the taste space

Tondini Bean Breakfast Scramble

Posted in Breakfasts, Favourites, Mains (Vegetarian) by janet @ the taste space on May 23, 2013

Tondini Bean Breakfast Scramble

I am a sucker for beans.

While I have a pantry filled with heirloom specialty beans from Rancho Gordo and Kalustyan’s, I still keep finding new-to-me beans. During a cycling trip last year, a few friends and I cycled up to Woodbridge, and wound up at an Italian grocer for lunch. I perused the aisles for my lunch. Even though it was Italian, I had a brown rice veggie avocado sushi roll and an apple but I also discovered a new bean: Tondini beans (also known as burrini beans or pea beans). A small white bean in a glass jar. Perfect for a traveller: no need for a can opener and the cap could be screwed back on if on the go. I brought it back home and a few months later, I decided to bust them out for a salad.

However, when I opened the jar, they were sitting in a funny gooey jelly. A lot of the beans had split open, likely releasing their starch and gelling the liquid.  I didn’t think the road that THAT bumpy on our ride. I typically cook my own beans so I don’t normally run into this problem… so how to use mushy beans?

Scramble! A breakfast scramble… although more of a brunch or breakfast-for-dinner sort of meal. Perfect anytime, if you ask me. Definitely one of my favourite meals lately. The Tondini beans were nice and small, similar to flageolet beans, but more fragile, lending well to a scramble. The beans are simmered with onions and garlic, along with tomatoes and spinach as familiar breakfast omelette toppings. Similar to my chickpea and tofu-tahini scramble, but lighter and more cheezy from the nutritional yeast. Black salt added the eggy flavour.

Beans for breakfast, I could get used to this. :)

Have you ever had a problem with mushy beans?

Tondini Bean Breakfast Scramble

This is my submission to this week’s Weekend Herb Blogging, hosted by Cinzia, and to this month’s Breakfast Club for high fibre.

Breakfast Scramble
Adapted from Veg-am

1 tsp coconut oil
1 small onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, sliced
350g cooked Tondini beans, including liquid (or other small white beans like flageolet or navy beans) (around 1 cup)
1/4 cup water
1/2 tsp black salt, or to taste
1/2 cup cherry tomatoes, quartered
1 cup loosely packed spinach leaves, coarsely chopped (45g prepped)
2 tbsp nutritional yeast
freshly ground black pepper, to taste

1. In a medium non-stick skillet over medium heat, add oil. Once hot, add onions and saute until translucent, around 5-10 minutes. Add in garlic and cook for 2 minutes until fragrant but not burned. Add beans and deglaze with the water. Stir in the black salt and stir to combine. Allow to cook for 5 minutes, until the water has reduced significantly.

2. Stir in the tomatoes and spinach. Cook until spinach is wilted and the tomatoes heated through, around 3 minutes. Stir in the nutritional yeast and season with salt and pepper.

Serves 2.

17 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. sprint2thetable said, on May 23, 2013 at 9:13 AM

    Now you’ve made me jealous. There is NO food in my house and this looks so good. I think it’s grocery store time… I’m not moving, I have no excuses.

  2. heathergfc said, on May 23, 2013 at 11:00 AM

    Tondini beans? I’m going to keep an eye out for them. Beans for breakfast sounds like a great high-protein, comforting way to start the day. Thanks for the recipe!

    • janet @ the taste space said, on May 23, 2013 at 1:46 PM

      Thanks Heather. I have been looking at oatmeal-free breakfasts and this one is definitely one of my favourites. :)

  3. kimmythevegan said, on May 23, 2013 at 12:04 PM

    Wow – that is the best use of mushy beans I have *ever* seen!
    I soak & cook dry beans on a regular basis, so I just store them in the freezer until I need them and they all hold up pretty well except navy beans. They come out mush – so this will be an excellent use for them =)

    • janet @ the taste space said, on May 23, 2013 at 1:30 PM

      Hey Kimmy, I am like you. All my homecooked beans are in the freezer. I think pinto beans would be great in here, too. I don’t cook pintos often but I find I actually prefer mung beans to be slightly on the mushy side. Although they are quick to cook, so they are always made fresh and not frozen.

  4. Joanne said, on May 23, 2013 at 3:26 PM

    I cooked a batch of chickpeas the other day that exploded on me but it was all good because I was turning them into hummus anyway…I’ve never had beans in a can/jar lose their shape though! At least you put them to good use! This scramble look awesome!

  5. Hannah said, on May 23, 2013 at 3:27 PM

    You and your little be-handled ramekin pot thing of goodness!

  6. Gabby @ the veggie nook said, on May 23, 2013 at 4:28 PM

    Oh wow I’m totally into this. I am getting so bored of my breakfasts- Janet to the rescue!!

    And oh man I just read yours and Hannah’s convo- grab-its, I want!! Most adorable dish name ever! I believe I could eat anything as long as it was served in a grab-it ;)

    • janet @ the taste space said, on May 24, 2013 at 11:43 AM

      Haha, Gabby you are too cute. My Mom scared us by telling me not to heat up food in my bowls in the microwave and told us to use these instead. Although my regular bowls are microwave-safe.. And I even think she offered the bowls to my brother first but he declined… so we win!! I hope we have enough room to bring them to Houston. They are so versatile :)

  7. Johanna GGG said, on May 24, 2013 at 6:46 AM

    I thought a bean scramble sounded odd till I read about your beans – sounds like a great way to eat them. I think I would have just made soup or dal.

    I also would probably not to ride my bike with a glass jar in it – am always worried about what is in my bag in case of toppling off my bike because it has happened a few times.

    • janet @ the taste space said, on May 24, 2013 at 11:48 AM

      Ahh… *hug* I have fallen off my bike a few times, but thankfully only scraped my skin. My worst accident was when the bike fell on me and I needed stitches. I haven’t really thought about transporting glass. I actually do it all the time since I eat my oats from Mason jars.

  8. Jacqueline said, on May 25, 2013 at 8:16 AM

    I’ve never thought of anything like this for breakfast before, but now I’m craving it!

  9. cinzia said, on May 27, 2013 at 4:18 AM

    as they are Italians I have to go and look for Tondini beans! :-)
    neveer found mashy beans in the box but the only thing I can imagine is a soup :-)
    thanks for joining whb with this healthy recipe!

  10. Elizabeth said, on June 6, 2013 at 9:59 AM

    Ooh this sounds fantastic! I’m salivating here! Thanks for entering your recipe into this month’s Breakfast Club


What do you think?

