the taste space

Smashed Chickpea and Avocado Sandwich with Lime and Cilantro

Posted in Mains (Vegetarian) by janet @ the taste space on October 16, 2012

I thought it was getting colder, but then it was a balmy 20C yesterday. Soup time? No, it is sandwich time!

I don’t eat sandwiches very often.

I still drool over delicious sandwiches, though.

Including this one from Two Peas and their Pod.

Like a souped up guacamole, this combined both of my versions. Chunky like my pineapple and cucumber guacamole but ramped up with chickpeas like my edamame guacamole. Filled with fresh cilantro, a zip from green onions and citrus tang from lime, this worked really well.

You could use this as a dip with big crackers. Or slather it onto your next sandwich or wrap. Whatever you decide, you know it will be a tasty spread.

And about that bread? It is an interesting sourdough rye bread. You can actually store it unopened at room temperature for 6 months. Something about it being double-baked or something. I first tried it in Calgary, but recently spotted a few versions at a nearby health food store, Foods for Life. And you know what?  Their tempeh is just as cheap ($3.59) as Tutti Fruiti!

There are a few reasons I don’t eat bread. One is because I don’t really like it. This bread was interesting, but not my favourite. It was merely a vector for the delicious filling. The best part was definitely in the middle!!

This is my submission to Deb for this week’s Souper Sundays and No Croutons Required featuring sandwiches.

Smashed Chickpea and Avocado Sandwich with Lime and Cilantro
Adapted from Two Peas and their Pod

2 cups cooked chickpeas, (rinsed and rained if canned), peeled if possible
1 large ripe avocado
1/4 cup fresh cilantro, chopped
2 tablespoons chopped green onion
2-3 tbsp fresh lime juice (from 1 lime)
Salt and pepper, to taste
Bread of your choice (I used a maple pumpernickle (sourdough rye) bread)
4-5 leaves of lettuce, torn (baby spinach would be great, too!)

1. In a medium bowl, gently mash the chickpeas and avocado together. Stir in the cilantro, green onion, and lime juice. Season with salt and pepper, to taste.

2. Use the spread in your next sandwich with lettuce! Or wrap! Or scoop it up with some crackers. For guests, this is best made just prior to serving, before the avocado loses its brilliant green. :)

Spread makes 3-4 sandwiches, depending on additional ingredients.

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Laura @ Sprint 2 the Table said, on October 16, 2012 at 8:57 AM

    I feel the same way about sandwiches! If the bread is exceptional enough to be more than just a vehicle for the stuffings then I’d rather eat it on the side to fully appreciate the flavor.

    This reminds me a little of my cilantro lime chickpea salad. How did I not think to add avocado though?! Perfect pairing with the cilantro and chickpea flavors.

  2. hampiesandwiches (@hampiesandwich) said, on October 16, 2012 at 2:46 PM

    You know, I’ve always heard of using chickpeas in sandwiches in the faux-tuna-salad vein, and that was never very appealing. But combining them with avocado and lime definitely is! :)

    • janet @ the taste space said, on October 16, 2012 at 2:50 PM

      I still want to try a chickpea-pickle salad sandwich, though! On my bucket list. Always on a quest to try something new… :)

  3. Joanne said, on October 16, 2012 at 9:31 PM

    I guess if that bread won’t go stale then it’s perfect for a non-bread lover like you! I’ve been meaning to make this sandwich for AGES now. Thanks for the reminder. :)

  4. Gabby @ the veggie nook said, on October 17, 2012 at 9:12 PM

    This looks awesome Janet! I can’t believe how warm it suddenly got- I thought we were headed straight for winter, but the warmth came back with a vengeance. Not that I’m complaining! Perfect excuse to skip the soup and indulge in a sandwich :)

  5. narf77 said, on October 21, 2012 at 1:33 AM

    Now THAT looks the business! I can see this baby gracing my soon to be hot summer table along with endless variations that may or may not live up to this originals promise. Cheers for sharing it with us all :)

  6. Deb in Hawaii said, on October 21, 2012 at 6:32 PM

    You have all of my favorite ingredients and flavor in that spread–what a perfect sandwich. Thanks for sharing it with Souper Sundays this week. :-)

  7. Cara said, on October 21, 2012 at 10:14 PM

    I’ve eyed this recipe before – thanks for the reminder! Chickpeas and avocados are some of our favorite foods so I can’t imagine not liking it!


What do you think?

