the taste space

Strawberry Cucumber Smoothie

Posted in Drinks by janet @ the taste space on May 8, 2013

Strawberry Cucumber Smoothie

This is just a quick post to tell you about my latest infatuation.

(Unlike the Mediterranean Beans which I ate a month ago)

That ice cream craving was this week, though.

And while this is no ice cream, it is a deliciously creamy banana-less smoothie. And so cold, it gave me ice cream head aches.

Slow down, Janet…

Yes, this is the perfect drink to slow down with.. on a sunny summery day (thank you beautiful weather, Toronto).

Bananas are a common fixture in my smoothies, but Rob has stopped buying bananas, focusing on our freezer fruits. Vegetables are commonly added to sauce to make them smooth (cauliflower, zucchini, sweet potato and roasted tomatoes come to mind), and I have even added carrots to smoothies before (for a strawberry-mango-carrot delight). But this time, I wanted to try cucumbers. They worked well in my Cucumber Beet Ginger juice, so I figured out if someone had done something similar.

Joy had.

Now it didn’t seem so scary to pair cucumbers with strawberries. I’ve tried it with the seeds and without, and personally I just can’t be bothered to remove the seeds. To be honest, you cannot really taste the cucumber per se but it gives a fresh feel to the smoothie. I’ve made it with and without the vanilla and both are good. And the lemon juice? Definitely better with it.

Weird, but it works.

Definitely a comforting, guiltless drink for the summer. Thank goodness cucumbers are on sale this week. If you pick some up and make this, please let me know what you think… or if you have any other ways to enjoy cucumbers drinks. I was wondering whether they would freeze well for smoothies but ate through all my cucumbers before I could figure it out.

Joy says hers feeds two. It serves one Janet. And I’ve drunk my way through 2 cucumbers, if that tells you anything.

Strawberry Cucumber Smoothie

This is my submission to this month’s No Croutons Required for smoothies, this week’s Healthy Vegan Friday and Raw Food Thursday.

Strawberry Cucumber Smoothie
Adapted from Joy the Baker

1.5 cups frozen strawberries
half a cucumber, coarsely chopped
1 cup cold non-dairy milk
1 tsp vanilla
juice of half a lemon
sweetener, if desired (I have been using stevia – warning honey will freeze)

1. Place all ingredients in a high speed blender and blend to desired consistency.

Serves 1 (although it will be a big glass!).

30 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. sprint2thetable said, on May 8, 2013 at 10:24 AM

    I have strawberries and cucumbers right now! Now if it would ever get warm here, I’d be all over it. Apparently by tomorrow. Love the lemon addition – I always add a litle to pies too to brighten it up.

  2. jodye @ chocolate and chou fleur said, on May 8, 2013 at 10:27 AM

    This sounds so refreshing! I wish I had a cucumber right now because I would absolutely make this. It’s a beautiful, sunny day that would be perfectly complemented by a smoothie. I suppose I’ll just have to wait until tomorrow …

  3. Colette @ JFF! said, on May 8, 2013 at 1:23 PM

    So refreshing!

  4. Eileen said, on May 8, 2013 at 3:04 PM

    This sounds like the perfect combination! I might make up a big batch and just stick it in the fridge for early-morning instant smoothies all week. :)

  5. Joanne said, on May 8, 2013 at 4:35 PM

    This is the perfect refreshing summer beverage! a breath of fresh air in a cup.

  6. atasteofmadess said, on May 8, 2013 at 7:29 PM

    I have been having an ice cream craving all of this week which ended badly with me and my brother finishing a Dairy Queen ice cream cake together. I think I should have made this instead, this looks great!

  7. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts said, on May 9, 2013 at 12:39 AM

    Ooh. This might solve my challenge of what to do with cucumbers I receive in my vegetable delivery box! I detest them, but could probably stomach them in smoothie form… Thank you!

  8. Hannah said, on May 9, 2013 at 2:26 AM

    Looks gorgeous! I often used frozen zucchini in smoothies back in Aus, but rarely have cucumber in the kitchen unless planned in advance. One day, when I have a blender again… hope the studying is going well my dear! xo

  9. Johanna GGG said, on May 9, 2013 at 2:56 AM

    I quite like the idea but I always worry the cucumber skin wont blend very well because I made smoothies using a hand held blender – I probably should have more faith in it – I have paired strawberries and cucumber in salad and they do go together well. I quite like having bananas in my smoothies partly because they usually add enough sweetness that I don’t need an added sweetener (and we have a few in the freezer)

  10. Kasandra Bracken said, on May 9, 2013 at 10:31 AM

    How refreshing! I’m scared to put a cucumber in my smoothie, I seem to shy away from anything that doesn’t contain banana – but I think it’s time I started switching up my produce! Definitely will be trying this out when I get home to my strong blender :)

  11. Ellen Lederman said, on May 9, 2013 at 6:01 PM

    Hmmm—-cucumber and strawberries seem a bit odd, but I march to a different drummer, so perhaps my smoothies can too! Although there aren’t many smoothies in my life. Can’t figure out how to incorporate them into my day. was this a meal replacement or just an extra treat (snack/dessert)?

    • janet @ the taste space said, on May 9, 2013 at 6:05 PM

      I know, I don’t do smoothies either.. except now that I am craving ice cream… so it was a snack. Usually before dinner, actually. ;)

  12. Allysia Kerney said, on May 10, 2013 at 8:38 AM

    Oooh, I have a straw just like that, heart Strawsome. Also I’m totally going to do this up on a hot day, it sounds amazing and strawberries are everywhere right now.

    • Allysia Kerney said, on May 11, 2013 at 3:30 PM

      Totally just made this today…couldn’t get it out of my head! And it is my favorite thing right now, so refreshing and creamy and light. :)

      • janet @ the taste space said, on May 11, 2013 at 4:19 PM

        Yes! Awesome! It seems so weird but it works, eh? I just went and bought more cucumbers, too. :)

  13. I love how summery this smoothie is! I want to whip one up right now (except I’m at work haha)

  14. daniloui903 said, on May 11, 2013 at 12:55 PM

    I’m so glad that I came across your website recently, and then this recipe when I already had all of the ingredients in the fridge. I love cucumbers and love them in beverages. They go especially well with the strawberries. I tried it with the vanilla and a separate batch with a few mint leaves instead. They were both delicious and refreshing.Thanks!

    • janet @ the taste space said, on May 11, 2013 at 12:57 PM

      Thanks so much for your comment, Dani. I appreciate the feedback. I love your idea to add mint. I wish my mint plants would perk up faster. :) How else do you like cucumbers in your drinks?

  15. Gabby @ the veggie nook said, on May 11, 2013 at 10:56 PM

    I have been adding cucumbers to my smoothies lately too! I love how fresh tasting it makes them :)

    • janet @ the taste space said, on May 12, 2013 at 8:50 AM

      Yum! What’s your favourite concoction these days, Gabby? I just bought 3 more cucumbers. Let’s see how long they last here. :)

      • Gabby @ the veggie nook said, on May 12, 2013 at 2:56 PM

        I have been loving mango, strawberries, cucumber and avocado with a little coconut oil- yum!

  16. veganmiam said, on May 13, 2013 at 2:49 PM

    Your straw looks super sweet! I never had cucumbers in sweet smoothies, but I should try that! Miam!

    ♡ rika, vegan miam
    http://www.veganmiam.com

  17. heathergfc said, on May 15, 2013 at 7:55 AM

    Such a deliciously simple recipe! I’m just coming off a juice cleanse and will be eating soft foods today. I’m going to start with this gentle smoothie. Thanks for sharing it at raw foods Thursdays! Pinning it as well!

    • janet @ the taste space said, on May 15, 2013 at 7:56 AM

      Thanks. Let me know how you enjoy it. :)

      • heathergfc said, on May 15, 2013 at 8:42 AM

        How could I be out of frozen strawberries?! I just made it and used cantaloupe instead of strawberries. So tropical and delicious!! I know that changes the whole flavor of the smoothie, but I love the idea of using cucumber. I’ll make it again when I get some strawberries. Thanks again!

        Heather

  18. […] ice cream craving? Well, Rob had pity on me and picked up a pint (2 actually) for us to share. After building it up […]

  19. Jacqueline said, on June 2, 2013 at 7:42 AM

    Thanks for entering it Janet, it looks lush and Iooks lush !

  20. Corina said, on June 12, 2013 at 8:50 AM

    I do like the idea of strawberries and cucumber together.

  21. […] and we made it when we returned. It is possibly our favourite non-classical hummus. Just like my strawberry-cucumber smoothie, cucumber adds an airy lightness to the dip which is countered by flax (trust me, you can’t […]


What do you think?

