the taste space

Raw Mango Energy Bars

Posted in Desserts, Favourites by janet @ the taste space on April 20, 2013

Everyone must have mango on their minds right now.

I definitely have a lot of recipes for mango and people have been bumping into some of my old mango treats lately: Raw Tropical Mango Pie, Thai Tempeh Lettuce Wraps with Mango Ginger Sauce, and Mango Shrikhand. If you have scurried to purchase dried mango for the Raw Tropical Pie, place some aside for these delicious bars.

Even before I got my own dehydrator, I knew not all dried fruit were equal.

Now with my dehydrator, I also know it isn’t always easy to dehydrate fruit.

Apple chips are super easy. I just slice and dehydrate at 135F overnight, around 8 hours. I prefer thin slices to get a crisp chip. Thicker slices are nice when you want something to chew on. I’ve added cinnamon, cardamom and pumpkin pie spices but still prefer the plain variety.

I experimented with homemade unsweetened and maple syrup-sweetened dried cranberries, but my efforts didn’t work out so well. I tried to split the skins by blanching them, but that worked only sporadically and thus, I ended up slicing each cranberry individually. Even then, I must have over dehydrated them because they were very dry… oops!

Dehydrated pineapple has such a concentrated flavour, packed with sugar, that it almost seemed like I was eating a chew candy.

And there are some fruits that never make it to the dehydrator, like mangoes. Why dehydrate them when you can eat them fresh?

Just as we have become picky about which fresh mangoes we prefer (Honey, Alphonso and Ataulfo), not all dried mangoes are created equal.

The best dried mangoes we’ve come across are the Philippine brand dried mangoes.  They occasionally go on sale at Loblaws, T&T and can also be found at Costco. They are sweet and juicy. The dried mangoes at Better Bulk (as much as I love the store) and Bulk Barn are a shame next to them, as are the packs from Sunny’s. Sadly, the Philippine brand ain’t cheap.

With all that being said, if you find yourself with any dried mangoes at all, make these bars.


They are the best granola bar I have tried and eerily taste so good I could sell them. I am so glad that Lisa decided to share her recipe for Holy Delicious Mango Bars! I had been pining the recipe even before I had my dehydrator, actually.  I’ve made granola bars before, but those had refined sugars and butter. I’ve also made oodles of raw energy treats, but they were usually more date-heavy.

I knew Rob would love them, but had to figure out when to make them to keep them as a surprise for him. I won’t give away my secret… A humming dehydrator is hard to conceal. But oh so totally worth it.. and trust me, these are so much better than those silly packaged bars. Do they even come in mango flavours, eh? Or the flavour of love? hahaha! ;)

These are incredibly flavourful, packed to the brim with goodies like nuts, seeds, oats, coconut and raisins and dates for sweetness.  Oh, and dried mango, too. Dehydrating brings everything together, with a firm feeling. If you don’t have a dehydrator, try your hand at freezing it instead.

These are part of my recent crack obsession but they were very satisfying without being cloyingly sweet.

This is my submission to this week’s Raw Food Thursdays, to this week’s Healthy Vegan Friday, and month’s Bookmarked Recipes.

Raw Mango Energy Bars
Adapted from Vegan Lisa

2/3 cup dried mango, soaked for 1 hour and drained
1 cup Medjool dates, pitted
1 tbsp vanilla extract
1 1/4 cup raw almonds
3/4 cup shredded coconut
3/4 cup rolled oats (fyi, these are not technically raw)
3/4 cup raisins
1/4 cup pumpkin seeds
1/8 cup sunflower seeds
1/4 tsp sea salt

1. First of all, if you don’t have a big food processor, consider cutting the recipe in half, or work in two batches.

2. First, process the drained mango, dates, and vanilla in a food processor until you have a very smooth paste.

3. Add the remaining ingredients and pulse until everything is well combined but some texture in the nuts and seeds are retained (I had some real big almond chunks!).

4. On parchment paper or a Teflex sheet, press the mixture into a square or rectangle (mine was around 8×8″ but it depends how thick you would like your bars).

5. Dehydrate at 110F for 6 hours. Flip onto a mesh and continue to dehydrate for another 6 hours at 110F. Cut into bars. (If you don’t have a dehydrator place the bars in the freezer to firm up.)

6. Store at room temperature (will keep for 2 weeks if they even last that long!) or in the freezer.

Makes 28 bars.

26 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. myredsandals said, on April 20, 2013 at 8:42 AM

    I don’t typically eat a lot of energy bars (most are way too sweet), but I love mango and these look fantastic!

    In addition to wanting to try this recipe, I *really* want to know more about your dehydrator… I’ve been thinking about getting a dehydrator for quite some time but have never moved on that idea; I’m not sure why, because this method of food preservation makes so much sense.

    What brand do you own? If it’s big enough to insert an 8 x 8 baking pan, it almost sounds like a commercial version…?

    • janet @ the taste space said, on April 21, 2013 at 7:24 AM

      I have an Excalibur because I wanted to make wraps. It has the removable trays which is important for that. I know some dehydrators are round and it would be difficult to make wraps if the middle is obscured! Granted, it would still be fine for kale chips, fruit, etc. Because the trays can be removed, it could fit an 8×8 baking pan and while I bet restos could use it, the Excalibur can be found at most stores with an interest in raw foods. I have heard of other options that are marketed as commercial jerky makers, too (and not as expensive), but the brand name eludes me.

      • myredsandals said, on April 21, 2013 at 7:35 AM

        Thanks, Janet, I appreciate the information!

      • janet @ the taste space said, on April 21, 2013 at 7:38 AM

        No problem. I actually don’t use the dehydrator as much as some of my other kitchen things.. My usage goes something like this: Vitamix > food processor > dehydrator > juicer

  2. Penni Shelton said, on April 20, 2013 at 6:32 PM

    I just put these into the dehydrator! I can already tell they’re going to be amazing! I think I might execute the order of how I put things into the dehydrator, because it was almost impossible to get anything to to chop once it is all in there together – but I got ‘er done & my hubby is so excited to have these to take to work all next week!
    xo – Penni (Raw Food Rehab & Upgrade Your Plate)

    • janet @ the taste space said, on April 21, 2013 at 6:47 AM

      Yes, there was so much stuff in the food processor, I had to do a few batches in my little guy. Please let me know how you like them after dehydrating them. :)

  3. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts said, on April 21, 2013 at 5:13 AM

    I’m not sure I’d ever have the self-control to dehydrate mango, but if I did, I would make these in a flash. As it is, I may just have to buy dried mango for them – they look wonderful.

    • janet @ the taste space said, on April 21, 2013 at 6:49 AM

      Store bought dried mango is definitely the way to go with these since they get pureed into yummy oblivion. If you make them, let me know how it goes. :)

  4. Stephanie said, on April 21, 2013 at 6:29 AM

    Dehydrated mango a few weeks ago; have enough left to try this recipe! I totally agree about homemade dried pineapple; tastes like rock candy!!

  5. Joanne said, on April 21, 2013 at 9:07 AM

    I’ve only ever made energy bars with dried ginger but I think mango would be the perfect addition! It’s one of my favorite dried fruits.

  6. Gabby @ the veggie nook said, on April 21, 2013 at 1:27 PM

    YUM Janet! I’ve been snacking on a ton of dried mango from work recently and I am in love! You must teach me where to find this Phillipine’s brand!

  7. Hannah said, on April 21, 2013 at 7:50 PM

    High five for Lisa and for no-bake treats! Woot woot!

  8. [...] may have unrawified the quinoa wraps, but I have been noshing on lots of great raw eats all week. I also ventured away from my standard chocolate oats, and re-entered overnight oats [...]

  9. Heather @Gluten-Free Cat said, on April 30, 2013 at 5:34 PM

    Why have I never tried dehydrating mango??? We just had a sale…5 for $5 and I grabbed all 5 and ate them fresh. Next time we’re going for 10 and dehydrating!
    Can’t wait to try these treats. I LOVE grab and go snacks and are satisfying. With the nuts, seeds, and dried fruits, this would be a fantastic snack on the way to the gym. Thanks for sharing it at Raw Foods Thursdays. I’ll be highlighting these this week!

  10. heathy said, on May 4, 2013 at 1:12 PM

    These look so great Janet! Love the mango!

  11. dariads said, on May 13, 2013 at 9:55 PM

    Thanks for sharing. I love recipes that sound delicious and have few ingredients

  12. […] it that often. And I could live without it for a year. Which, of course, means I am using it like crazy before we […]

  13. […] killer and I have enjoyed everything I have made thus far, including: Raw Strawberry Cream Tart, Raw Mango Energy Bars, Kale Granola, Almost Raw Chocolate Banana Crepes with Almond-Coconut Cream and Cinnamon-Flax […]

  14. […] I have gushed over simple dehydrated fruits and veggies before, here I am raving about dried…… wait for it…. […]

  15. Karan Hodkinson said, on August 14, 2014 at 10:02 PM

    So can you tell me after I make them it’s ok to set them in fridge …..


What do you think?

