and impressed that you’re able to get fresh pomegranates this time of year. That might need to be substituted!

  4. sprint2thetable said, on April 25, 2012 at 10:54 AM

    My favorite part about moving is using up food… and then stocking the pantry in the new location. :)

    This dish looks perfect for me (though I may add some heat). I’m all about Indian food, and I LOVE the colors!

  5. Lisa said, on April 25, 2012 at 11:13 AM

    Glad you liked the recipe Janet. Regarding your comment on my post, I am wondering what you mean when you say there are instructions missing? I adapted the recipe and essentially made it my own.

  6. Dawn said, on April 25, 2012 at 12:07 PM

    I need to find that tamarind paste since the one I got came in a block. Good job cleaning out the pantry! I need to work on that.

  7. Lisa said, on April 25, 2012 at 12:51 PM

    Thanks Janet for pointing out my slight error when I wrote up the recipe. Gosh, I must have been having a senior moment :) I have corrected my post so that it makes more sense.

  8. Richa@HobbyandMore said, on April 25, 2012 at 2:02 PM

    are we on a mango and chaat masala roll! i can sprinkle chaat masala on any salad and munch on it:) one of those utterly addictive mixes! and dont even get me started on mangoes. i miss the 10 different varieties we would eat all summer back home!

    • janet @ the taste space said, on April 25, 2012 at 4:09 PM

      I hear there are like 125 different types of mangoes in India, alone. Craziness!!! I think we would be heaven if we had a mango tree in our backyard… I just don’t think I’d be able to live through the heat. ;)

  9. Genevieve said, on April 25, 2012 at 8:05 PM

    I love the sounds of this salad, and I also like that you could eat it warm or cold and I’m sure it would be good both ways. I brought some chat masala back with me from India….I like to use it in chickpea salads mixed with chutneys, or sprinkled on fruit salads. I also just bought some tamarind paste that I’ve been wanting to use, so this recipe is definitely on my list of things to make!

  10. Joanne said, on April 25, 2012 at 8:37 PM

    Pomegranate molasses and tamarind concentrate are two things that I get antsy about running low on because they’re not SUPER easy to find. And they are MAJORLY delicious. I am LOVING this salad! I’ve been meaning to pick up that cookbook…sigh. Another to add to the amazon wishlist.

  11. Susmitha - Veganosaurus said, on April 26, 2012 at 8:30 AM

    Such a delicious looking salad! The pomegranate adds such a beautiful splash of colour into the mix. :)

  12. Maggie Muggins said, on April 26, 2012 at 6:24 PM

    Chickpeas are an absolute must in my pantry, when I’m out it almost makes me want to shed a little tear.
    I love the flavor combinations of this salad, warm chickpea salad is a staple for me but I’ve never attempted an Indian inspired one. It looks incredibly delicious!

    • janet @ the taste space said, on April 26, 2012 at 7:18 PM

      I agree… some beans I just need to have a supply – chickpeas and red lentils are my definite favourites.

  13. Kahakai Kitchen said, on April 29, 2012 at 7:54 PM

    The pomegranate on top just makes the dish. It looks wonderful. Thanks for sharing it with Souper Sundays this week. ;-)

  14. [...] I had been working through my pantry prior to this move, I plan on eating through the remainder over the next year before our BIG move [...]

  15. [...] Warm Chickpea Salad with Mango, Pomegranate and Chaat Masala from The Taste Space.  I love anything with pomegranate, and this sounds like such a versatile salad–great for a side OR main dish! [...]

  16. [...] see, we needed to get more chickpea flour and tamarind. No better excuse to head out to Sunny’s one last time. I scope out my weekly meals based on [...]

  17. [...] used amchoor before in chaat masala used with Malai kofta and a warm chickpea and mango salad. It is made from dried green mangoes, conferring a sour tangy flavour, not unlike vinegar or lemon [...]

  18. […] recipes on Lisa’s blog. I haven’t made as many of her recipes other than a delicious Warm Chickpea Salad with Mango, Pomegranate and Chaat Masala. However, when I start bookmarking her recipes, I just cannot […]

  19. […] Warm Chickpea Salad with Mango, Pomegranate and Chaat Masala from The Taste Space.  I love anything with pomegranate, and this sounds like such a versatile salad–great for a side OR main dish! […]


What do you think?

