the taste space

Zucchini Spaghetti with Chickpeas and a Roasted Tomato-Peach Sauce

Posted in Favourites, Mains (Vegetarian) by Janet M on August 31, 2012

There should be some limits.

I shouldn’t be able to buy anything I can’t lift at the grocery store.

Technically, I could lift the crate of tomatoes. Into the shopping cart, into the car, and into the house. And then onto the scale to see how many tomatoes I got for $10!

53 lbs of tomato goodness

It is a lot more tomatoes than you think

For this recipe, I used 5 cups of tomatoes. That seems like a lot on any normal day in my kitchen. It didn’t even make a dent.

I ended up roasting, dehydrating and cooking up half of the tomatoes last weekend. Round two starts tomorrow!  Please share with me your favourite recipes. Bonus for any water-cannable recipes…. my freezer is becoming uber full.

Back to this recipe at hand, which combines seemingly polarized end of summer produce: tomatoes and peaches. Both become sweet through roasting in the oven, which is augmented with Ancho chili powder, and then tamed by balsamic vinegar. Fresh tarragon and cinnamon confer a lovely, unexpected depth to the sauce. Hot, sweet, sour… we’ve got you covered. Chickpeas are added for protein and this was delicious served overtop zucchini spaghetti.

This is my submission to this week’s Presto Pasta Nights, hosted by Simona, to this month’s Herbs on Saturdays, to this month’s Bookmarked Recipes.

Zucchini Spaghetti with Chickpeas and a Roasted Tomato-Peach Sauce
Adapted from Joanne Eats Well With Others

5 cups coarsely chopped tomatoes
2 large peaches, chopped (2.5 cups)
1 onion, chopped
1 tbsp olive oil
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp cinnamon
freshly ground black pepper, to taste
1/2 tsp Ancho chili powder (or more to taste)
2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
2 cups cooked chickpeas
2 tbsp chopped fresh tarragon
4 small zucchini, spiralized (or your favourite cooked pasta)

1. Preheat oven to 450F.

2. In 1-2 9×13 inch baking dishes, stirtogether the tomatoes, peaches and onions. In a small glass, combine the olive oil, salt, cinnamon, Ancho chili powder and toss with vegetables.

3. Roast vegetables, uncovered, for 40 minutes or until the vegetables are soft, stirring once. Remove from oven and let cool.

4. Place roasted vegetables to a blender. Add tarragon and balsamic vinegar and blend to desired consistency. Fold in cooked chickpeas.

5. Cook your noodles or spiralize your zucchini. Place sauce overtop and eat.

Serves 4.

15 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Gabby @ the veggie nook said, on August 31, 2012 at 7:12 AM

    Holy crap that’s a lot of tomatoes! You lucky girl though!

    This sounds fantastic, I love the idea of the peaches in that sauce. This is totally being “pinned” :)

  2. Laura @ Sprint 2 the Table said, on August 31, 2012 at 9:20 AM

    Not buying what you can’t lift is a great rule. Sometimes I don’t get a cart to ensure I don’t over buy. That works until you shatter a jar on the store floor because your hands are too full. Lol!

    Once again, a brilliant flavor combo. I’ve done peaches and tomatoes before in a salad or salsa but never crossed my kind to do sauces!!

  3. Dawn said, on August 31, 2012 at 11:17 AM

    What!?!?! 53 POUNDS of tomatoes! That is awesome!!!!! Ok so make tons of tomato sauce and I’ll be over for dinner tonight. :)

  4. tinykitchenstories said, on August 31, 2012 at 12:09 PM

    Loving zucchini “pasta” at the moment. Love the idea of peaches in with the tomato sauce. Besides making sofrito (which I’m sure could be canned), I don’t have any suggestions for your bounty of tomatoes. Good luck! :)

  5. Eileen said, on August 31, 2012 at 2:39 PM

    53 pounds of tomatoes! Hooray! I usually just preserve a bunch of standard tomato sauce in my water-bath canner. It’s easy enough, and you get all kinds of sauce stored up for the winter!

  6. Ella @ Lifeologia said, on August 31, 2012 at 5:33 PM

    I have been craving a raw zucchini pasta for the last few months.
    I think it’s time to make them ;) xo
    Thanks for this – I’ll take it as a sign ;)
    I just need that spiralizer ;(
    xo

  7. Maria @ Little Miss Cornucopia said, on August 31, 2012 at 5:42 PM

    Hmm..tomatoes and peaches?! Never would’ve thought! You’ve just been pinned btw :) lol

  8. Joanne said, on September 2, 2012 at 5:16 PM

    I am SO jealous of your pounds and pounds of tomatoes!! That is awesome. I can’t wait to hear about what you make with all of them. I am SO glad you liked this sauce! It’s one of my favorite recipes from last year and I really need to make it again this summer before everything is out of season!

    • janet @ the taste space said, on September 3, 2012 at 12:08 AM

      Does it make you miss your CSA? ;) At least I pondered it for a week and then pounced. It was a self-chosen burden! :)

  9. Steff said, on September 4, 2012 at 11:17 AM

    This was excellent. I had a bunch of peaches in the fridge that wouldn’t get eaten in time, so the recipe came at just the right time. I’m going to try it on rice with some naan next round, as it has an Indian feel to it, as if someone had accidentally dumped some peach chutney into the sauce. Yum! FYI, a hand blender does a fantastic job if you don’t have a real blender and don’t want to dirty more than one dish.

  10. [...] had ho-humed over buying San Marzano tomatoes for $19/big crate but when the Romas came on sale for $10/bushel (53 lbs), I decided I had nothing to [...]

  11. Simona said, on September 7, 2012 at 11:42 AM

    What a bargain! I hope you finished the big job. I do small batches of roasted tomatoes and strain them so they are ready to go when I need them. Thanks for your contribution to Presto Pasta Nights.

  12. lawstudentcook said, on September 8, 2012 at 12:56 PM

    I would never have thought to put peaches in a pasta sauce, but the idea seems genius!

  13. laceythevegan said, on September 15, 2012 at 9:32 PM

    Salsa time.

  14. […] Whipped Avocado Sauce,  Lentil Mango Picadillo, Chickpeas Romesco, Brazilian Black Bean Soup, Spaghetti with Roasted Peach-Tomato Sauce, and Greek Baked […]


What do you think?

