the taste space

Roasted Orange Veggie Noodle Bowl

Posted in Mains (Vegetarian) by janet @ the taste space on February 17, 2013

Roasted Orange Veggie Noodle Bowl

Did you catch this post yet? Why Four Workouts a Week May Be Better Than Six.

It struck a chord with me, as I stopped cycling for the winter. More is not always better.

I found it to be a well-designed study. While it investigated older aged exercise-naive women, I found it fascinating that the women doing 6 work-outs a week spent less energy overall throughout the day because they were tired and stressed form their work-outs. Instead of being invigorated by exercise, too much exercise caused them to feel like they were short on time, and became more sedentary during the day. Interestingly enough, this was shared shortly after another article talked about how models slim down for their work. Lots of intense exercise but nothing that gives them muscle definition. Egad. My advice: if you are doing a lot of exercise, eat. Fuel your work-outs properly.

In any case, let me know if you enjoy these interesting news and tidbits, even if non-food related.

Roasted Orange Veggie Noodle Bowl

For those that are here for the food: I tried something new. Roasted oranges. I often roast vegetables but not fruit (I’ve tried roasted strawberries which were very good, though). I was intrigued. I tried them but prefer juicy oranges au naturel. They had a deeper more caramelized flavour but I missed the juiciness. Try it and let me know what you think.

I paired them with roasted Brussels sprouts (which I adore) as well as red bell peppers. A creamy orange ginger dressing, a bit heavy on the vinegar, worked well with the kelp noodles (the vinegar tenderizes them nicely). Feel free to use your favourite noodle. Or try it more like my Crunchy Cabbage Salad with a similar tahini-orange dressing, my orange teriyaki vegetable quinoa bowl or a brown rice salad with roasted beets and oranges with an orange-sesame vinaigrette.

Roasted Orange Veggie Noodle Bowl

This is my submission this month for Pasta, Please for peppers and to this month’s Simple and in Season.

Roasted Orange Veggie Noodle Bowl
Adapted from Edible Perspective

1 lb Brussels sprouts, trimmed and halved
2 tsp coconut oil, melted
salt and pepper, to taste
2 large red bell peppers, chopped
2 small oranges, chopped into wedges
your favourite noodles, cooked (soba would be good, I used kelp noodles)
1 tbsp tahini
2 tbsp orange juice
2 tbsp rice vinegar (consider reducing)
2 tsp toasted sesame oil
1 tsp orange zest (from 1 small orange)
1 tsp grated gingerroot
salt and pepper, to taste

1. Preheat oven to 400F.

2. Prepare your Brussels sprouts and toss with oil and salt and pepper. Roast for 10 minutes.

3. Chop your red peppers and oranges and add them to the Brussels sprouts after 10 minutes. Roast for another 15 minutes, until the Brussels sprouts are browned and the red pepper is cooked through. The orange should turn slightly brown, too. When the orange is ready, remove the peel.

4. While the vegetables are roasting, cook your noodles and make your dressing. For the dressing, mix together the tahini, orange juice, rice vinegar, toasted sesame oil, zest and ginger. Season to taste. Toss the dressing with the noodles and top with the roasted vegetables.

Serves 3-4, depending on your noodle choice.

19 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Karen said, on February 17, 2013 at 2:48 PM

    That looks so delicious. I am always looking for new ways to eat Brussels sprouts because I love them. This will help to get me out of my “roasted Brussels sprouts with maple syrup and balsamic vinegar.”

    • janet @ the taste space said, on February 17, 2013 at 4:40 PM

      Thanks, Karen! Roasted are still my favourite but they are also good in stir fries, pan-fried and even in soups. :)

  2. Lisa@FacelessFood said, on February 17, 2013 at 3:07 PM

    That looks like a great way to cook sprouts. Thanks for linking up.

  3. Manu said, on February 17, 2013 at 5:52 PM

    this looks delicious! i love brussel sprouts and i love the idea of orange with them!

  4. Tracy said, on February 17, 2013 at 6:08 PM

    I just found your blog. I am enjoying your recipes and tid bits of info. Keep it coming. I am a former triathlete. Last year I called it quits. I was burnt out on 6 workouts a day and many times working out twice a day and I wasn’t any skinnier for all those 15+ hour weeks. I started going to yoga, bike commuting and cycling long once a week. I am much happier today!!

    Thanks for providing me with a plethora of vegan recipes!! I have made a few, they all have been fantastic !!!

  5. Joanne said, on February 17, 2013 at 6:23 PM

    I definitely find the articles intriguing…I’ve started taking two days off a week instead of just one and find that I definitely have more energy for my other workouts! In the end, though, I’ve convinced myself that there’s no ONE exercise routine fit for all people…we all have to figure out what works best for us! This stir fry bowl looks great! Love the orange infusion!

  6. narf77 said, on February 17, 2013 at 7:11 PM

    Not too sure about the roasted oranges but they would certainly give you a vitamin C hit to make the most of the iron in those sprouts. I walk an hour every day with the dog…sometimes up hill…sometimes not and that’s enough “planned” exercise for me. If I don’t eat enough, I am tired. If I eat enough of the right kinds of foods, I don’t put on weight. Simple really ;) Again, it’s all about balancing it out and not going extreme on anything… the problems are in the peripherals folks! Thats where the loonies hang out (with all those fringe politicians and religious nutters ;) )

  7. Hannah said, on February 17, 2013 at 8:27 PM

    I was absolutely not ever be roasting oranges, but perhaps meyer lemons! And roasted Brussels are always FTW.

  8. julia said, on February 17, 2013 at 11:00 PM

    I feel like good oranges probably can’t be improved upon with cooking, but the combo of roasted brussels sprouts and orange sounds perfect!

  9. Eileen said, on February 17, 2013 at 11:20 PM

    Roasted oranges, you say? Very interesting indeed. I bet a mix of roasted orange and grapefruit (like the broiled grapefruit that’s been popping up lately) woud be really interesting too–either with brussels sprouts (yay roasted sprouts) or something like a steamed broccolini.

    • janet @ the taste space said, on February 18, 2013 at 12:04 PM

      I think grapefruit sounds delicious, too, but unsure how it would work in conjunction with a savoury meal. Must investigate. I have more grapefruits than oranges right now. :)

  10. Jennifer said, on February 18, 2013 at 11:58 AM

    Looks awesome!!!! Very nice! MUST try this!

  11. Gabby @ the veggie nook said, on February 18, 2013 at 12:36 PM

    I’ve never roasted oranges, since I’m not a fan of oranges generally, except as juice, but maybe I’d like them this way better! Especially when combines with my favourite brussel sprouts and such a lovely dressing!

    I saw that article and it made me feel infinitely better about my less than stellar workout schedule of late. I am lucky if I get 3 in! Turns out, maybe that’s better :)

  12. Gena said, on February 19, 2013 at 11:33 PM

    Looks totally delightful in just about every way.

    And thank you so much for linking to that article. I heartily agree that excessive exercise, which is rampant in healthy eating circles, does more harm than good. Glad the issue is getting some press.

  13. bakecakecrumbs said, on February 24, 2013 at 7:32 AM

    What a beautiful looking bowl you’ve created there! I love the idea of roasted oranges – it’s certainly not something I’ve come across before now, although like you, I do enjoy my roasted veggies. Thank you for entering this into Simple and in Season.

  14. [...] roasted them, roasted them, and roasted them again. I added them to soups, stirfries and [...]

  15. […] Roasted Orange and Brussels Sprout Veggie Noodle Bowl […]

  16. […] I prefer Brussels sprouts roasted, I also like them slipped into scrambles, skillets, stir fries, pastas, soups and salads. The last on my bucket list (I think) was to try them raw, shredded into a […]


What do you think?

