the taste space

Chocolate Chip (Chickpea) Blondies

Posted in Desserts, Favourites by janet @ the taste space on November 6, 2012

I am a bad vegan.

I didn’t  know November 1 was World Vegan Day, to kick off World Vegan Month.

I’ll change that right now. What better way to share vegan cheer than by spreading some vegan desserts?

I went a bit dessert happy last week and made not one, but two desserts. Both with secret ingredients.

First, we have these blondies. Fudgy and moist like brownies but without any cocoa. Speckled with chocolate chips and sweetened with dates, you have a delicious dessert. Nut-free, to boot, these treats are made with chickpeas!

I first tried baking with beans when I made chocolate black bean cookies last year. Deliciously moist, creating a cake-like consistency. Without a hint of beans, the beany cookies were definitely a hit over Christmas. This time, the chickpeas contribute to a moist filling along with the dates. Chocolate chips speckled throughout made it a nice treat.

A momentary lapse caused me to inadvertently double the wet ingredients, so I ended up doubling the recipe and making 2 pies. After chowing down one pie in 2 days, I knew I had to share the second pie. I had to say goodbye.

Rob ended up bringing it work and had some fun at the same time. His email to the masses:

I put some leftover cake and brownies in the kitchen on 5.  There’s not much there.  Get it while you can!!!

After it was devoured in 10 minutes, Rob sent out a second email:

I can see that all y’all devoured the goodies in mere minutes.  Little did you know that they were both VEGAN cake and brownies.  *evil laugh*

Rob shared with me his co-workers responses:

ha ha!!

lol well played sir!

still tastes good =D

LOL! Touche, my friend!

Little you knew I sprinkled bacon bits over both… muhahahaha. Actually being evil!

For some reason, he didn’t disclose there were chickpeas in the blondies and whole wheat flour in the cake. I think that would scare off more people than telling them it was vegan, right? Healthy does not have to mean taste-less.

If a group of twenty-something men devoured them, I bet you would enjoy them, too! Did you celebrate World Vegan Day?

This is my submission to this week’s Weekend Herb Blogging, hosted by Simona.

Chocolate Chip (Chickpea) Blondies
Adapted from Chocolate Covered Katie (she called it a Chocolate Chip Cookie Pie)

1/4 apple (40g) or 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
500g cooked chickpeas (or white beans), a 29-oz can, or 3 cups
300g dates or date paste (I softened mine in boiled water for a few minutes)
1 cup quick oats
3/4 tsp salt
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
2/3 cup non-dairy milk (I used coconut milk from a carton)
3 tbsp oil (I used extra-virgin coconut oil)
1 tbsp pure vanilla extract
10-15 drops vanilla stevia, or to taste (or sugar, to taste)
1 cup chocolate chips

1. Preheat oven to 350F. Grease 2 9″ spring-form pans or equivalent.

2. In a food processor fitted with its S-blade, place apple in food processor and puree until smooth. Add cooked chickpeas and dates and puree until smooth. Add oats, salt, baking powder, baking soda and pulse until combined.

3. If you can fit the remainder of the ingredients into your large food processor, all the power to you. I couldn’t, so I removed half. Combine remainder of ingredients (except chocolate chips) and pulse until combined. Adjust sweetener.

4. Stir in chocolate chips.

5. Place batter into prepared pans and bake for 30-45 minutes. It does not need to be cooked through, it will just be more gooey and will firm up as it cools. Allow to cool 15 minutes before removing from pan. Store at room temperature or in the fridge for up to 2 days (it didn’t last any longer than that in my kitchen!)

Serves 16 (2 pies, serving 8 each).
(consider halving the recipe)

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Gabby @ the veggie nook said, on November 6, 2012 at 8:22 AM

    Haha you and Rob are so sneaky Janet! I love tricking people into eating vegan treats- we’l wear them down one desert at a time ;)

  2. Laura @ Sprint 2 the Table said, on November 6, 2012 at 9:11 AM

    I tried chickpea blondies from another blogger… And I hated them. However I totally trust you. Every recipe of yours that I’ve made has been excellent… So I’ll be raving the blondies again. This time Janet-style. ;)

    • janet @ the taste space said, on November 6, 2012 at 4:11 PM

      Thanks Laura. They may not exactly be blondies but blondies are brownies without cocoa, right? Anyways, they taste good, whatever you want to call them. :)

  3. Joanne said, on November 6, 2012 at 2:08 PM

    These are perfect for using up the masses of chickpeas I always seem to have around! I never tell my coworkers what’s in anything I make, whether healthy or not. As long as it tastes good..they don’t need to know. :)

  4. [...] only am a I bad vegan who missed World Vegan Day, I am also a bad [...]

  5. Simona said, on November 12, 2012 at 1:41 AM

    Definitely a very interesting set of ingredients: I have never had a dessert made with chickpeas… at least that I am aware of. Thank you for your sweet contribution to WHB!

  6. Ana Cooks said, on November 12, 2012 at 10:51 AM

    oh my god!i’m gonna die. i want to eat it so much! :)

  7. [...] all the recent sweets, it was probably no shock that I’d jump on the chance to try a sweetener-free [...]

  8. [...] for myself, I’d easily experiment with squash carob brownies, cauliflower chocolate cake, chocolate chip chickpea blondies or chocolate mint black bean cookies. I have even gambled with (oh so good) chocolate tofu mousse [...]

  9. […] 12. Chocolate Covered Katie: Another blogger with mostly healthy desserts is Katie, which brought to me my Almost Guiltless Chocolate Mousse Pie, which was then turned into a Chocolate Mint Ice Cream. I also recommend her Lemon Cheesecake Squares, Chocolate Peanut Butter Truffles, and Chocolate Chip Chickpea Blondies. […]

  10. […] One of my favourite cookies are these chocolate mint cookies made with black beans and these chocolate chip chickpea blondies were a hit, too. I like bean-based cookies because they are softer and more cake-like, instead of […]


What do you think?

