the taste space

Oyster Mushroom and Black Bean Tacos with Sweet Mango Salsa

Posted in Favourites, Mains (Vegetarian) by Janet M on May 15, 2012

Let me get this off my chest: I really liked this meal.

It was quick, healthy and tasty.

The main component to the tacos is a seemingly simple black bean saute with oyster mushrooms and red pepper. I don’t know what it is, but the oyster mushrooms were fabulous here. They kept their shape, they had a sweet but subtle mushroom flavour but it complemented the red peppers and beans especially well. The Ancho chile-based chili powder made this spicy enough with great flavour.

Don’t stop there, just yet. Cut up a sweet mango, toss with some cilantro and red onion and you have a quick salsa that pairs so nicely. Since I used Alphonso mangoes, there was no need to add more sweetener, but adjust to your tastes and available fruits.

Now wrap it all up. With a nod to my raw tacos, I decided to serve this in a Swiss chard leaf. Pick your poison: leafy green, flour tortilla or hard taco shell.

With each bite, you will have sweet, spicy, and savoury. Juicy mushrooms and black beans. Simple sweet mango salsa – how could it not be good? Thankfully, it is easier to make then our New Best Salad Ever (aka Roasted Garlic Tofu Salad with Cilantro Rice, Black Beans and a Mango Salsa).  This was best eaten fresh, with the warmed beans and saucy mushrooms contrasting the cool salsa.

For some reason, I tend to gravitate to black beans when I cook Mexican. Probably because I really like black beans. I am working through my heirloom bean stash, though. However, my collection of beans are predominantly Southwestern or pinto bean hybrids (Rio Zape, Bolita, Anasazi, Rattlesnake, Appaloosa, etc). Not sure what to make with them. What are your favourite recipes for pinto beans?

This is my submission to this month’s Sweet Heat Challenge, featuring Mexican foods and to Ricki’s Weekend Wellness.

Oyster Mushroom and Black Bean Tacos with Sweet Mango Salsa
Adapted from Chef Chloe

1 tbsp coconut oil
1 onion, chopped
2 cups red bell pepper, chopped
5 ounces oyster mushrooms, trimmed and thinly sliced
3 garlic cloves, minced
2 tsp chili powder (OR 1.5 tsp ground Ancho chili powder + 1/4 tsp ground cumin + 1/4 tsp Mexican oregano + 1/8 tsp garlic powder)
1 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp dried Mexican oregano
2 cups cooked black beans, rinsed and drained (reserve a bit of the cooking liquid)
4 large Swiss chard leaves (or tortillas if that floats your boat)

1 cup mango, diced (I used 2 small Alphonso mangoes)
1/3 cup red onion, finely chopped and soaked in water for at least 10 minutes, then drained
1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro
juice from half a lime (1 tbsp)

1. In medium skillet over medium-high heat, heat oil. Once hot, sauté onions, bell peppers, and mushrooms until soft and lightly browned, around 5 minutes. Season with salt and pepper, then add garlic, chili powder, cumin, and oregano. Stir and cook 1-2 more minutes until fragrant. Deglaze the pan with a bit of reserved bean cooking liquid, if needed. Add black beans, stir and cook until heated through. Season with salt and pepper, and adjust to taste.

2. Meanwhile, combine the chopped mango, onion, cilantro and lime juice in a small bowl.

3. To assemble the tacos:  Destem the Swiss chard, fill with black bean mixture and top with a spoonful of the mango salsa. Wrap and roll, then eat!

These taste best fresh from the skillet, so try not to have many leftovers!

Serves 4.

17 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dawn said, on May 15, 2012 at 6:24 AM

    I say everything is better with mango salsa!

  2. vegansparkles said, on May 15, 2012 at 6:51 AM

    YUMMMMM!!!!! You do know that posting this when mangoes are out of season in most of Australia is just mean, right??? WANT!!! :-)

    • janet @ the taste space said, on May 15, 2012 at 7:05 AM

      I am super sorry!! Mangoes are all over the place here, but they come frm the US and Mexico.. and India… so definitelyl not local to Canada. :( Gosh, I wish I had a mango tree in my backyard. ;)

      The tacos are great, too, without the salsa…. definitely still give them a try!

  3. shuhan said, on May 15, 2012 at 7:46 AM

    I stay in the UK now, but back home in Singapore, my neighbour has a mango tree. It conveniently overlaps into my backyard too, so we get to steal (ok not really, we do tell her after that!) some ripe mangoes. They’re delicious! Sweet, juicy, and fragant. I think the mango salsa is the winner here, could have that with just about anything!

    • janet @ the taste space said, on May 15, 2012 at 8:07 AM

      Our new neighbours have an apple tree that we will be able to steal from as well…. although sadly, apples are not nearly as sinful as mangoes! So jealous! I have always wondered if I could live in a country that grows mangoes, because I fear it will be too hot for me. I’d love to visit India during mango season, but that is the hottest time of the year. :(

  4. sprint2thetable said, on May 15, 2012 at 7:50 AM

    You know I love collard tacos… apparently I need to branch out to other greens. An mushrooms! Such a great way to add a “meaty” component to green tacos.

  5. Joanne said, on May 15, 2012 at 8:08 PM

    I’m actually eating tacos with black beans and a mango (strawberry) salsa right now!! Great minds!!

  6. genahamshaw said, on May 15, 2012 at 8:55 PM

    These look stellar. Pinning.

  7. Richa@HobbyandMore said, on May 15, 2012 at 11:13 PM

    love that mango salsa.. and i love black beans in my mexican dishes too! your meals are always so amazing:)

  8. [...] As I said, I have a few pinto beans in my stash, so I was tickled pink when Fearnley-Whittingstall’s Pinto Bean Chili was my Random Recipe this month. I didn’t have many cookbooks to randomly pick at the beginning of the month due to the move, but since I already had River Cottage Veg Every Day! out, I picked that as my book. As it is a library book, I didn’t want it to be lost in the shuffle of the move! Once I selected a cookbook, the task was to cook the first or last recipe. I zoomed to the front of the cookbook. The first 2 recipes were not vegan (Aubergine Parmigiana, Chachouka), but the third recipe, and the first vegan one, was this Pinto Bean Chili. Once I finally made it to the grocery store, I was all set to try my heirloom pinto beans. [...]

  9. tinykitchenstories said, on May 20, 2012 at 8:06 PM

    Okay, we’re practically taco addicts in our house, and I will be adding this to the list!

  10. Flavors of the Sun said, on May 20, 2012 at 8:27 PM

    These look particularly enticing–and so healthy. Thanks for sharing.

  11. vanillacloudsandlemondrops said, on May 21, 2012 at 11:40 AM

    These look so good and I love how super healthy they are as well! Great job!

    Thanks for taking part in this months Sweet Heat Challenge : )

  12. [...] Another mango offering came from Janet of ‘The Taste Space‘, this time as an accompaniment to a healthy twist on a Mexican favourite – Oyster Mushroom and Black Bean Tacos [...]

  13. [...] Oyster Mushroom and Black Bean Tacos with Sweet Mango Salsa [...]

  14. […] lots of citrus juice (lime!). And well, beans, oh yes. I have used black beans in many Mexican dishes, but I was intrigued by Bittman’s suggestion to mash them, spice them (lots of garlic!), and […]


What do you think?

