the taste space

Indian Mung Beans with Fresh Mango Chutney

Posted in Mains (Vegetarian) by Janet M on May 25, 2013

Indian Mung Beans with Fresh Mango Chutney

I am currently on a mung bean kick.

Lets just say they’ve been in my pantry for awhile. Two years, perhaps more. I made one meal with them initially that was a bit lackluster, so it has been difficult to give them another try. But, in my pantry clearing gusto, I tried them again. And again. And again. Yes, I have made them 3 times in the past 2 weeks. Now, I’m hooked. You see, I just needed the right recipe.

Mung beans should be on your hitlist because they don’t need any soaking and cook up quickly, around 30-45 minutes. Even beans that are two years old. :) My trick is to slightly overcook them. Here, I cooked them until they were creamy-soft, nearly exploding. Some of my earlier tries were more intact than this batch, but still cooked beyond a firm bean. If you keep it more firm, it has a very pronounced “bean” flavour. It mellows as it cooks further, which I prefer.

So where did I get my mung bean recipe success? From Tess, of course. I made the Easy Indian Mung Beans from Radiant Health, Inner Wealth. Then I made her Mung Beans with a fabulous cilantro chutney from Get Waisted (more to share about that, in due time).

For my third time, I put my own spin on it: I decided to use her base recipe for the mung beans and add a simple fresh mango chutney. The mung beans were simmered with cumin and coriander until all the water is absorbed, then doused in fresh lemon juice. Mung beans are ok with just the spices, but much better with fresh citrus juice. Instead of a tarka, I wanted to highlight the mango chutney so I kept the beans simple. The chutney was simply a mix of mango, ginger, cumin and apple cider vinegar, but next to the mung beans, they were great.

Have you tried mung beans? Any favourite recipes?

Indian Mung Beans with Fresh Mango Chutney

This is my submission to Healthy Vegan Fridays.

Indian Mung Beans with Fresh Mango Chutney
Adapted from Tess Challis

1 cup dry mung beans, rinsed
scant 3 cups water
1.5 tsp cumin seeds
1.5 tsp ground coriander
juice from 1 lemon (1/4 cup)
fresh mango chutney (see below)
1/4 cup cilantro, chopped

1. Place mung beans, water, cumin seeds and coriander in a medium pot and bring to a boil. Once boiling, cover and simmer for 30-40 minutes, until the beans are soft and very tender. Mine always look like they are falling apart and sometimes the water doesn’t all get absorbed. Drain them if you want, but I don’t.

2. Stir in lemon juice and add salt to taste.

3. While the beans are cooking, make your chutney (see below). Once the beans are ready, add a dollop of the chutney on top of the beans and garnish with the cilantro.

A bit of a warning: Because the flavour of the beans is from the lemon juice, and not a tarka, these beans taste best fresh. Usually curries improve with time, but these needed additional lemon juice as leftovers.

Serves 4.

Fresh Mango Chutney
Adapted from The Raw Chef

1 mango, chopped (~1/2 cup)
1 tbsp apple cider vinegar
1 tsp grated ginger
1/2 tsp ground cumin
pinch salt, to taste

1. Place all ingredients in a bowl and mash to combine.

Makes 1/2 cup.

15 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lauren Uriarte said, on May 25, 2013 at 12:01 PM

    We love mung beans and this recipe looks great. They are very popular in the Philippines (my philipino husband calls any lentil/small bean recipe muungo). I use a mung bean recipe adapted from the veggie queen Jill Nussinow. Like you said, these beans need citrus and taste better cooked very soft. We use lime, both when eating it fresh and for leftovers. Love your blog! We will try this recipe. Have you tried split mung beans? those are good too in indian dal recipes.

    • janet @ the taste space said, on May 26, 2013 at 6:51 AM

      Lauren, thank you for such a lovely comment. It is true, mung beans are also good with lime. I really am looking forward to trying new recipes with them now. :-) split mung beans are not my favourite, but maybe I should try citrus with them, too.

  2. Gabby @ the veggie nook said, on May 25, 2013 at 12:18 PM

    This recipe looks great! Look at you cleaning out the pantry ;)

  3. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts said, on May 26, 2013 at 2:14 AM

    I don’t think I’ve ever had mung beans. I’m starting to think I need to hurry up and get to them…

  4. Joanne said, on May 26, 2013 at 7:51 AM

    yesterday I was exploring a new organic grocery store that opened up a few blocks from me and the mung beans caught my eye! I’ll have to go back and pick some up to make this!

    • janet @ the taste space said, on May 26, 2013 at 8:39 AM

      Yay for a new organic store! Hopefully they aren’t too pricy… because I bet they would be dirt cheap in Little India. :)

  5. Eileen said, on May 27, 2013 at 4:16 PM

    I also have a bunch of mung beans that have been hanging around for an inordinate amount of time. I never know what to do with them–so I think I’ll be trying this very soon! Especially since there is also currently a mango in our fridge. :)

  6. Healthy Vegan Friday Winning Recipes said, on June 14, 2013 at 9:49 AM

    […] 1. Easiest Bean Dish -¬†Indian Mung Beans with Fresh Mango Chutney from The Taste Space: […]

  7. Jennifer said, on June 17, 2013 at 12:30 PM

    Sounds great! Wonderful food pics! Congrats on being featured on CarrieOnVegan, too!

  8. […] can be really spicy or ookey sweet. Neither which really appeal to me. I’ve made a simpler fresh mango chutney, paired with mung beans, but this time I focused a bit more on the chutney as a vector for flavour. […]

  9. […] no-soaking needed beans, like lentils, anasazi and mung beans. Yes, mung beans. I am back on the mung bean backwagon with great results. Simmer the mung beans directly with an assortment of veggies (kabocha squash, […]

  10. […] not sure what to make with them. I was like that, too. Last year, I couldn’t get enough of¬†simple spiced mung beans. Despite having the mung beans in my cupboard for 2 years or so, I discovered their awesomeness as […]


What do you think?

