the taste space

Salad in a Jar (and Topaz Dragon Lemon Ginger Dressing)

Posted in Favourites, Mains (Vegetarian), Salads by janet @ the taste space on August 16, 2012

It might not seem like it, but sometimes I can be lazy.

In the morning, while rushing out to the gym, I might have 30-45 minutes where I munch on some fruit, drink some tea (if I am lucky) and gather my breakfast and lunch (and sometimes my dinner, too) for the road.

I have all the right intentions for eating salads, but come a rushed morning, the last thing I want to do is rinse and spin my greens and chop some veggies.

I now have the ultimate solution: pre-chopped salads ready to go in a Mason jar!

Join me today at And Love It, Too! where I share my newest favourite way to tote a salad to work and a fabulous lemon-ginger salad dressing!

This is my submission to Deb for this week’s Souper Sundays.

Salad in a Jar (with a Topaz Dragon Ginger Dressing)
Adapted from Healthy Happy Life

1.5 tbsp Topaz Dragon Ginger Dressing (see below)
1/2 cup chopped cucumber
1/2 cup cherry tomatoes, halved
1/2 head red lettuce, torn into bite-size pieces
1/2 cup cooked adzuki beans

1. Layer your salad with the dressing on the bottom, then the cucumber, tomatoes, beans, lettuce and finally other delicate ingredients.

2. Store in the refrigerator until ready to eat. Then shake well, mix it up and eat with a long fork!

Serves 1.

Topaz Dragon Lemon Ginger Dressing
Adapted from Rawesomely Vegan!

2 tbsp water
2 tsp agave, or your choice of sweetener
1 tsp lemon zest (I used 1 lemon)
1 tsp minced ginger
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp onion granules
1/4 tsp ground ginger
1/4 tsp ground black pepper, to to taste (I used less)
1/4 tsp sweet Hungarian paprika
1/4 cup fresh lemon juice
1-2 tbsp flax oil (or oil of choice)

1. Add all ingredients together and mix well. Store in an air-tight container in the fridge and mix well prior to serving.

Makes 1/2 cup.

26 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. sprint2thetable said, on August 16, 2012 at 12:37 PM

    Great minds – I made a jar salad for lunch yesterday and posted it on Instagram. :)

    For my protein I had some re-hydrated TVP mixed with lime, cumin, and paprika and my “dressing” was salsa. I realized I need to invest in bigger jars though.

    • janet @ the taste space said, on August 16, 2012 at 1:46 PM

      That sounds lovely! I have TVP just sitting in my pantry with no potential plans… Is it recipe worthy? WIll you be sharing it on your blog?

      • sprint2thetable said, on August 16, 2012 at 3:25 PM

        It was so simple I’m embarrassed to post it. I literally just re-hydrated a serving and tossing it in those 3 things.

      • janet @ the taste space said, on August 16, 2012 at 4:13 PM

        It sounds delicious, regardless. :)

  2. Brocka said, on August 16, 2012 at 12:47 PM

    This concept was invented by Julia Mestas a few years ago. fatgirltrappedinaskinnybody.com

    • janet @ the taste space said, on August 16, 2012 at 1:45 PM

      Thanks for the info… I am sure it isn’t novel, but it is great to share an inviting way to eat more salads. :)

  3. Gabby @ the veggie nook said, on August 16, 2012 at 2:29 PM

    I love salad in a jar! I usually make them when I’m going to visit family and need to pack a few meals ahead of time. I must admit though, I have never used a dressing quite as unique and flavourful as yours ;)

    • janet @ the taste space said, on August 16, 2012 at 4:15 PM

      I bring them to work, but packing for for the road sounds like a great idea, too. I eat them with a fork in the jar at work, but emptying it out in a bowl would probably be easier… I know it seems so simple but I love it! :)

  4. Dawn said, on August 16, 2012 at 3:13 PM

    Beat me to it! I had salad in a jar on my list but of course yours looks right up my alley. Did you make an extra one for me? :)

  5. Karen Faivre said, on August 16, 2012 at 4:28 PM

    The mason jars are bloody brilliant! I’m going to try it out tonight.

  6. Joanne said, on August 18, 2012 at 3:01 PM

    I never feel like putting salads together in the morning so I love this grab-and-go method!

  7. Kahakai Kitchen said, on August 19, 2012 at 8:03 PM

    So cute in the jars and that dressing sounds wonderful too. Thanks for sharing with Souper Sundays. ;-)

  8. SunnyB @ andloveittoo said, on August 21, 2012 at 11:23 PM

    This salad is so lovely and the salad dressing is to.die.for! Thank you for joining the Healthy Lunchbox series! xoxo

  9. […] granola from the yogurt but it does become a bit messy. It doesn’t travel as nicely as the Salad in a Jar, unfortunately. Oh well, make it fresh and then savour it on a relaxing […]

  10. […] have enough dressing with only the juice from 2 non-juicy limes, after I placed everything in jars for the week, the tomatoes macerated, adding tomato juicy goodness to the dressing, too. Now it was […]

  11. […] If you are making a salad in a jar, I found the beets absorbed most of the dressing, so I recommend layering the green beans first, […]

  12. […] greens. With them individually separated in the box, it was hard to mix them up. At least with my Salad in a Jar, I mix it up before I eat it. I may need to look into a layered version of this, […]

  13. hannah said, on October 10, 2012 at 8:35 PM

    wow this looks gorgeous – saw the link here from choosingraw. But what on earth are onion granules? Thanks,

    • janet @ the taste space said, on October 10, 2012 at 9:20 PM

      Welcome, Hannah! Onion granules are the same as granulated onion. Dried onion or onion powder could be substituted, but I find the granules have a deeper flavor.

  14. Stephanie (@RunsOnSun) said, on October 21, 2012 at 12:29 PM

    I just found your blog and I’m honestly obsessed.
    I’m a brand new vegetarian dabbling with veganism and best part, I live in Toronto too!!!
    Come visit me at snackingonsunshine.com, or maybe we could grab an almond milk latte in kensington!
    x

  15. […] week, I try to make a new dressing to add to whatever wandering salad I may concoct for lunch. Toss it with whatever random veggies I have in the fridge or plucked from […]

  16. […] 3. Salad in a Jar (and Topaz Dragon Lemon Ginger Dressing) […]

  17. […] with a focus on sauces and dressings with fresh vegetables supported by beans and whole grains. My salad jar revolutionized my lunch […]

  18. Catherine said, on January 21, 2013 at 2:14 AM

    What a wonderful idea! I’ll have to try this.


What do you think?

