the taste space

How to Can Pureed Tomatoes

Posted in Sides by janet @ the taste space on September 5, 2012

First of all, thank you for all the warm fuzzies regarding my grandfather passing away. Never a fun affair, but he lived his 92 years really well. Once I came back I knew I had to tackle my half crate of tomatoes. They don’t wait for you. Even if you had a funeral to attend.

Once you buy a crate of tomatoes, you are committed.

I didn’t think 50 lbs of tomatoes was that much. I mean, the guy next to me bought 2 crates. I had ho-humed over buying San Marzano tomatoes for $19/big crate but when the Romas came on sale for $10/bushel (53 lbs), I decided I had nothing to lose.

Two weekends ago, I made a bunch of tomato-based dishes. I also slow-roasted them (cored, halved, 250F for an hour or so, drizzled with a touch of olive oil, salt and pepper, then froze them), dehydrated them (cored, halved, dehydrated at 135F for 24 hours, then stored them at room temperature) and may turn some of them into powder, too. My fridge and freezer are becoming quite full so I turned to canning last weekend.

First of all, this may be a do as I say, not as I did kind of recipe. I consulted with two expert tomato canners: my mother and grandmother. Both assured me that canning tomatoes was simple. No need to fuss with a water bath. Just blend tomatoes, simmer, place the hot tomatoes into a hot jar and screw on a hot lid. So that’s what I did. And it was easy, just time consuming due to the sheer amount of tomatoes.

There are countless ways to can tomatoes. This is an ancient art. But, not a time to experiment. People have died from improper canning. Botulism is real.

I originally wanted to make a bunch of tomato-based mother curry sauces (bring on the fabulous Balti sauce!) but my Mom was adamant not to can anything with oil or garlic. If I did, I had to follow a tried-and-true recipe. Low-acid foods require pressure canning. Science is at play. Safety is paramount.

So I kept things super simple.

I didn’t peel my tomatoes. I pureed them in my blender.

I didn’t strain any seeds or skins. I used my Vitamix.

I didn’t add anything to the tomatoes. Although, I should have added lemon juice to decrease the pH, based on the revamped safety recommendations (revamped as in 1988).

I also didn’t water bath my tomatoes. I should have and will do it next time. Even if it would make this so much more messy and time consuming. My “old world” method is super easy but not considered safe. However, I will use these canned tomatoes since we haven’t encountered a problem yet.

Now for a bit of a breather before I look out for fun cooked tomatoes recipes.

Here are multiple ways to can tomatoes. And I think I have finally found my no-sugar pickled beet recipe!

This is being submitted to this week’s Weekend Herb Blogging, hosted by Elena.

How to Can Pureed Tomatoes

Tomatoes, preferably Roma or even better San Marzano
Glass jars – I used pint-sized Mason jars
New lids
Rings
Lemon juice (1 tbsp/pint)
Salt is optional

Note: If you are new to canning, read this first.

1. Preferably, when you buy your crate of tomatoes, go through each one to make sure there are none that are going moldy. If possible, lay them out to ripen for a week, but keep your eye on them.

2. Prepare your equipment. Wash your glass bottles and then sterilize them by placing them in a 250F oven. Feel free to slow-roast some tomatoes at the same time. :)

3. In a small saucepan, place new lids inside rings and cover with water. Bring to a boil once you have your first batch of tomatoes simmering.

4. Wash your tomatoes. Core your tomatoes. If using a Vitamix, halve the tomatoes so you don’t need to use the damper. If you are fancy, you can blanch and peel your tomatoes. I would not have the patience to do that for 20 lbs of tomatoes.

5. Place tomatoes in high-speed blender and blend until smooth. Add to large pot and bring to a boil. I kept adding tomatoes until I had around 16 cups simmering. Boil for at least 5-10 minutes.

6. When ready to place in jars, remove hot jars from the oven and place on a cookie sheet, or something to catch anything that spills. Add lemon juice (1 tbsp per pint) and salt (if desired) to the jar.

7. Carefully add the tomatoes to each jar, leaving around 1/2-inch head room (just below where the rings sit). A wide-mouth funnel really helps!. Using a clean cloth, wipe the top of each jar. Remove lid and ring from the boiling water, shake to remove excess water and tighten onto each jar. Allow jars to cool. You will know everything worked when you hear the lids pop and you cannot push down the lid. For a safer method, boil your sealed cans for at least 35 minutes and then let cool.

8. Now repeat ad nauseum. I found I could work with 5 pint containers at a time.

This year, roughly 25 lbs of Roma tomatoes made 18 pints.

Tagged with: , , ,

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. sprint2thetable said, on September 5, 2012 at 6:54 AM

    I was wondering if this was coming… that is a LOT of tomatoes. You’re going to have some great sauces this winter!

  2. Gabby @ the veggie nook said, on September 5, 2012 at 7:46 AM

    Wow you must have quite the massive food storage space- I don’t know where I would put all those tomatoes! Awesome that you got all this done though- will make cooking a snap this winter!

  3. Efrem Oshinsky (@EfremOshinsky) said, on September 5, 2012 at 12:09 PM

    This is a fine way to preserve stuff if you’re going to put it in the fridge, but for actual preserving, PLEASE be careful and follow an actual recipe. The idea of people following the directions in this post without consulting a real canning guide scares the crap out of me.

    There are all kinds of books you can find that have actual measurements and times — a good start is the Complete Book to Home Preserving, published by Ball. Another is Canning for a New Generation. They both have lots of important information, e.g. that you should NOT heat your lids in full-on boiling water (it weakens the glue). Or that canning by necessity requires the use of a boiling water “processing” bath (either the old-school lobster pot method or the newer, faster way with a pressure cooker). Without that step, you’re not actually preserving anything, you’re just putting it into warm jars — and giving bacteria a lovely nursery while you’re at it.

    Dying from a paralyzed lung is not a pleasant way to go!

    • janet @ the taste space said, on September 5, 2012 at 4:08 PM

      Thanks Efrem. I had no idea that boiling the lids is actually a bad idea. I will definitely look into those resources- thanks for the tip!

  4. Eileen said, on September 5, 2012 at 2:32 PM

    Oh, canning tomato sauce. This has been my main canning endeavor this season, since I know we’ll definitely eat all the tomato sauce I make! I haven’t gotten any entire flats, though, so I haven’t been subsumed in processing fifty pounds of tomatoes at once. Oh man! That sounds like so much work! But you know the results are worth it. :)

    • janet @ the taste space said, on September 5, 2012 at 4:09 PM

      Yeah, if there is one thing I know I will eat through – it is canned tomatoes. I use them is so many recipes. :)

  5. Joanne said, on September 6, 2012 at 6:31 AM

    This is why canning makes me nervous…all of the variables and what ifs!! I am still so impressed that you got through all the tomatoes!!

  6. elena said, on September 10, 2012 at 1:45 PM

    The roud up is online, thank you!!!

  7. [...] paste 1/4 cup lentil cooking liquid or vegetable broth 3 large tomatoes, diced (we used 1 quart homemade pureed tomatoes) 1/2 teaspoon sea salt or to [...]

  8. [...] paprika 2 tsp garam masala 1 tsp salt 2 tbsp tomato paste 1/2 cup packed cilantro leaves 2 cups homemade pureed tomatoes 1 tbsp cashew butter 1 cup dry red lentils, rinsed 1/2 bunch spinach, trimmed and coarsely chopped [...]

  9. [...] oil 1 small onion, diced 2 cloves garlic, minced 1 cup red bell pepper, diced 1.5 cups TVP 3 cups crushed tomatoes (0r a 28-oz can) 1/4 cup tomato paste 2 tsp Worcestershire sauce (make sure it is vegan) 1/2 tsp [...]

  10. [...] 1 large onion, diced 2 cloves garlic, minced 1/2 tsp Aleppo chile flakes 1 tsp minced ginger 2 cups homemade pureed tomatoes (or 15 oz can crushed or diced tomatoes) 1 head cauliflower, cut into small florets (we used half [...]


What do you think?

