the taste space

Hillbilly Hummus (Black Eyed Pea and Peanut Butter Hummus)

Posted in Appetizers, Sides by Janet M on January 1, 2013

Hillbilly Hummus (Black Eyed Pea and Peanut Butter Hummus)

Rob and I came up with a few new traditions this year.

1. When we host Christmas (you know when we finally have our imaginary children), it is going to be a pyjama party all day long. At home, we get dressed up for Christmas dinner, but we’ll buck the trend with comfy pyjamas until dessert. We both got PJs for Christmas, so it must have been a sign my mom is on board, too! ;)

2. Sydney fireworks. Rob and I both start each day fairly early (5am on work days) so staying up past midnight to watch a ball drop on New Year’s Eve is a hard-earned delight. This year, Rob and I watched the spectacular fireworks as Sydney fired its way into the new year. Trust me, New York has nothing compared to their expansive fireworks… and it started at 8am EST! :)

Hillbilly Hummus (Black Eyed Pea and Peanut Butter Hummus)

I have never celebrated the new year with beans and greens, but I see no reason not to try to incorporate some black eyed pea love into a new year celebration.

This year, I decided to mash up some black eyed peas into a hillbilly hummus. Crescent explains this delightful pantry-friendly hummus was created as a local interpretation when she lived in Arkansas. The double leguminous hummus is created with black eyed peas, peanut butter, garlic and apple cider vinegar. A touch of sage complements the flavours surprisingly well and makes a wicked spread. No stranger to peanut butter in hummus, I bet black eyed peas could also be substituted 1:1 with chickpeas in traditional hummus. I found peanut butter to be a prominent flavour whereas the black eyed peas were merely a vector for the PB. I also used my Vitamix to create a silky smooth spread. I was initially worried I would lose a bunch of it behind in the blender blades, but my fingers were quite nimble so I had ample sampling before bringing it to my New Year’s Eve party. It was as well received as I had hoped, and more!

Hillbilly Hummus (Black Eyed Pea and Peanut Butter Hummus)

Here’s to a happy and healthy new year! :)

For other ideas for black eyed peas, check out my list with this black eyed pea and kale salad. Other good BEP round-ups here, here and here.

This is my submission to this month’s My Legume Love Affair, hosted by Susan and to Ricki’s Weekend Wellness.

Hillbilly Hummus (Black Eyed Pea and Peanut Butter Hummus)
Adapted from Bean by Bean

2 cups black eyed peas, cooked (rinsed and drained if canned) [I used a 19 oz can]
1-2 cloves garlic (I used 2 but found one clove unscathed in the blender so it was technically only one in the hummus)
1/4 cup peanut butter
1/4 tsp fresh sage (try thyme or another herb, too)
2 tbsp apple cider vinegar
3 tbsp water (or bean cooking liquid), or to reach your desired consistency
1/4 tsp salt, or to taste

1. In a food processor or blender (I used my high-speed blender), blend all. The high-speed blender needed the damper. Taste and adjust seasoning to tastes.

Makes 2 cups.

23 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Amanda said, on January 1, 2013 at 11:20 AM

    We also enjoyed hummus for new years but used “pea”-nut butter instead (allergies you know) and also baba ganoush…..a very Janet friendly evening!

  2. sprint2thetable said, on January 1, 2013 at 2:18 PM

    I love peanut butter anything, so I’m sure this would be no different. I love the sage idea… I bet rosemary would be good too. Happy New Year!

    • janet @ the taste space said, on January 1, 2013 at 5:20 PM

      Happy new year to you,too, Laura. My sage plants are so much more prolific than rosemary but that sounds like a great idea, too. :)

  3. Joanne said, on January 1, 2013 at 3:44 PM

    I’m cooking for my family today and beans and greens will definitely be hitting the table! I love the sound of this hummus! Hearty and comforting from the sage.

  4. narf77 said, on January 1, 2013 at 4:11 PM

    Am considering elevating this to “HillWilliam” status by omitting the peanut butter and using cashew or macadamia… ;)

  5. Hannah said, on January 1, 2013 at 8:47 PM

    Oh yeah, Sydney’s fireworks amidst/above/incorporating the Harbour Bridge are always a sight to see. I missed being among the first in the world to enter the New Year this year!

    • janet @ the taste space said, on January 2, 2013 at 3:36 PM

      Yeah, my favourite part of this year’s show was the raining of fireworks from the bridge! Is it tradition to watch the whole show and THEN kiss? I usually ignore the fireworks in Toronto and we just kiss when the ball drops. ;)

      • Hannah said, on January 4, 2013 at 6:37 PM

        Honestly, I’ve never really been a part of the whole kissing thing. People kiss or hug or whatever after the countdown.

  6. Allysia Kerney said, on January 2, 2013 at 1:45 PM

    Ha ha, hillbilly hummus, I love it. :) Black eyed peas aren’t a common ingredient around here, but I do have some in the pantry! And it’s nifty that you guys had fireworks, there’s nothing like that over here (granted, I live in Regina, Saskatchewan). Happy 2013!

    • janet @ the taste space said, on January 2, 2013 at 1:54 PM

      Thanks Allysia! Toronto does fireworks but Sydney’s are way more awesome. Actually we never pay attention ot the fireworks because that is when everyone is cheering, hugging, kissing, etc. So you aren’t missing much. ;)

  7. Jodi said, on January 2, 2013 at 5:03 PM

    My grandmother always put peanut butter in her hummus and I always inwardly scoffed. But it’s a thing! Hillbilly hummus ~ who knew?!

    • janet @ the taste space said, on January 2, 2013 at 5:33 PM

      Hehe, you are too funny. I started using peanut butter in hummus while at university since I didn’t have tahini. I wouldn’t have been able to eat it all before it went bad even if I did buy it. My, how times have changed. ;)

  8. [...] for dipping in hummus, I love eating monster carrots like a horse. Chomp, chomp, [...]

  9. Susan said, on January 8, 2013 at 10:07 AM

    Too delicious – and with black-eyed peas and peanut butter, twice the legume power. A great way to snack in the New Year, Janet.

    Thanks always for joining in MLLA!

  10. [...] eyed peas are certainly not just for the new year, but I was drawn to this black eyed pea and kale stew through Random Recipes. This month’s [...]

  11. Sukanya said, on February 22, 2013 at 11:12 AM

    Peanut butter in hummus ! now that is so creative ! Have to try this,hummus recipe. I love the name – hillybilly hummus ! :)

  12. […] Hillbilly Hummus (Black Eyed Pea and Peanut Butter Hummus) […]

  13. […] work. Celebrate St John’s, Newfoundland’s new year at 9:30 pm and then call it a night. Last year, Rob and I celebrated by watching the Sydney fireworks at 8am, but alas, I will be busy at work, […]

  14. […] Hillbilly Hummus (Black Eyed Pea and Peanut Butter Hummus) […]

  15. […] Hillbilly Hummus (Black Eyed Pea and Peanut Butter Hummus) […]


What do you think?

