the taste space

Pumpkin Masala Chai (Indian-Spiced Pumpkin Tea)

Posted in Drinks, Favourites by janet @ the taste space on September 23, 2012

I resisted.

I know it is fall.

I unearthed my long pants to cycle to work last week. I now don full-fingered gloves as well as my cycling hat.

But, it isn’t fall until the winter squashes come out. And the apples.

I have been relishing in the end-of-summer produce for the past few weeks. Tomatoes. Green beans. Beets. I bought some squashes but have yet to cook with them. I also got some canned pumpkin and resisted the onslaught of all things pumpkin. Until now.

Maybe I can blame it on the equinox?

Now that I’ve started, I don’t think it will stop. Not only because I have to plow through the monster of a pumpkin can but because I have found a glorious way to enjoy pumpkin.

In my morning brew.

I love my tea and usually enjoy a nice cup in the morning. Technically, I enjoy tisanes because I prefer herbal-based blends. I like rooibos but have started to shun all things with black teas. My favourite tea remains a chai-based concoction and surprisingly, I have yet to create my own home-grown spice medley. No better time than to start today with this cup.

Savoury spices, including cinnamon, cloves, and cardamom mellow nicely with the pumpkin with the peppercorns and ginger offering a nice kick of spice. I used pumpkin butter (from Trader Joe’s) as my sweetener but I look forward to fiddling with this for a less sweetened version. In any case, this was so good I had to share the recipe immediately. :)

I am also excited to make this pumpkin chili with the leftover pumpkin puree! It was so good last year! :)

This is being submitted to this week’s Weekend Wellness and Healthy Vegan Fridays.

Pumpkin Masala Chai (Tea/Tisane)
Adapted from Club Dine In!

1 whole clove, ground
seeds from 1 green cardamom pod, ground
2 white peppercorns, ground
1/8 tsp ground cinnamon
1 tsp freshly grated ginger
2 tbsp canned pumpkin puree
1 tbsp pumpkin butter (I used this one from Trader Joe’s, but you could also make your own)
1/4 cup water
1 cup almond milk (I used sweetened original)

1. Combine spices, canned pumpkin, pumpkin butter and water in a small saucepan. Bring to a boil over medium-high heat, reduce heat and allow to simmer for 2 minutes. Add milk, bring to boil over medium heat. Reduce heat, cover and simmer for 5 minutes. Strain, if desired, to remove any ginger bits.

Serves 1.

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Flavors of the Sun said, on September 23, 2012 at 9:50 AM

    How nice to see an actual recipe for a beloved drink! Thanks for posting–I would make this right now if I only had the pumpkin ingredients!

  2. Leslie said, on September 23, 2012 at 11:29 AM

    what a beautiful way to start the morning! i love chai, but have never tried to make my own — this looks like the perfect time to start. and about the trader joe’s pumpkin butter — where do you get that from? i’m in toronto too, and i see so many bloggers raving about trader joe’s products .. is it a order-online-thing?

  3. Kasandra Bracken said, on September 23, 2012 at 12:57 PM

    Mmmm! What a great idea for a spice combo! Pumpkin and winter squashes actually seem quite popular over here… might have to try and whip up something inspired by this for Korean thanksgiving! Hope you enjoy the fall harvest, have a honeycrisp for me!

    • janet @ the taste space said, on September 23, 2012 at 1:02 PM

      Thanks, Kass! I heard the Ontario apples were decimated this year. Last year, we went apple picking and brought home tons… and this year, the farm in Woodstock had to buy apples from elsewhere (and no apple picking available). Gah! Anyways, I hope to track down some honeycrisp apples for sure!! :) They just may cost me a pretty penny. :(

  4. Gabby @ the veggie nook said, on September 23, 2012 at 7:06 PM

    Oh man, soooo on the same wavelength Janet! I incorporated pumpkin into a hot beverage quite recently too! Love this version!

    Hope you had a lovely weekend :)

  5. ericascime said, on September 24, 2012 at 9:47 AM

    This looks so delicious! I wonder what would happen if you just stirred a bit of that pumpkin puree into your tea.

    • janet @ the taste space said, on September 24, 2012 at 9:49 AM

      I used to make my chai just my warming the milk in the microwave and steeping my tea bags… So for something simpler, maybe try milk + pumpkin in the microwave and then steep the spices? Either way, if you try it, let me know how it goes. :)

  6. gena said, on September 27, 2012 at 10:19 AM

    Did somebody say pumpkin chai???

  7. moderngirlnutrition said, on October 8, 2012 at 12:28 AM

    Mmm this sounds delicious and so seasonal!:)

  8. […] in keeping with fall, on top of a vegan pumpkin pie or fall-spiced hot beverage (pumpkin latte, pumpkin chai tea or hot chocolate, […]


What do you think?

