the taste space

Tomato-Pomegranate Vinaigrette

Posted in Salads by Janet M on October 25, 2012

If my Pinterest boards tell you anything, I am scouring the web for interesting dressings.

Each week, I try to make a new dressing to add to whatever wandering salad I may concoct for lunch. Toss it with whatever random veggies I have in the fridge or plucked from the garden.

For this month’s Random Recipe challenge, we were urged to pick a pantry item and randomly try a recipe with it. I picked pomegranate molasses and then randomly picked Turquoise, a cookbook I have been neglecting but adamant about trying more of the drool-worthy recipes.

I landed squarely on the tomato-pomegranate dressing, spiced with thyme, shallots and garlic. I was initially perplexed by the recipe since it seemed to be a dressing infused with the flavours instead of being pureed directly into the dressing. So, I experimented. I made half of the recipe through the suggested (infused) method, and half of the dressing was simply pureed. The verdict? Both were good and more surprisingly to me, the blended dressing was creamier. I thought the pureed shallot and garlic would make this a scary dressing, but it wasn’t. It wasn’t as tart and acidic as the infused dressing. However, once mixed with my veggie medley, it was perfect. Both versions were nice.

Here, in the photos, I paired the dressing with thinly sliced collards, shredded beets and carrots, thinly sliced Roman beans and toasted sunflower seeds. I massaged some of the dressing directly with the collards (like I do for my raw kale salads) and then drizzled more dressing for the rest of the veggies. As you can see, the collard greens didn’t wilt as much as kale, but it made for a tasty salad, mellowing the collards for a simple salad. Later, I also found the dressing paired well with my standard concoction of tomatoes, cucumber, green beans, chickpeas and lettuce.

Looking for another great salad with pomerganate molasses? This one with bulgur and chickpeas (aka, The Old Best Salad Ever) was how I got hooked onto pomegranate molasses!

Do you have any favourite salad dressings?

This is my submission to Deb for this week’s Souper Sundays and to this month’s Random Recipes for cupboard items.

Tomato-Pomegranate Vinaigrette
Adapted from Turquoise

2 tbsp hazelnut oil (or oil of choice, like extra virgin olive oil)
1/4 cup red wine vinegar
2 tbsp pomegranate molasses
1 tomato, chopped (deseeded if you must but I didn’t)
3 shallots, halved
1 garlic clove, halved
4 sprigs fresh thyme
salt and pepper, to taste (I didn’t add any salt)

1. Combine all ingredients. Refrigerate overnight. Strain or puree in a blender. Keep refrigerated.

Makes 1/2 cup.

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Joanne said, on October 25, 2012 at 6:59 AM

    I love your method of dressing experimentation…that’s probably what I would do also! Plus I’m a sucker for all things pomegranate. This sounds awesome!

  2. sprint2thetable said, on October 25, 2012 at 7:56 AM

    I like the idea of these flavors in a dressing. It looks like a mahumarra! I bet it would also be good with walnut oil.

    • janet @ the taste space said, on October 25, 2012 at 8:24 AM

      I never really looked at it that way since it is quite vinegary but yeah, those flavours do come through. I haven’t made muhammara in ages! :)

  3. Gabby @ the veggie nook said, on October 25, 2012 at 8:07 AM

    Sounds so lovely and flavourful Janet!

  4. moderngirlnutrition said, on October 25, 2012 at 8:48 AM

    This sounds amaing- love the photos!

  5. Dominic said, on October 26, 2012 at 4:11 AM

    sometimes I forget to be adventurous with my vinaigrettes and stick with olive oil and balsamic and it’s silly because a wonderful recipe like this is so easy to do… just need to find that bottle of Pomegranate molasses first… beautiful entry for Random Recipes… thank you so much for entering… lovely piccies!!

  6. Jacqueline said, on October 26, 2012 at 1:38 PM

    What a pretty, pretty salad. I love the sound of that dressing. I am like Dom and need to make more effort, I only make a few dressings over and over again/

  7. Deb in Hawaii said, on October 28, 2012 at 8:36 PM

    Great combination of ingredients in the salad and I love how creamy the dressing looks. This would be a great way to use some the pomegranate molasses I have sitting around too. ;-) Thanks for sending it to Souper Sundays.

  8. makeycakey said, on October 30, 2012 at 10:41 AM

    This sounds delicious – I even have some pomegranate molasses at the moment, so shall give it a try. Yum! Thanks for the inspiration :-)

    • janet @ the taste space said, on October 30, 2012 at 12:32 PM

      I love pomegranate molasses. When I first bought it, no one thought I would ever finish it but now I think I am on my 3rd or 4th bottle. :)

  9. Johanna GGG said, on November 6, 2012 at 6:05 AM

    This caught my eye somewhere else – perhaps on pinterest – and I thought how much I wanted to make it – have bookmarked it but honestly I am not great at trying other salad dressings – I love salads where I can throw a few ingredients into the salad rather than spend too much time on the dressing

    • janet @ the taste space said, on November 6, 2012 at 6:54 AM

      That’s the great thing about salads: throw a bunch of things together. Because I usually eat them as my meal (not a side salad), I don’t mind spending 15 minutes each week making a dressing to last all week. It keeps the salads interesting! ;)

  10. [...] continued to excite me throughout the summer. In the fall, came the figs and apples. Now we have pomegranates, [...]

  11. [...] a common sighting at barbecues and many of my dishes use thyme (lemon-kissed tomato barley risotto, tomato-pomegranate vinaigrette, etc). My piddly thyme plant was nearly always being [...]


What do you think?

