the taste space

Chickpea and Broccoli Quinoa Bowl with a Peanut-Miso Sauce

Posted in Favourites, Mains (Vegetarian) by janet @ the taste space on April 23, 2013

Chickpea and Broccoli Bowl with Peanut-Miso Sauce

Stir fries may be easy but I find bowls even easier.

Each week, I try to make a dressing so that I can use up bits and bobs from in the refrigerator. Leftover grains, pre-cooked beans and steamed veggies can become a delicious meal with the right dressing.

This was one of those meals where I was searching for the perfect dressing. I wanted to make a peanut-miso dressing.

I know I have gushed over Hot Beans before. I’ve tried a few options from their not-so-secret menu and their secret secret menu. My latest love is the TVPeanut Burrito Bowl (so much easier to ask for then the The Bill’s Dick and The Peeb with a straight face) which features a brown rice burrito with ancho-spiced TVP, peanut-miso sauce, chipotle sauce, chili aioli, salsa and lettuce. Oh yes. Glorious. Substitute cumin-lime lentils for the brown rice and you have another great option. And while I have not tried it, Rob and I brainstormed the best burrito bowl ever. We named it Who Cut The Cheese: cumin-lime lentils, black beans and BBQ jackfruit in a bowl. We thought one could skip the cheese sauce for that one! :)

I digress. Tahini and miso are a common duo, but I never would have thought to pair peanut butter and miso until now. But it works really, really well.

While I would have loved to duplicate that whole big burrito bowl, I settled  on recreating the peanut-miso sauce and paired it with some classic ingredients: chickpeas and broccoli with some quinoa to sop up the dressing.

Chickpea and Broccoli Bowl with Peanut-Miso Sauce

Since I was experimenting, I did a lot of sampling. Rob helped, too. Too vinegary? Added a touch of agave and more peanut butter. Now, the sauce was perfect. I kept dipping my finger in again and again.

I will warn you that the sauce was a bit thin. A rule of thumb is that your sauce is supposed to coat the back of spoon, but this one was definitely drippy. I didn’t notice while I was sampling it until it shimmied off my chickpeas a bit too easily. Perhaps using less water, thinning with coconut milk or adding some oil would help if that is important to you. I just ended up tossing in some quinoa to catch the last of the sauce goodness.

What is your favourite peanut sauce?

Other recommended peanut dressings here:

Tess’ Ultimate Peanut Sauce
Creamy Thai Cilantro Sauce
Tangy Peanut Dressing (with a Mango and Snap Pea Salad)
Coconut-Peanut Mmm Sauce (with Kelp noodles, baby bok choy and edamame)
Spicy Peanut Udon Noodles with Tofu and Broccoli
Sweet Potato, Broccoli and Pomegranate Salad with a Peanut Dressing

Chickpea and Broccoli Bowl with Peanut-Miso Sauce

This is my submission to this week’s Weekend Herb Blogging, hosted by Terri.

Chickpea and Broccoli Quinoa Bowl with a Peanut-Miso Sauce
Sauce adapted from Food52

1/2 cup quinoa
scant 1 cup veggie broth or water
2 cups cooked chickpeas
3 heads broccoli (florets only), chopped

3 tbsp peanut butter
1 tbsp white miso
1 tbsp rice vinegar
1 tbsp Bragg’s or soy sauce
1/2 tsp agave, or your choice of sweetener
1/2 tsp Aleppo chili flakes
2-4 tbsp water, to thin to your desired consistency (coconut milk might make this a thicker sauce)

1. Prepare your quinoa: Bring water or vegetable broth to a boil over high heat. Once boiling, add quinoa. Reduce the heat to low, cover and simmer until all of the liquid is absorbed, about 15-20 minutes. Keep covered for an additional 5 minutes to steam. Set aside.

2. Meanwhile, steam broccoli for 2 minutes, or until slightly al dente and a brilliant green.

3. Mix together dressing ingredients in a small cup:peanut butter, miso, vinegar, Bragg’s, agave and chili flakes. Thin with water.

Serves 3 (if you don’t sample the dressing too much).

31 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Kalyn said, on April 23, 2013 at 7:16 AM

    I’m drooling over this!

  2. Laura said, on April 23, 2013 at 9:38 AM

    I recently signed up and I am loving your posts and recipes!

    I make lots of vegan sauces/dips and dressings and found that by addint a 1/4 teaspoon of Guar Gum as a thickner, the sauces turn out creamier, ticker and more velvety. I use the Bob’s Red Mill brand and buy it at Whole Foods.

    Laura

    • janet @ the taste space said, on April 23, 2013 at 9:58 AM

      Glad you are enjoying yourself… and thanks for the tip! I don’t have guar gum but it definitely sounds like a great idea here. :)

  3. Laura @ Sprint 2 the Table said, on April 23, 2013 at 10:19 AM

    A weekly dressing is such a good idea! I usually construct them on the fly. My quickest peanutty go-to is just peanut flour and sriracha with a little almond milk.

    You just reminded me I still have jackfruit in my freezer. I need to make the tacos again!

    • janet @ the taste space said, on April 23, 2013 at 10:45 AM

      Oooh, that does sound quick and easy… and I also have a can of jackfruit in my pantry. Fresh food is getting priority right now because I figure the cans can wait until I get back from the US. HAHAHAHA! :)

  4. Reba - Not So Perfect Life said, on April 23, 2013 at 10:25 AM

    This looks delicious. I am always looking for more ways to use my miso!

  5. Emma said, on April 23, 2013 at 1:05 PM

    Got to love a good bowl :) I was enjoying bowls with the romesco dressing from appetite for reduction this last week- greens, grains, beans and dressing is bliss in a bowl for me- sometimes nuts or dried fruit too..
    This sauce looks a real star. I recently ran out of white miso and haven’t yet re-stocked but have been noticing its absence- it’s such a versatile ingredient.
    Your peanut udon dish looks like a must make too.

    • janet @ the taste space said, on April 24, 2013 at 8:53 AM

      Oooh, I haven’t tried that dressing yet and I should because her chickpea romesco is one of my favourite recipes from Veganomicon. I wondered whether I could live without miso for a few months and decided that was stupid.. I use it all the time AND it will keep forever (if refrigerated). :)

  6. Eileen said, on April 23, 2013 at 2:02 PM

    Bowls are definitely a kind of meal that are more than the sum of their parts–especially with a delicious sauce like this one! Peanut and miso, together at last. :)

  7. Genevieve said, on April 23, 2013 at 4:41 PM

    You can’t really go wrong with peanut sauce in my opinion, even if it is on the thin side! I like the idea of adding miso for a new flavour dimension from the versions I usually make. I don’t think I’ve ever paired it with chickpeas either – usually I go for tofu or edamame as my protein, but this combo sounds delicious!

  8. Joanne said, on April 23, 2013 at 8:49 PM

    I am constantly searching for new peanut sauce recipes and this is the next one I’m going to have to try! Especially since I have some miso to use up!

  9. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts said, on April 24, 2013 at 7:23 AM

    This looks like my sort of bowl – although I’ll confess to often skipping any dressing and just having the base ingredients plain (or with tahini ;) )

  10. dawnhutchins said, on April 24, 2013 at 10:25 AM

    I can’t wait to try this tonight but will use the sun butter so Gabby can eat it. I just got a big head of broccoli. My stomach is growling NOW!

    • janet @ the taste space said, on April 24, 2013 at 5:52 PM

      Let me know how everyone likes it, Dawn, although I have a feeling you will put your own delicious spin on the recipe. :)

  11. beingomma said, on April 24, 2013 at 6:37 PM

    keep sharing the sauce recipes… I am so hooked on the cashew and miso combination from the zucchini salad….

  12. Hannah said, on April 24, 2013 at 8:09 PM

    Hooooooly frick that Hot Beans dish and your recipe sound good enough to make me forget dessert!!

  13. Oh My Veggies (@ohmyveggies) said, on April 24, 2013 at 8:57 PM

    I can never get enough peanut sauce, but peanut MISO sauce?! That sounds even better!

  14. Gabby @ the veggie nook said, on April 25, 2013 at 6:09 PM

    Mmmm Hot Beans……..Thank you for introducing me to that glorious place :)

  15. Laura @ Mommy Run Fast said, on April 26, 2013 at 9:28 PM

    I love that we were on the same page with the peanut dressings, this looks so yummy!!

  16. Terry said, on April 28, 2013 at 7:29 AM

    Love everything about this bowl! …a meal packed of such good ingredients… Good for our bodies too!
    The dressing is really inspiring! Must try it! Thanks for your contribution at the whb! Terry

  17. Kasandra Bracken said, on April 28, 2013 at 10:22 AM

    Yum! I eat a version of this with a tahini sauce as many days as I can for lunch… once I track down miso here it’ll definitely be my next sauce to try… amazing as always Janet! :)

  18. […] the blog The taste space prepared an healthy and delicious meal with her chickpea and broccoli quinoa bowl with peanut miso sauce!  …love everything about, broccoli… chickpeas and the wonderful quinoa! …a meal […]

  19. ovenloven said, on April 29, 2013 at 11:58 PM

    Wow this this super tasty! Definitely giving it a shot this weekend. Thanks for the recipe!

  20. […] yes, because I still couldn’t get Hot Bean’s peanut miso sauce out of my head, I made another […]


What do you think?

