the taste space

Sushi Roll Edamame Collard Wrap with Green Onion-Miso Vinaigrette

Posted in Appetizers, Mains (Vegetarian) by janet @ the taste space on May 4, 2012

The point of making a sushi rice bowl salad is that it is easier than rolling numerous sushi rolls. I know, I’ve done it before.

So why would I bastardize a perfectly nice sushi salad by turning it into a wrap?

A collard wrap, of all things, instead of a sushi roll.

As you probably figured out, I like wraps, especially when wrapped with a green leaf like Swiss chard, kale, collard or even Romaine lettuce. Hearty greens don’t go soggy. My leaves are usually small enough for bite-size snacks, rolling up a few for tasty meal. While I also like salads, I preferred this as a wrap. With a wrap, you make sure every component of the salad hits your palate at the same time.

The idea of this wrap came from Appetite for Reduction, after Ashley posted her version. In my wrap, you get your zing from the green onions, the crunch from the carrots and cucumber, the salty earthiness from the shredded nori with a savoury note from sesame seeds all firmed up with a background from coarse bulgur and slippery edamame. The collard leaf keeps it all together. The green onion miso dressing is great within the wrap, and you can always add more if you use it as a dipping sauce. As a salad, the Asian ingredients seem a bit disjointed, but in the wrap, they work so well together.. because you can experience it all in every bite. :)

If you are tired of eating delicate leafy green-based salads, consider turning it into a green wrap. Where your greenery is just presented in a different form.

This is my submission to this week’s Weekend Herb Blogging, hosted by Rachel and to this week’s Weekend Wellness.

Sushi Roll Edamame Collard Wrap
Adapted from Appetite for Reduction

1 cup dry coarse bulgur, cooked and cooled
1 cup shelled frozen edamame, thawed
1 tbsp rice vinegar
1/4 tsp agave nectar
1 small cucumber, thinly sliced
1 medium size carrot, cut into matchsticks
1 cup thinly sliced green onion
4 tsp sesame seeds, toasted
2 sheets nori, chiffonaded
1 avocado, chopped, optional
8 large collard leaves
1 recipe Green Onion-Miso Vinaigrette (recipe below)

1. To cook the coarse bulgur, bring 2 cups salted water to a boil in a medium pot. Add bulgur, cover pot and let simmer for 20 minutes. Allow it to cool.

2. Mix together the edamame, rice vinegar, and agave.

3. To prepare a collard wrap, place cooked 2-3 tbsp bulgur in the middle, top with carrots, green onion, sesame seeds, nori, avocado and finally the cucumber. Drizzle with the dressing. Wrap roll. Use additional dressing as a dip.

Serves 4.

Green Onion-Miso Vinaigrette

1/4 cup red miso
1 cup roughly chopped green onions
3 tbsp rice vinegar
2 tsp minced ginger
1 clove garlic
2 tsp agave nectar
2 tsp toasted sesame oil
1/2 cup water

1. Put everything in a blender and blend until smooth. Chill until ready to use.

Makes 1 cup.

16 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. gena said, on May 4, 2012 at 7:10 AM

    YUM. I love this. And you just reminded me that I forgot to get collards this week: absurd oversight!

    The dressing in particular is calling my name. I can’t wait :)

  2. sprint2thetable said, on May 4, 2012 at 8:10 AM

    I have eaten a collard wrap every day for lunch this week. I think I’m addicted. I’ve been lathering mine in hummus, but I love the sound of this vinaigrette! Your wrap-job is much cleaner than mine… I need a lesson!

    • janet @ the taste space said, on May 4, 2012 at 8:27 AM

      Haha, yeah, I love the green wraps, too! They don’t travel too, too well when I have the small leaves, just a bit messy. Obivously the one for the photo gets the most love! :)

  3. crispycook said, on May 4, 2012 at 8:35 AM

    This looks great! So the collards aren’t too tough to bite into? I’ve only had cooked collards, so wondering about the texture of the raw leaves.

    Anyway, thanks for sending this over to Weekend Herb Blogging this week!

    • janet @ the taste space said, on May 4, 2012 at 8:36 AM

      I don’t find that that tough at all, actually. I generally use the smaller leaves which are a bit more tender, but otherwise I have never had a problem with raw collard wraps. You should try it out! :)

  4. Flavors of the Sun said, on May 4, 2012 at 8:52 AM

    I love green wraps, but have never tried collards before–now I feel inspired, if I can just find them!

  5. […] (recipe elsewhere) – Roasted Beet, Orange and Brown Rice Salad with an Orange Sesame Vinaigrette – Sushi Roll Edamame Collard Wrap with Green Onion-Miso Vinaigrette – Smoky Split Pea Soup (I preferred this soup) – Hottie Black Eyed Peas and Greens (recipe […]

  6. Joanne said, on May 4, 2012 at 9:23 PM

    I’ve tried making sushi before too…MAJOR pain. Not worth the time since I have a pretty good sushi joint across the street. I love the idea of these wraps though! This way I can have sushi every day at no added cost!

  7. Dawn said, on May 5, 2012 at 4:48 PM

    This looks amazing. Wraps and sushi are a perfect fusion!

  8. tinykitchenstories said, on May 6, 2012 at 6:38 PM

    I’ve nominated you for the Kreativ Blogger Award! Congrats, and thanks for the inspiration! http://tinykitchenstories.com/2012/05/06/big-kitchen-happiness/

  9. emmycooks said, on May 6, 2012 at 11:37 PM

    I am with you on the importance of arranging the perfect balance of flavors in every bite! These look like delicious bites. I have made chard rolls but never collard, thanks for the introduction!

  10. closetcooking said, on May 9, 2012 at 10:04 PM

    I am really liking the sound of this veggie sushi!

  11. […] the end, I made the sushi roll edamame collard wraps earlier in the week with the collard greens. By the end of the week, I wanted to try something […]

  12. […] I post a recipe for raw collard wraps, I invariably receive a comment from a perplexed reader wondering whether raw collard greens are […]

  13. […] added to the silkiness that was wonderful once we wrapped them up. I am definitely no stranger to wrapping up salads, having everything hit your palate at the same […]

  14. […] Sushi Roll Edamame Collard Wrap with Green Onion-Miso Vinaigrette […]


What do you think?

