the taste space

Blueberry Vanilla Chia Seed Jam

Posted in Breakfasts, Desserts by janet @ the taste space on July 6, 2012

I planned for a stress-free brunch by making nearly everything in advance. I kind of ending up pulling out some of our normal breakfast foods (granola, yogurt, etc) along with the special crepes and pancakes. I had pimped my kale salad as the best kale salad ever, so I had that as a savoury option, too.

On the menu:

Almost Raw Chocolate Banana Crepes

Raw Maca Banana Pancakes

Almond-Coconut Cream

Avocado Mint Cream

Yogurt, for those wanting something more traditional

Millet Granola

Raw Kale and Beet Salad with Raisins and Almonds

Rob’s Omelettes with Spinach and Mushrooms (which no one wanted with all the other food!)

Raw Strawberry Tart, as the birthday “cake”

Strawberry Smoothies (a surprise from one of my friends who came bearing a ton of frozen strawberries!)

and this Blueberry Vanilla Chia Jam.

With all the different filling options, it was a brunch extraveganza. Just look at Rob’s plate, complete with his new Android jelly bean toy (no jelly beans were in the crepes!):

Earlier that week, I made Angela‘s Blueberry Chia Jam, so I pulled it out as another option as an afterthought. Everyone enjoyed their mixed-and-matched creations, and agreed that the jam was awesome. Pure blueberry bliss. Without all the typical over-sugared pectin-laden jam, this spread is simply fresh blueberries reduced with a touch of maple syrup and vanilla, thickened with chia seeds. I was worried the chia seeds might be too slimy or crunchy, but it was neither. They blended in so well and helped make this a thicker spread. Such a simple recipe, but it highlights how fresh produce can be augmented in creative ways.

This is being submitted to this week’s Weekend Herb Blogging, hosted by Cinzia, to this week’s Ingredient Challenge Monday for blueberries and to this week’s Wellness Weekend.

Blueberry Vanilla Chia Seed Jam
Adapted from Oh She Glows

2 cups blueberries (1 pint)
1 tbsp maple syrup, or to taste
1.5 tbsp chia seeds
1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1. In a small saucepan over medium heat, place the blueberries and maple syrup. Bring to a boil and reduce heat to a simmer. Simmer for around 5 minutes, then lightly mash the blueberries with a fork, maintaining some texture.

2. Stir in the chia seeds and continue to simmer the mixture until it thickens to your desired consistency – around 15-20 minutes. Continue to stir so that nothing burns.

3. Once it reaches your desired consistency, remove from heat and add vanilla. Taste and add more sweetener if desired. Refrigerated, this jam should last around a week in an air-tight container.

Makes 1 cup.

16 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Gabby @ the veggie nook said, on July 6, 2012 at 6:38 AM

    What a great brunch menu! I hope you are planning to post some of the recipes that don’t have links just yet ;)

    Can I come over for brunch one day? lol

    Have a great weekend!

    • janet @ the taste space said, on July 6, 2012 at 7:38 AM

      Gabby, when you move to Toronto, we are totally on for a cooking date. :) I will try my best to get up the rest of the recipes, I just know it will be on my back burner because work is super busy lately!

  2. rszumlak said, on July 6, 2012 at 9:18 AM

    Android Jelly Bean Jar courtesy of the Google IO Conference in San Francisco the week before :)

  3. Tasha said, on July 6, 2012 at 10:21 AM

    I just made this jam yesterday! So easy, so delicious. Plus I’ve never seen my children scarf down breakfast so quickly and then ask for seconds! I’m already thinking of which berry variation I want to try next.

    • janet @ the taste space said, on July 6, 2012 at 10:26 AM

      Yeah, I am thinking strawberry-balsamic sounds like the next version I will try… I just wish it lasted longer like “real jam” but the lack of sugar and pectin is what makes this so awesome. Just concentrated fruit goodness. :)

  4. Joanne said, on July 8, 2012 at 9:16 PM

    I once had to throw a brunch for lots of MD/PhD students and I did a create-your-own waffle bar. I’m totally doing a make-your-own crepe bar next time! Love that jam. I bookmarked it when Angela made it…thanks for the reminder!

  5. [...] making the Blueberry Vanilla Chia Jam, I was plotting to make a version with balsamic-roasted strawberries. While I gobbled down the [...]

  6. Cara said, on July 9, 2012 at 1:04 PM

    Um, yeah, I want to come to brunch at your place! I looove me some chia jam – it makes a great cupcake filling too!

    • janet @ the taste space said, on July 9, 2012 at 8:12 PM

      I used to shun recipes that called for a jam-like filling but not now! I agree, I think this could go so well for desserts. I would also love to be at one of your barbecues – everything always looks so tasty! :)

  7. Simona said, on July 12, 2012 at 12:33 AM

    I will certainly make this. I have never used chia seeds and this seems like the perfect recipe to try. I wonder how it would fare in the freezer.

    • janet @ the taste space said, on July 12, 2012 at 6:18 AM

      Oooh, not sure how it would work in the freezer… but since it is cooked, that may be a way to try to extend its shelf life. I will have to experiment. :)

  8. [...] however, was my birthday cake from my brunch. I was inspired by Lisa’s raw strawberry tart, not only because it was topped by loads of [...]

  9. cinzia said, on July 12, 2012 at 7:08 PM

    Thank you so much for this “Extravagant” recipe, as I never heard about chia seeds before, but I am learning a lot searching new information.
    Recap is finally up, sorry for this long delay but had big troubles with internet :-(

    http://cindystarblog.blogspot.it/2012/07/whb-341-round-up-la-raccolta.html

  10. Brittany said, on July 13, 2012 at 9:19 PM

    I can’t wait to try the chia jam recipe. What a great gift idea!

  11. […] and Vegetable Skillet with a Lemon-Tahini Sauce, Garlic-Roasted Chickpeas in a Lemon-Dill Dressing, Blueberry Vanilla Chia Jam, and Peanut Butter Mousse with a Chocolate Magic […]

  12. […] crackers, I kept the flavours neutral. This way, they can equally be paired with homemade nutella, vanilla blueberry chia jam, vegan smoked salmon, rosemary cashew cheese, or a nacho cheese sauce. Or go even more travel […]


What do you think?

