the taste space

Chili-Lime Noodles

Posted in Mains (Vegetarian), Sides by janet @ the taste space on October 5, 2012

This post is dedicated to my Mom.

Whenever we chat on the phone, she likes to ask me how I am doing eating through my pantry. Are you still eating all your noodles? What about your beans?

I’ve tried to reassure her that yes, we are eating through our pantry. I am still eating through my kelp noodles, my collection of beans and polishing off assorted grains like millet. She just might not be able to tell from my blog posts. Not everything makes it to the blog and sometimes it can take a while for me to put together a proper post (backlog!).

So here we go: photographic proof we’re eating the soba noodles, too. OK, Rob is eating the soba noodles. ;)

Never doubt a Tess recipe. Here we have soba noodles that are smothered in a bright, tangy, zesty and most importantly delicious chili-lime dressing. The dressing has mostly raw ingredients, like garlic and cilantro that complement the heat from the sriracha, ginger and green onion and the sour from the fresh lime juice. A little sweetness goes a long way in balancing the flavours from the agave.

As with most dressings, feel free to add any vegetables you desire. I just photographed the base noodles, but it was served with pan-fried tofu and eggplant, since they were lingering in the fridge. Somehow the addition of eggplants didn’t make for a very photogenic dish, but Mom, believe me that we had some veggies and protein with this meal. ;)

This is my submission to this week’s Presto Pasta Nights, hosted by Val, and to this week’s Healthy Vegan Friday and Ricki’s Wellness Weekend.

Chili-Lime Noodles
Adapted from Radiant Health, Inner Wealth (original recipe here)

1/2 lb. long thin noodles (we used soba)

3 tablespoons  olive oil
1 tablespoon grated fresh ginger
1 tablespoon sriracha
1/4 cup plus 1 tablespoon fresh lime juice
1 teaspoon ketchup
5 large cloves garlic, minced or pressed
2 tablespoons plus 1 teaspoon low-sodium soy sauce
1/2 teaspoon sea salt (or less if you prefer)
1.5 teaspoons agave, or your choice of sweetener

1 medium carrot, peeled and thinly sliced (oops, forgot to add this)
4 green onions, thinly sliced (green and white parts)
1/4 cup (lightly packed) chopped fresh cilantro

+ lime-tamari tofu (optional)
+ other assorted vegetables

1/4 cup unsalted peanuts, toasted and crushed

1. In a large pot of boiling salted water, cook the noodles until al dente according to the package’s instructions. Drain in a strainer or colander.

2. Meanwhile, in a large bowl, combine the oil, ginger, sriracha, lime juice, ketchup, garlic, soy sauce, salt and agave. Whisk until completely smooth.

3. Next, chop your carrot, green onions and cilantro and add to the sauce. Mix well to combine.

4. Once your noodles are finished, add them into the bowl with the sauce. Toss until well combined. Garnish with the peanuts and serve. This dish is good hot, cold, or at room temperature but do not reheat the leftovers.

Serves 4.

18 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. richardmcgary said, on October 5, 2012 at 8:34 AM

    Chile, lime and cilantro go together so well. Then you have the peanuts for the crunch factor and nutty taste. This dish just sings.

  2. Lindsay said, on October 5, 2012 at 9:01 AM

    Yum — I love noodle dishes like this. I think I could make this from what’s in my pantry too :)

  3. flavorsofthesun said, on October 5, 2012 at 10:10 AM

    This looks like a light and refreshing recipe, perfect for clearing out the pantry. You inspire me. I think I need to work on my own noodle and bean collection. And millet, and quinoa, and bulgur wheat, and couscous…

    • janet @ the taste space said, on October 5, 2012 at 11:17 AM

      You are too funny! Yeah, the plan is to whittle the pantry down to nothing in 8 months. I actually don’t think it is possible with the amount of beans I have but I will try valiantly! :)

  4. Ruth said, on October 5, 2012 at 12:00 PM

    Great combination of flavours. So glad you shared with Presto Pasta Nights.

  5. Joanne said, on October 5, 2012 at 2:41 PM

    Something tells me your mom doesn’t REALLY have to worry about you not eating or not eating well. :P But moms will be moms after all and its their job. I LOVE the sound of these noodles…that spicy sauce! Mmm.

    • janet @ the taste space said, on October 5, 2012 at 2:49 PM

      Nah, my Mom is worried about me possibly wasting the noodles, I think. She thinks I am a hoarder but Rob is helping me eat through some of the wacky things I have bought in the past. Woohoo!!! :)

  6. Gabby @ the veggie nook said, on October 6, 2012 at 6:17 AM

    Awesome, another Tess recipe! And this one sounds just as delicious as all the others, I must look into these books- not that my cookbook collection needs expanding or anything haha

  7. Angela Thompson (@vegangela) said, on October 6, 2012 at 9:43 AM

    YUM! Added it to my Vegan MoFo “to try” board: http://pinterest.com/vegangela/vegan-mofo-2012/ Thanks!

  8. Bobbie {the vegan crew} said, on October 7, 2012 at 11:11 AM

    This sounds right up my alley!

  9. Mel said, on October 8, 2012 at 6:32 AM

    Yum, I love these types of flavours! It looks lovely too.

  10. laceythevegan said, on October 8, 2012 at 7:48 PM

    Reblogged this on Lacey Loves Food and commented:
    Had to share. Drool.

  11. closetcooking said, on October 9, 2012 at 11:10 AM

    Nice and simple and full of flavour!

  12. [...] with Zucchini Noodles – Shiitake, Walnut, and Cranberry Salad with Adzuki Beans – Moroccan Quinoa – Chili Lime Noodles – THE Peanut Sauce (recipe elsewhere) – Mediterranean Collard Wrap with Hummus, Artichoke Hearts [...]

  13. [...] Chili-Lime Noodles from Janet @ the taste space [...]

  14. adriennefriend said, on October 13, 2012 at 2:28 PM

    Pretty, easy, tasty – nicely done.

    adrienne at http://cracktheplates.com

  15. [...] garlic isn’t as scary as it seems. Chili lime noodles, 15-minute zippy garlic-basil marinara, lemon asparagus quinoa toss, and many other dishes that add [...]


What do you think?

