the taste space

Spicy Thai Mango Tofu Curry with Vegetables

Posted in Mains (Vegetarian) by janet @ the taste space on April 18, 2013

Spicy Mango and Tofu Stir Fry

They are here!

I thought Alphonso mango season was still a few weeks away but it turns out now is the time! They are here from India!

Alphonso mangoes, one of our favourite mangoes, have a short season. Juicy, sweet and less stringy, the Alphonso mango is a treat. We eat them fresh, dripping their juices over the sink.

Thankfully, I am not going to tell you to use Alphonso mangoes in this curry (we actually haven’t bought any yet, although that’s on the agenda for the weekend). Unless you happen to be a very lucky person, overflowing with so many mangoes you do not know what to do. In a stir fry, ones that keep them shape are the best kind. Since you pair them with other vegetables, you do not need to use expensive, sweet mangoes. As such, I used frozen mango chunks. And I could not tell you what kind of mango those are… but I know they are not Alphonso.

Spicy Mango and Tofu Stir Fry

Crispy tofu mixed with a medley of vegetables – tender crisp broccoli, carrot and bell peppers – coupled with chunks of sweet mango.  Frozen mango worked well as it is cheaper and moreso, they are firm, cubed and sweet, keeping their shape in the skillet. Tossed with a light, orange-based sauce flavoured with garlic and ginger and a heavy dash of red pepper flakes, there are a lot of bold flavours. The sweet balanced nicely with the heat, without being too overwhelming, even for my own heat-sensitive palate.

Reminiscent of my Toasted Sesame Orange Teriyaki Vegetable and Quinoa Bowl, although that one is a bit more involved with flavoured tofu and a more complex orange sauce. I kept the tofu simple here to let the vegetables shine.

Have you tried Alphonso mangoes yet?

Spicy Mango and Tofu Stir Fry

This is my submission to this week’s Weekend Herb Blogging, hosted by Graziana.

Spicy Thai Mango Tofu Curry with Vegetables
Adapted from Sumpsimus

1 lb firm tofu, pressed and cubed
1 tbsp tamari

1 tbsp coconut oil
1/2 cup green onions
1.5 tbsp minced ginger
1 clove garlic, minced
1 large carrot, diced
2 small heads broccoli, stems peeled and thinly sliced, heads chopped into small florets
1 small red pepper, chopped
1 cup chopped mango (I used frozen)

1/2 cup fresh orange juice
2 tbsp fresh lime juice (from 1 lime)
1 garlic clove, pressed
1/2 tsp Aleppo pepper flakes

1. In a large non-stick skillet over medium heat, brown tofu on all sides. This will take approximately 5 minutes per side, depending on how crispy you like it. Deglaze with the tamari and set aside.

2. I actually parallel cooked in another skillet as the tofu did its thing. You could also use the first pan if you wanted to wait. So in a large skillet over medium heat, heat oil. Add green onions and saute until browned, around 2-4 minutes. Stir in ginger, garlic and carrots, sprinkle with salt and saute for 3-4 minutes. Stir in broccoli and red pepper and saute for another 4-5 minutes until the broccoli turns a brilliant green. Stir in mango and cooked tofu and heat through for one more minute. If things are sticking, deglaze with a bit of water.

3. Deglaze with the orange juice and stir in the lime juice, garlic and pepper flakes. Heat from another minute, until warmed through. Season with salt and pepper, to taste.

Serves 4, with a side of rice to sop up the juices.

19 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Laura @ Sprint 2 the Table said, on April 18, 2013 at 10:21 AM

    I live curries with a hint of sweet. Mangoes are all over my farmers market. It’s Avery international market with many Indian patron. There is an aisle probably 12 ft long stacked with them!

  2. Joanne said, on April 18, 2013 at 11:28 AM

    Ooo!!! I’ll have to keep an eye out for them! I love mangoes and curry together so this stir fry definitely sounds good to me!

  3. Hannah said, on April 18, 2013 at 1:11 PM

    Sometimes I really think you must be Australian at heart.

    • janet @ the taste space said, on April 18, 2013 at 8:11 PM

      Haha, I was going to blame Rob as my mango influence but I loved mangoes before I met him… although he likes mangoes even more than me… and he is the one with Australian ties. ;)

  4. Eileen said, on April 18, 2013 at 1:15 PM

    I don’t think I’ve ever seen alphonso mangoes before! Although the stores around here do normally carry more than one variety…so I’m definitely going to have to watch out for them. :) Mango sounds perfect with spicy curry!

    • janet @ the taste space said, on April 18, 2013 at 8:12 PM

      Definitely give them a try if you encounter them. I also like the honey mangoes form Pakistan. It knocks all others out of the water. :)

  5. Ellen Lederman said, on April 18, 2013 at 5:15 PM

    Love any type of mangos.Mango with broccoli and tofu is an interesting combo. Surprised you aren’t using Thai chili paste in this, but sound like you wanted a more orange type sauce.

    While we are on the subject of mangos, I could swear you recently posted a dessert recipe that used both fresh and dried mangos. I dutifully bought dried mangos, but now doing a search, I can’t find it on your blog. Was I imagining this? I guess it could have been on another blog—I do look at others, although yours is my absolute favorite.

    • janet @ the taste space said, on April 18, 2013 at 8:20 PM

      We don’t care much for the Tommy Atkins mangoes, actually. Ataulfos are the one we like most that is more easily available… otherwise Alphonso and honey mangoes are treats when we track them down. :)

  6. Ellen Lederman said, on April 18, 2013 at 5:17 PM

    Oops–never mind—to reassure myself that I haven’t (completely) lost it, I kept searching and found the raw tropical mango pie from May 2011. Definitely in my future!

  7. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts said, on April 19, 2013 at 5:19 AM

    I fell in love with the combination of tofu, mango and spice over summer and you are making me miss it after, oh, a month without the trio :) This looks great!

  8. Gabby @ the veggie nook said, on April 19, 2013 at 4:43 PM

    I loooove Alphonso mangos! They are such a treat when in season. I have been loving frozen mango lately though- it keeps me feeling happy in the face of such turbulent weather haha

    Hope the riding is going better! Getting back your stamina? I feel like today would have been a nice day for riding despite the rain because the wind was warm!

    • janet @ the taste space said, on April 19, 2013 at 10:07 PM

      Sadly, I didn’t ride today because I thought it was going to rain…. so I’ve only been biking once a week so far. Rob has been better than me, that’s for sure. Rob plans to get some Alphonsos this weekend. I told him I would only eat one, so he’s splitting the case with a co-worker instead. ;)

  9. [...] for over a week. When I returned home, I looked at the case of mangoes (not the Alphonsos, those were eaten; the case of Ataulfos Rob bought afterwards), glanced at my dehydrator and then outside and had [...]

  10. Mango Chana Masala | the taste space said, on March 29, 2014 at 8:00 AM

    […] every year, Rob will hunt down Alphonso mangoes. The fancy mangoes flown in from India. I am not sure whether […]


What do you think?

