the taste space

Indian-Spiced Chickpeas and Kale (& 70 other ideas for eating your greens)

Posted in Favourites, Mains (Vegetarian) by janet @ the taste space on March 16, 2013

Indian-Spiced Chickpeas and Kale

I have been meaning to write a post about kale for a while.

As 2013 began, I had a few friends inquire how best to eat kale. Be it resolved to eat more kale? It may be many moons later, but there is no better time than to eat more greens than yesterday. Or if you need a greener boost, how about upcoming St Paddy’s Day? ;)

I have talked about vegetable ratings before (Nutrition Action’s winner of the veggies is kale followed by other leafy veggies) but Dr Fuhrman’s ANDI (aggregate nutrient density index) score is probably more widely disseminated. Whole Foods has started to rate its produce by publicizing ANDI scores. While not a perfect system at all, it prioritizes nutrients per caloric cost. I agree with Anthony’s musings on the ANDI scores which suggests this may confuse people. Focus on whole foods, primarily vegetables and legumes with occasional fruits, grains, nuts and seeds. Why battle it out between greens, when one should try to rotate through them all? Kale, yes, but also Swiss chard, spinach and collards. Throw in Romaine lettuce and mixed baby mesclun greens. Go Asian with baby bok choy or another Asian green. Try out chicory to see if you like it more than me. ;)

eat your greens

I had elaborate plans to create a green eating guide, but as I waited, procrastinated, let life happen, others posted great greenery cooking summaries. Lindsay recently posted videos on how to strip and cook kale. I also found this nice guide from Epicurious. I will not reinvent the wheel but I will continue to share my green eats.

As I told my friends, be persistent. You may not like all greenery preparations right away. Instead of a raw kale salad, try kale chips. Add kale to your soups or stir fries, instead. Or hideblend it into a smoothie or baked good. Slowly integrate them into your diet until you find something you like.

Here is a lengthy list of ideas for numerous greens. Raw, cooked, I’ve got you covered for your greens. Once I started, I just couldn’t keep away any of my favourites. I even limited myself to leafy greens. Cabbage and Brussels sprouts are for another list.

Salads:

Raw Kale and Beet Salad with Raisins and AlmondsRaw Kale and Beet Salad

Creamy Raw Kale Salad with Avocado, Apple and Beet

Almost Raw Asian Kale and Edamame Salad

Garlic-Roasted Butternut Squash and Kale Salad with Pomegranate

Quinoa and Chickpea Salad with a Balsamic Tahini Dressing

Garlicky and Lemony Black-Eyed Pea and Kale Salad

Spinach Salad with Carrot Ginger Miso Dressing and Pepitas

Warm Mediterranean Chickpea and Spinach SaladSmoky Black Eyed Pea and Kale Stew

Soups, Stews and Curries:

Green Soup with Ginger

Smoky Black Eyed Pea and Kale Stew

White Bean, Quinoa And Kale Stew with Fennel

Brazilian Black Bean and Vegetable Stew

15-Minute White Bean and Kale Soup

Italian Stew with Winter Squash and ChickpeasIndian Lentils with Spinach (Dal Palak)

Brazilian Potato-Kale Soup with Sizzling Chorizo (Caldo Verde)

Vanilla Sweet Potato and Kale Curry

Celeriac and Pumpkin Curry with Spinach

African Pineapple Kale Peanut Stew

Cranberry Bean Mole with Roasted Butternut Squash

Ethiopian Split Pea and Kabocha Squash Stew with Collards

Jamaican Tofu Chowder with CollardsCurried Lentil Stew with Celeriac and Pumpkin

Red Lentil and Spinach Curry (Vegan Tikka Masala)

Indian Lentils with Spinach (Dal Palak)

Cauliflower, Spinach and Chickpea Balti

Fragrant Lentil Rice Soup with Spinach and Caramelized Onions (aka Dal Bhat Meets Mujaddara)

Red Lentil Soup with Spinach and Lime

Red Lentil, Spinach, and Lemon Soup

Japanese Winter Stew with SpinachJamaican Tofu Chowder with Collards

Spinach Orange Yam Soup

Pickle Soup with Swiss Chard

Smoky Tempeh and Chard Stew

Stirfries, Skillets and Pastas:

Creamy Cashew Kale and Chickpeas

Rasta Pasta

Spanish Chickpeas and Spinach with Roasted GarlicSpanish Chickpeas and Spinach with Roasted Garlic

High-Protein Creamy Roasted Cauliflower Alfredo Pasta

Chickpea Piccata with Spinach

Warm Lentil, Bulgur and Vegetable Skillet with a Lemon-Tahini Sauce

Asparagus, Watercress and Chickpea Stir-Fry with Hoisin Sauce

Chinese Five Spice Vegetable and Noodle Stir Fry

Pizza topping (kale chips!):

Roasted Vegetable and Kale Chip Pizza with a White Bean and Quinoa CrustQuinoa and White Bean Kale Chip Pizza

Bowls:

Millet Bowl with Rosemary Mushroom Gravy and Kale

Smoky One Pot Beans and Bulgur with Kale

Bulgur Pilaf Salad with Pomegranate, Dried Apricots, Pistachios and Swiss Chard

Tofu with a Zesty Rhubarb Sauce and Garlicky Kale

Millet Bowl with Spinach, Leek and Toasted Pumpkin Seeds

Peruvian Mayocoba Bean Bowl with a Roasted Pepper Sauce and Fried PlantainsGreek Stewed Swiss Chard With Tomatoes, Mint and Lima Beans

White Bean and Barley Salad with a Tomato-Pomegranate-Tarragon Sauce

As a side:

Spicy Coconut-Braised Collards

Bengali Quinoa Bowl with Spinach and Almonds (Badaam vaali Palak)

Greek Stewed Swiss Chard With Tomatoes, Mint and Lima Beans

Spreads/Dips:

Hazelnut-Roasted Delicata Squash with Hazelnut-Sage PestoHazelnut-Roasted Delicata Squash with Hazelnut-Sage Pesto

Edamame Miso Dip with Spinach

Hidden/Integrated:

Inside a wrap with peanut dressing

Mediterranean Crustless Chickpea Flour Quiche

Savoury Indian Chickpea Pancakes (Besan Chilla)

As a wrap:

Raw Burrito (Collard Wrap filled with Jicama, Sprouts and a Nacho Cashew Spread)Raw Burrito (Collard Wrap filled with Jicama, Sprouts and a Nacho Cashew Spread)

Lime-Spiked Black Bean and Quinoa Kale Wrap

Oyster Mushroom and Black Bean Tacos with Sweet Mango Salsa

Hazelnut Roasted Kabocha Squash, Cucumber and Avocado Collard Wrap

Mediterranean Collard Wrap with Hummus, Artichoke Hearts and Sun-Dried Tomatoes

Cherry Collard Dolmas

Thai Shiitake-Basil Spring Rolls with Creamy Thai Cilantro Ginger Sauce

Sushi Roll Edamame Collard Wrap with Green Onion-Miso VinaigretteArtichoke and Spinach Rice Paper Roll with Lemon Rosemary Baked Tofu

Grilled Chili-Lime Vegetable Lentil Fajitas in a Collard Wrap

Indian Chickpea and Collard Roulade with a Tomato-Mustard Sauce

Artichoke and Spinach Rice Paper Rolls with Lemon Rosemary Baked Tofu

Jamaican Jerk Tempeh Wraps

Desserts and Snacks:Kale Granola

Plain Kale Chips (with a video)

Kale Granola (or Raw Coconut Almond Kale Chips)

Drinks:

Cucumber Beet Ginger Juice

The options with greens are endless. I continually find new recipes and new favourites.

Case in point: this Indian-spiced Chickpeas and Kale. Not authentic Indian but authentically good. Cumin, cardamom and ginger augment garam masala to create a quick dish with chickpeas and kale. A touch of tahini adds a hit of creaminess that transcends its small amount. The greens are wilted in a stir fry but fully flavoured and juicy. Paired with chickpeas, this makes  a complete meal.

What is your favourite way to eat greens?

Indian-Spiced Chickpeas and Kale

This is my submission to to this week’s Weekend Wellness and to this week’s Weekend Herb Blogging, hosted by Brii.

Indian-Spiced Chickpeas and Kale
Adapted, barely, from Fat Free Vegan

1 medium onion, finely chopped
1 tsp chopped ginger
2 cloves garlic, minced or pressed
1/4 tsp cumin seeds
1 cup tomato, chopped (100g, I used cherry tomatoes)
6 cups kale, stemmed and coarsely chopped (3 oz prepped)
1/2 cup broth, divided (I used the broth from the chickpeas)
1 cup cooked chickpeas
1/4 tsp ground cumin
1/4 tsp cardamom
1/4 tsp Aleppo chile flakes. or to taste
1/4 tsp garam masala
2 tsp tahini

1. In a large non-stick skillet over medium-high heat, saute onions. Sprinkle with salt and saute, stirring occasionally, until they brown. Add ginger, garlic and cumin seeds and cook until the cumin seeds are fragrant, around 2 minutes. Add tomato and deglaze with any juices. Cook another 2 minutes.

2. Deglaze with a further 1/4 cup of broth and stir int he kale. Cover. Allow to cook for 2-3 minutes, then stir and cook until kale is bright green.

3. Stir in the remaining broth, cooked chickpeas, ground cumin, cardamom and chile flakes. Stir until well combined. Cover and reduce heat to low. Cook for a further 5-10 minutes.

4. Make a well in the middle of the pan and add the garam masala and tahini. Stir until well combined and can be tossed with the remainder of the ingredients. Combine so that the kale is well covered with the tahini.

Serves 2.

26 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. flavorsofthesun said, on March 16, 2013 at 11:55 AM

    Lovely, simple recipe and terrific round-up as well. Thanks!

  2. Joanne said, on March 16, 2013 at 1:49 PM

    I am always asked for kale suggestions and I almost find it hard to answer because I pretty much put it in everything! Love this roundup…I’m definitely passing it along to others next time I’m asked!

  3. kitblu said, on March 16, 2013 at 7:52 PM

    I use spinach as a pizza topping. I make a curried lentil and kale soup. What a list of recipes of recipes for greens. The Chinese 5 Spice Veg and Noodle Stir Fry caught my eye but unfortunately the link goes to another recipe.

  4. kitblu said, on March 16, 2013 at 9:15 PM

    Many pizza restaurants in my area (Windsor, Ontario, Canada) use spinach as a topping so I can’t claim credit. With the popularity of kale chips, at least in the blogosphere, kale would probably be good as well. Thanks for the links. Janet.
    I have no idea how people find my pins so quickly but someone has already pinned your post on greens. I’m guessing the 5-spice recipe with links will also get picked up quickly.

    • janet @ the taste space said, on March 17, 2013 at 10:10 AM

      I’ve seen arugula so greenery on pizza is not new… but Windsor has great restos. I remember going to an Italian resto in Windsor that had the best gnocchi ever. It was stuffed with more cheese! (obviously in my pre-vegan days).. sadly, it closed down the last time I went. Thanks for sharing my posts. If you try any of the recipes, please let me know how it goes. :)

  5. dawnhutchins said, on March 17, 2013 at 10:57 AM

    Wowza! What a great resource for kale recipes!!! I’m gonna pin this right now!

  6. Hannah said, on March 17, 2013 at 6:39 PM

    I am so much with the lovin’ right now. So much goodness.

    (P.S. The green soup with ginger link is wrong.)

  7. Priya Yallapantula said, on March 17, 2013 at 8:04 PM

    I have bookmarked the entire page and now I need to decide where to begin from. I would love this healthy dish for my event @ my blog. Please do send it.

  8. Jennifer said, on March 18, 2013 at 12:15 PM

    Excellent post! Care to be blogging buddies? Can I link you over at http://myblissfuljourney.com
    Get your greens on!

  9. jeanofalltrades said, on March 18, 2013 at 1:14 PM

    This post is a great resource! I’ll bookmark it! I can’t believe this but I’ve never cooked with kale so I really want to try the chickpea and kale recipe at the top of this post. It looks delicious. I love greens in many forms. Can’y decide which is my favorite.

    • janet @ the taste space said, on March 18, 2013 at 2:47 PM

      Thanks! :)
      It took me awhile to cook with kale, too. I started with raw kale salads and stayed there since I them them so much. Of course, most people work the other way, from cooked kale to raw kale. ;)

  10. […] Janet from the Taste space, who lives in Toronto She sends us a spicy dish Indian-Spiced Chickpeas and Kale  […]

  11. […] spirit of nutritarianism (coined by Dr Fuhrman, describing those who consume foods based on their higher micronutrients and shun refined oils, sugars and salt), I decided to make The World’s Healthiest Tomato […]

  12. dianaveggienextdoor said, on March 21, 2013 at 10:33 PM

    Wow – what an amazing list! I especially love all the Indian flavors – Tikka Masala? YUM!

  13. tinykitchenstories said, on March 22, 2013 at 4:59 PM

    chickpeas + kale = heaven!

  14. […] salad off the top of my head. I don’t like chickpeas with vinaigrettes, preferring them pan-roasted or smothered in thick sauces. However, as soon as we tasted this salad, both Rob and I […]

  15. […] vegan, whole food-based meals by night. My meals range from Ancho Lentil Taco Salad Wraps, to Indian-Spiced Chickpeas and Kale to decadent Better Than Nutella Cheesecakes. I currently live in Toronto but will be moving to […]

  16. Dana said, on May 15, 2013 at 12:23 PM

    wow! thanks for such a good list! I have kale and collards in my fridge right now that need to be used and now have so many choices. This page is definitely getting bookmarked!

  17. […] are flavourful, delicious, and healthy – what more could you want? I highly recommend her Indian-Spiced Chickpeas and Kale, Cauliflower Dal with Panch Phoran, Curried Beans and Quinoa with Baby Bok Choy, Iraqi Eggplant and […]

  18. Emily said, on July 23, 2013 at 10:11 PM

    Thank-you so much for compiling this awesome list! I’m eating the indian spiced chick peas and kale right now over sweet shortgrain rice, and it is amazing! I didn’t have the cumin seeds or the cardamom, and threw together a homemade garam masala, and it still turned out so good! Can’t wait to try more of these recipes. :)

  19. […] Serve with some brown rice if desired. Kind of a hybrid of my Spicy Coconut Braised Collards and Indian-Spiced Chickpeas and Kale. All […]


What do you think?

