the taste space

Chickpea and Tofu Tahini Scramble Salad

Posted in Mains (Vegetarian), Salads by janet @ the taste space on September 9, 2012

This is a quick post to remind anyone in the GTA that this weekend is the Vegetarian Food Festival, the largest vegetarian food festival in the world.

I went yesterday and had a blast. There were some awesome speakers and cooking demos. I enjoyed seeing Lisa and Nicole discuss tips for how to eat for cheap while still keeping health in the forefront. They shared delicious samples (and recipes) for a chocolate chip brownie bar with avocado frosting, an herbed tahini dip and homemade nut butter and almond milk. It was also great to see Isa Chandra Moskowitz who demo’ed her Beet Burgers and Carrot Bisque. Sadly, I wasn’t able to make it to Terry Hope Romero’s demo of her olive-flecked seitan gyros with a tzatziki cucumber dill sauce which I think is from her upcoming cookbook, Vegan Eats World.

I also had fun checking out over 100 vendors of vegetarian and vegan food, treats, equipment, books, and clothes. There were many vendors that I had never seen before so I enjoyed being able to sample their foods to see what I liked. A shout-out to Manitoba Harvest who had samples of hemp hearts and their protein powders (they had coupons for my favourite Hemp Pro 70, too!), samples and great deals on Camino Chocolate Bars, and the absolute best (hands-on) non-dairy milks by The Bridge.  It seemed like a bit of a teaser since they don’t have a storefront yet (coming soon, she told me), but all their drinks were silky, smooth and sweet despite no sugar additives (not even stevia and the like). The varieties I tried include included milk from kamut, quinoa, farro/spelt, oats, and rice + hazelnuts. They reminded me of the fabulous brown basmati rice milk Rob and I bought at Eataly. Totally in a league of their own in the realm of non-dairy milks (price-wise, too, I am sure). Definitely don’t pass up the chance to try them. The raw salads dressings from RawFoodz were also very nice. I also picked up a wallet from Matt & Nat and some Hurraw lip balms from Nice Shoes.

To celebrate all things vegan, I am sharing a non-traditional yet homely rendition of a classic vegan dish: tofu scramble. This one uses both chickpeas and crumbled tofu as its base and is coated in a delicious lemony-hummus-tahini sauce. Pan-roasted tomatoes add a nice burst of sweetness and I tossed this all over fresh baby spinach. I have also made this with the spinach wilted into the dish, which was also lovely.

So what are you waiting for? Head down to Harbourfront for the vegetarian festival and if you can’t make it, celebrate at home with your own vegan creations.

This is my submission to Deb for this week’s Souper Sundays, to this week’s Healthy Vegan Fridays, and to this month’s No Croutons Required featuring vegan soups and salads.

Chickpea and Tofu Tahini Scramble Salad
Adapted from Choosing Raw

1 tsp coconut oil
350g soft tofu, crumbled
2 tbsp tahini
1/4 cup hummus (I used my favourite recipe)
1 tbsp low-sodium tamari
2 tbsp lemon juice (half a lemon)
2 cups cooked chickpeas , rinsed and drained
1 cup cherry tomatoes
6 cups baby spinach

1. In a medium non-stick frypan over medium-high heat, heat the coconut oil and tofu. Allow to brown.

2. In a small cup, combine the tahini, hummus, tamari and lemon juice.

3. Once the tofu is browned, stir in the chickpeas, cherry tomatoes and drizzle with the sauce. Saute until the mixture is warmed through. Add the spinach to the skillet if you want it wilted, or place the warmed scramble onto raw spinach for a salad.

Serves 4.

18 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Gabby @ the veggie nook said, on September 9, 2012 at 10:26 AM

    Loved this little review of the Veg Fest! I’m hoping to get down there for a little while after work today. Those milks sounds amazing!

    Also, this looks fantastic! I would love to have this for breakfast!

  2. Kammie said, on September 9, 2012 at 11:05 AM

    Looks so awesome! I have yet to try tahini.

  3. Joanne said, on September 9, 2012 at 9:30 PM

    The vegetarian food festival sounds awesome! I’ve never seen a vegan scramble made with both tofu and chickpeas before…but the more proteins the merrier!

  4. VeganLisa said, on September 10, 2012 at 10:34 AM

    Janet – thanks so much for coming to our demo. It so nice to have smiles of support in the audience. Your recipe sounds amazing to me this morning – after a busy week the comfort of a tofu scramble with hummus is quite enticing.

  5. Genevieve said, on September 12, 2012 at 6:50 PM

    We could have passed each other at the veg fest on Saturday without me realizing! I wish I had have gone to see some of the speakers, but we were a bit short on time.
    Love the idea of using hummus and chickpeas in this scramble – this would make a great lunch!

  6. Lisa said, on September 13, 2012 at 3:24 PM

    Thanks Janet for your submission. I am really getting hungry looking at that plate!

  7. Kahakai Kitchen said, on September 16, 2012 at 9:43 PM

    So fun that you have such a big festival so close by. ;-) This salad looks very satisfying! Thanks for sharing it at Souper Sundays this week.

  8. gena said, on September 22, 2012 at 8:21 AM

    I love when blogging friends remind us to make our own recipes. I love that scramble, and will have to make some soon! Thanks for inspiring me :)

  9. […] and vegan lip balms. I picked up my first Hurraw balm at the Veg Fest after a stranger whispered they were the best balms ever. I agree, I love these. Luscious […]

  10. […] used soft tofu in a scramble before and now I prefer it to the extra-firm. Who wants a dry scramble? Who wants to wait for their […]

  11. […] blog Choosing Raw, where she shares gorgeous food that is still down-to-earth, delicious and easy. I have made many of her recipes (there are too many to count, ok plus these, too), and I have […]

  12. […] and garlic, along with tomatoes and spinach as familiar breakfast omelette toppings. Similar to my chickpea and tofu-tahini scramble, but lighter and more cheezy from the nutritional yeast. Black salt added the eggy […]

  13. […] to date. Hummus-style with additional lemon juice, tamari and tahini. I originally used it in my Chickpea and Tofu Tahini Scramble but found the flavours mellowed after cooking on the stovetop. However, I stuck my finger in first […]


What do you think?

