the taste space

Dolmas (Middle Eastern Stuffed Grape Leaves)

Posted in Favourites, Mains (Vegetarian), Sides by janet @ the taste space on December 18, 2012

Easy Dolmas

One of the things I am enjoying about this sweetener-free challenge is determining how much sweetener I truly need.  Furthermore, I feel less bloated, which is really keeping me motivated to stick with the challenge this long. I love throwing fruit into my savoury dishes, but I know not everyone rolls with me.

Earlier this fall, I made Cherry Collard Dolmas. A little bit more non-traditional because I was lazy and used larger collard leaves but also because sweet cherries were used to complement the savoury spice mix of cinnamon, allspice, mint and dill. Currants and pistachios were also mixed in there for good measure. Brown rice and white beans were used to amp up its nutritional profile. Yes, these were very good.

RHIW Dolmas

This time, I consulted with Tess for a simpler version. Brown rice and chickpeas are the base with fresh tomatoes, dill and fresh lemon juice, wrapped in a salty grape leaf. Seemingly humble ingredients, combined into power rolls, you have a winning snack. I liked them both before I cooked them (the lemon juice was a strong, fresh flavour) but they mellowed out nicely after a 20-minute steam.

I don’t know about you, but there is something so awesome about little nibbly snacks. Finger foods are fun. Serve as an appetizer, a snack, or eat a bunch as a meal. I served mine with a simple tahini dip which contrasted the lemony flavours nicely. A thinned out hummus dressing could work, too.

RHIW Dolmas

There is only one problem with finger foods.  That means I have to assemble a whole bunch of teeny rolls! Trust me, it is worth it. However, if it is a weeknight and you just want to eat pronto, throw it into a larger collard leaf instead.

RHIW Dolmas

This is my submission to this month‘s Herbs on Saturdays, and to this month’s Bookmarked Recipes.

Dolmas/Dolmadas (Middle Eastern Stuffed Grape Leaves)
Adapted from Radiant Health, Inner Wealth (original recipe here)

2 cups cooked brown rice (or cook 1/2 cup dry brown rice)
1 tbsp olive oil
3/4 cup cooked chickpeas
2 cups Roma tomatoes, finely chopped
2 green onions, finely chopped
1/4 cup fresh lemon juice
2 tsp dried dill
1/2 tsp salt, or to taste
20 marinated grape leaves (can be found at Marche Istanbul or other Middle Eastern grocers), rinsed if desired

1. In a large bowl, mix together the cooked brown rice, olive oil, chickpeas, tomatoes, green onions, lemon juice and dill. Add the salt and season to taste. Season with a bit less salt than you would normally prefer since the marinated grape leaves are salty, too. Feel free to allow to marinate for at least 10 minutes.

2. When ready, assemble your dolmas. Prepare your dolmas by placing 1 tbsp of filling in a grape leaf (or 1/4 cup of filling into each collard wrap). For the grape leaves, place the leaf’s shiny side down, with the filling towards the base of the leaf, near the stem. (Photo instructions here). Roll the sides in first, then roll away towards the tip of the leaf. It is the same for the collard, just use more filling, depending on the size of your leaf. Place the rolled dolmas into your steamer basket, tightly next to each other. If you don’t have enough room, you can also make a second layer.

3. I honestly think you could stop here and eat the dolmas with their fresh flavours. If you want to cook the, prepare a steamer basket. Place a container underneath, cover and boil an inch of water over medium heat. Once boiling, place the filled steamer basket overtop and cover. Steam dolmas for 20 minutes or until the grape leaves are tender.

Serves 4.

17 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. alexanderwillowharvey said, on December 18, 2012 at 6:09 AM

    my mum makes these with grape vine leaves from the garden, yours look delish!

  2. Maria @ Little Miss Cornucopia said, on December 18, 2012 at 7:06 AM

    I love the simplicity of this dish! They sound amazing!!

  3. Emma said, on December 18, 2012 at 8:09 AM

    I love stuffed vine leaves. I was in Greece this summer and enjoyed them on many occasions. It’s really reassuring that your sweetener-free challenge has been such a success- I’m planning to embark on it in the New Year (have to get Christmas out of the way first..) and am quite looking forward to it now!

    • janet @ the taste space said, on December 18, 2012 at 9:48 AM

      Hey Emma, It actually wasn’t as bad as I had feared… I started to re-introduce fruits and a bit of chocolate recently and then I went to the cooking class which used agave and fruit in the recipes. However, it wasn’t as sweet as I thought and it seems like my body has adjusted nicely. I will be a bit more lax around actual holidays with my family (it will be easier for them) and then go back to minimal sweeteners in the new year as well. I think it is great you want to try it out as well. If you have any questions, just let me know. :)

  4. Laura @ Sprint 2 the Table said, on December 18, 2012 at 10:26 AM

    Dolmas have been on my to-try list for a long time. I love getting them at my local Lebanese restaurant. I really like the idea of using collards – for some reason those little grape leaves intimidate me!

    • janet @ the taste space said, on December 18, 2012 at 10:55 AM

      The grape leaves are awesome, Laura. Don’t be scared.. they just force you to make small rolls. Besides, I love their briny taste… I wash it off before I use it but I love the tang! :)

  5. Joanne said, on December 18, 2012 at 7:41 PM

    The flavors in these remind me a lot of those in spanakopita…well mainly the lemon and the dill. I love that flavor combo so I know I’d adore these!

  6. Tina said, on December 18, 2012 at 11:54 PM

    Ooo. My husband loves the dolmas at Whole Foods! I’ll give this a shot!

  7. Gabby @ the veggie nook said, on December 20, 2012 at 10:16 AM

    I loooove grape leaves, I really must make this, it’s been far too long!

  8. Jacqueline said, on December 30, 2012 at 7:01 AM

    Do you know, this is one thing I have never tried in a restaurant or at home. I really must make the effort.

  9. [...] Dolmas (Middle Eastern Stuffed Grape Leaves) by Janet at Taste Space: “I don’t know about you, but there is something so awesome about little nibbly snacks. Finger foods are fun. Serve as an appetizer, a snack, or eat a bunch as a meal. I served mine with a simple tahini dip which contrasted the lemony flavours nicely. A thinned out hummus dressing could work, too.” [...]

  10. [...] Caribbean Black Beans – Rosemary White Beans with Artichokes and Sun-Dried Tomatoes – Dolmadas – Fat-Free Red Lentils and Spinach with Tamarind – Zesty Unfried Refried Beans – Tamarind Chutney – [...]


What do you think?

