the taste space

Good Mother Stallard Beans (& Great Vegan Bean Book Review & Giveaway)

Posted in Book Review, Favourites, Sides by janet @ the taste space on June 4, 2013

Good Mother Stallard Beans

Guys, I am thrilled to tell you about my latest favourite cookbook. It has a lot of my favourites things: all vegan, lots of beans, mostly plant-based with options for those that need their meals to be gluten-free, nut-free, soy-free or oil-free. I am a big proponent of beans (cheap, tasty and healthy protein) and was wondering who would be the smart cookie to make the first vegan bean cookbook.

Kathy Hester is the genius behind this and honestly, I am blown away by the cookbook. I want to make the majority of the recipes but I cannot decide where to start. They span the gamut from breakfast beans to beany desserts and everything in between. The dishes run the spectrum from Indian to Jamaican and Mexican to French and Moroccan, focusing on traditionally vegan meals along with creative uses for beans (fudgesicles!). Since the meals typically call for cooked beans, they are mostly easy, quick dishes, too. Here are the chapters and a few sample dishes (a complete recipe list can be found here):

  • The Beautiful Bean: Basics, How-Tos and Recipes To Keep Your Food Budget in Check
    -Baked Crispy Chickpea Seitan Patties, Bean Chorizo Crumbles, Sweet Red Bean Paste
  • Morning Beans: Beany Breakfast and Brunch Dishes
    -Almost-a-Meal Black Bean Tamale Muffins, Sausage-Spiced Savoury Pancakes, Roasted Root Veggie and Kidney Bean Hash, Red Bean-Filled Baked Donuts
  • Noshy Beans: Appetizers, Dips, and Spreads
    -Creamy Spinach Artichoke White Bean Dip, Pepita Black Bean Dip, Beany Eggplant Bruschetta Spread
  • Nutritious Soups: Easy and Delicious One-Bowl Meals
    -Hutterite Soup, Thai Coconut Tongue of Fire Soup, Salsa Fresca White Bean Gazpacho, Triple Lentil Soup with Wheat Berries
  • Cool Beans: Legume-Centric Salads
    -Salsa Quinoa Salad, Lentil Beet Salad, Chickpea Greek Salad with Tofu Feta
  • Portable Beans: Sandwiches, Patties and More
    -Mango Curry Chickpea Salad, Don’t be Crabby Cakes, Butternut Squash Frijoles, Baked Arugula and Bean Flautas
  • Sultry Stews and Hearty Chilies: Quintessential Bean Dishes
    -Chickpea Veggie Tagine, Indian Cauliflower Lentil Stew, Solstice Beans with Pumpkin and Greens, Margarita Chili Beans, Apple Baked Beans, Hard Cider-Sauced Beans, Tomato Rosemary White Beans
  • Casseroles, Pastas, and More: One Dish Meals
    -Flageolet Cassoulet, Lentil Quinoa Bolognese Sauce, Chickpea and Vegetable Lo Mein, Creamy Healthified Vodka Sauce, Oven Chickpea and Seasonal Veggie Biryani
  • Bean-a-licious Sweet Treats: Desserts that Love Beans
    -Black Eyed Pea-nut Butter Pie, Ginger Red Bean Popsicles, Black Bean Fudgesicles, Cherry Basil Crumble Bars, Chocolate Summer Squash Cake

Kathy explains the basics of the standard beans, along with variations for specialty heirloom beans. Until you buy pretty, specialty beans, you may not understand the lure to not cook with them. They are just so pretty and recipes never suggest using Tongues of Fire beans, or Hutterite soup beans, or Good Mother Stallard beans. Here, Kathy breaks down the anxiety. She describes which beans are in each family and therefore can be easily exchanged, while still not alienating those without access to specialty beans.

Good Mother Stallard beans are in a league of their own, though. They are in the “interesting shapes” category along with ayocote negro and Goat’s Eye beans. Kathy explains Good Mother Stallard beans are football-shaped and create a “perfect pot liquor”. She suggests using them as a fancy bean substitute in certain dishes that call for chickpeas and kidney beans, or using them plainly as in this dish to experience they real, naked taste.

I decided to dust off my pretty Good Mother Stallard beans and put them to the test. A simple pot of beans spiced with rosemary, bay leaves and carrots. Steve from Rancho Gordo suggests these may be his favourite bean and after a simple simmer, I can see why. Delicious mouth feel. The beans have a thicker skin which keeps the bean’s shape while the inside is creamy and sweet. There is a lot more going on with this bean than one would expect and thankfully these beans retain their colourful markings even after being cooked. Kathy suggested eating the beans as-is, with bread or a grain.

I bought my Good Mother Stallard beans from Rancho Gordo, but Kathy has as extensive list of other retailers, too. I normally retype all the recipes I share, but Kathy’s publisher has given me permission to share this recipe. Looking at it below will give you an idea about the attention to detail in this book: flexible bean substitutes, optional slow cooker directions as well as complete nutritional information.

Good Mother Stallard Beans

I really want to share this cookbook with you. Thankfully the publisher is letting me giveaway a cookbook to one reader living in the US or Canada. To be entered, please leave a message here, telling me about your favourite bean dish. I will randomly select a winner on June 30. For more chances to win, check out the other bloggers that are featuring Kathy’s cookbook this month as part of her blog tour. You can follow along on Kathy’s website here. Good luck!

This is my submission to Healthy Vegan Fridays and to this month’s My Legume Love Affair, hosted by One Hot Stove.

Note: I was given a complimentary copy of this book to review. The opinions expressed are entirely my own.

Good Mother Stallard Beans
From The Great Vegan Bean Book, by Kathy Hester

soy-free gluten-free oil-free

This is a simple recipe, but unlike most of the recipes in this book, it does not use precooked beans. The best part of this is the beautiful broth, called pot liquor, that the beans make as they cook. This is my favorite way to feature many heirloom beans, but especially Good Mother Stallard beans.

2 cups (430 g) dried Good Mother Stallard beans, rinsed and picked through
6 cups (1.4 L) water
2 bay leaves
1 (2 inch, or 5 cm) sprig fresh rosemary
2 carrots, diced (peeled if not organic)
Salt and pepper, to taste

Stove-top Directions

1. Add everything except the salt and pepper to a soup pot. Bring to a boil, cover, and decrease the heat to medium- low. Cook until the beans are tender, 2 to 3 hours. If your beans are older, it can take as much as twice as long.

2. Add salt and pepper, remove the bay leaves and herb sprig, and then dig into a bowl of home-cooked goodness!

Slow Cooker Directions

1. Add everything except the salt and pepper to the slow cooker and cook on low for 7 to 10 hours. When finished, add salt and pepper and remove the bay leaves and herb sprig.

Yield: 6 servings
Per 1-cup (235 ml) serving: 95.8 calories; 0.4 g total fat; 0.1 g saturated fat; 5.1 g protein; 18.7 g carbohydrate; 6.1 g dietary sprig. fiber; 0 mg cholesterol.

Total prep time: 20 minutes

Total cooking time: 2 to 3 hours for stove top, 7 to 10 hours for slow cooker

Serving Suggestions & Variations

Soak the beans during the day while you’re at work to cut the cooking time in half.

Fancy Bean Substitutes: Goat’s Eye, Cranberry

Did You Know?

Good Mother Stallard beans have a thick skin similar to that of kidney beans but more with swollen centers and are almost like tiny, rounded footballs. They produce a broth that’s amazing, so resist the urge to fancy them up—just enjoy their natural flavors.

74 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good Mother Stallard Beans said, on June 4, 2013 at 7:12 AM

    […] the blog tour goes to Janet @ tastespace.wordpress.com! She’s sharing the recipe for Good Mother Stallard Beans over at her blog so be sure to […]

  2. Laura @ Sprint 2 the Table said, on June 4, 2013 at 8:20 AM

    I have been craving beans like crazy this week (musical fruit – haha). Love the idea to use cranberry beans here. They are one of my favorite!

  3. Ali Seiter said, on June 4, 2013 at 8:51 AM

    Ooh, my favorite bean dish. I LOVE mashing together 1/2 cup chickpeas with half of an avocado and a sprinkle of dulse flakes. YUM!

  4. Move Eat Create said, on June 4, 2013 at 9:10 AM

    I have tried these beans and love them – they really are an incredible little bean! I’m always partial to a good bean chili, so that is certainly one of my favorite ways to eat any bean (especially in a Cincinnati Chili – YUM)!

  5. An Unrefined Vegan said, on June 4, 2013 at 9:12 AM

    I haven’t tried these beans yet, but they sound delicious.

  6. Ellen Thornton said, on June 4, 2013 at 9:19 AM

    I had no idea there were all these different kinds of beans! I will have to go to Whole Foods or Central Market to see if they have some of them. I love cooking with beans and adding different spices.

  7. Kathi Kowalski Sandler said, on June 4, 2013 at 9:20 AM

    I love beans of any kind! But usually end up making black beans and smooshing them to eat with tortilla chips.

  8. Nupur said, on June 4, 2013 at 10:06 AM

    What a beautifully simple recipe- it sounds like it would bring out the flavor of the beans rather than smothering it.

    I have lots of favorite bean dishes but one particular favorite would be chana masala, made with chickpeas.

  9. myredsandals said, on June 4, 2013 at 10:19 AM

    Thanks for this fabulous article on beans! While I eat a lot of beans because, as you stated, they are tasty, healthy and a great protein source, I don’t tend to explore outside the confines of the the usual varieties available at most grocery stores. I see now that if I just stepped out a little bit beyond the usual borders of my comfort zone, there is a lot more to pick from. Thank you for making me aware of this.

    As for my favorite recipes using beans… I like to use beans in unexpected ways. Anyone can toss them on a salad, add them to soup, or make a tasty dip for crudités. But one of my favorite ways to use beans is to hide them in plain sight. Case in point: the “Mushroom, Leek and White Bean Pie” from Isa Chandra’s “Vegan Brunch” cookbook. One might automatically assume that tofu is used to create the base for this incredibly deliciously savory and creamy quiche-like pie. But they would be wrong, as it is BEANS that are the star of the show (for those of you who do not own Isa’s cookbook, simply Google the name of the recipe and you will have several options for viewing it). I have served this (and other entree pies like it) to guests on many occasions and once they get over the fact that there are no eggs, they are pleasantly surprised. And trust me, you will have no leftovers!

  10. Jen said, on June 4, 2013 at 10:36 AM

    I love hummus! Yum! Any bean dip is good with me. :)

  11. Gabby @ the veggie nook said, on June 4, 2013 at 11:19 AM

    A cookbook that was made for you, clearly ;)

  12. Jessica Eagle said, on June 4, 2013 at 11:30 AM

    Thanks for the opportunity to win this cookbook. My favorite bean dish ?! Oufff…difficult to pick only one, because I really love all kind of beans. Heuuu…I would say a recipe from Jae Steele in Ripe from Around Here. I don’t remember the exact name, but it is something like My Grand-mother’s beans ?! It is so good !!!

  13. ChrissieH said, on June 4, 2013 at 11:34 AM

    Just sublime. I, too, order Good Mother Stallard beans from Rancho Gordo. I have it on pretty good authority that you are soon moving to Houston, Texas. Revival Market there carries Rancho Gordo products, including their beans, salsas, Mexican vanilla, chocolate, etc. And their cookbook: Heirloom Beans: Great Recipes for Dips and Spreads, Soups and Stews, Salads and Salsas and Much More from Rancho Gordo. It’s a good, one, too. Hope to meet you in person in Houston some day!!

  14. Becca said, on June 4, 2013 at 12:11 PM

    I’ve never heard of Good Mother Stallard Beans… does that make me a bad vegan? As far as bean dishes go I love black bean quinoa salad with champagne mangos.

  15. Paula said, on June 4, 2013 at 12:44 PM

    These beans sound delicious! I’ve never heard of good mother stallard beans. My favorite bean dish … that’s a tough one, but I’ll say good old homemade refried pinto beans.

  16. sharonengel said, on June 4, 2013 at 1:27 PM

    I’m excited about the chance to win this cookbook. I tend to eat common variety beans in common recipes and i would love to step out of this box. Beans 3 times a day would be great! I guess my favorite beans are Christmas beans cooked with dried celery leaves. But the beans (legumes) that I eat the most are mung beans with rice…my lunchtime “go to.”

  17. Maggie Boxey said, on June 4, 2013 at 1:30 PM

    My favorite way to make beans is with greens over a sweet potato, but I need new ideas to put into my meal rotation :-)

  18. Priya said, on June 4, 2013 at 1:38 PM

    This cookbook looks amazing. Thanks for the review. My favorite bean dish is: channa masala (chickpeas prepared North Indian style). I use my mom’s recipe and have grown up on this dish!

  19. ChrissieH said, on June 4, 2013 at 1:40 PM

    Another “bean thought.” Avoiding dairy can make desserts something of a difficult puzzle. We make several recipes using beans and sugar to make a sweet bean paste. Yes, the Asians have been doing this for centuries, but it’s still not something you see all that often in Western cooking.

  20. Susan said, on June 4, 2013 at 2:07 PM

    I love adding chickpeas to EVERYTHING – pureed in soups to make them thicker, in stirfries and salads … there are just so many delicious ways to eat them!!

  21. Lakshmi said, on June 4, 2013 at 2:28 PM

    Well that is my problem, I am not a fan of beans so I have been trying lots of different kinds and in different ways trying to find my fav. one of top ones right now is baked marinated chickpeas.

  22. Tricia said, on June 4, 2013 at 2:35 PM

    I was in rut making the same style of beans over and over. This has given me some ideas for new flavors!

  23. cameraphonevegan said, on June 4, 2013 at 3:40 PM

    Ooh, I’d love more bean knowledge. Our favorite dishes are garbanzo based, and I like to make veganized cuban dishes with them, but I’ve had no luck with making black beans from scratch! I’d like to cook more from scratch beans to save money, so this sounds great.

  24. coconutandberries said, on June 4, 2013 at 5:11 PM

    How do I not know about this book?! I am a HUGE bean lover. They’re so versatile, as a quick glance at the recipes you listed shows- dips, curries, salads, casseroles…dessserts! There’s nothing the humble bean can’t do :)
    Please don’t enter me as I’m UK but I’ll definitely add the book to my wish-list.

  25. Cynthia said, on June 4, 2013 at 7:34 PM

    My favorite bean dish? That’s a hard one, since I eat beans almost every day. I even love them plain, right out of the pressure cooker, cooked in nothing but water. I love them in anything Mexican-ish, with cumin and chile powder… love them cooked with greens, onions, and garlic… I could go on.

  26. Tasha said, on June 5, 2013 at 2:16 AM

    My longtime favorite bean dish is a simple bowl with quinoa, chickpeas, green veggie like broccoli or kale, drizzled with a vegan curry sauce.

    • elizabeth said, on June 5, 2013 at 9:13 AM

      Sounds good, how do you make your curry sauce?

  27. elizabeth said, on June 5, 2013 at 9:11 AM

    I don’t have a favorite dish, but I’ve bean eating pressure cooked kidney beans on my salad greens, harvested from the greenhouse, spinach, lettuce, green garlic and arugula. I may have to start ordering beans from Rancho Gordo, its so important to have fresh beans, otherwise I find they don’t cook evenly.

  28. Maggie said, on June 5, 2013 at 9:23 AM

    I love beans and this book looks amazing. It’s hard to pick a favorite recipe but I love black beans and especially black bean soup.

  29. […] Check it out and enter at The Taste Space HERE! […]

  30. Joanne said, on June 5, 2013 at 1:16 PM

    I love how this is such a classic and totally simple preparation of beans! Definitely makes them less intimidating for the novice bean-er. :)

  31. Hannah said, on June 5, 2013 at 2:10 PM

    Yes please make all of those things please. RED BEAN DESSERTS ARE WIN.

  32. Amy P said, on June 5, 2013 at 2:25 PM

    I had no idea there was such a variety of beans out there! I love anything with lentils, like a good Indian dal!

  33. Susan said, on June 5, 2013 at 3:17 PM

    My favorite bean dish is the Indian Madhur Jaffrey kidney bean dish from World Vegetarian.

  34. Sarah said, on June 5, 2013 at 4:12 PM

    nothing beats a good lentil loaf :)

  35. charj said, on June 5, 2013 at 6:08 PM

    My favorite bean dish is pigeon peas and rice.

  36. Cassie H said, on June 5, 2013 at 9:59 PM

    I love beans, and I need to learn how to cook with them more! A bean dish I really love is a Caribbean stew made with black beans and sweet potatoes/yams

  37. KellyC said, on June 6, 2013 at 9:21 AM

    I love bean tacos!

  38. Veg4life said, on June 6, 2013 at 9:42 AM

    After having lived in France, I’ve got to go with a good French cassoulet as my comfort food favorite. But I have to admit that I’ve puréed them with chocolate and subbed it for Nutella…

  39. jom (@joyoliviamiller) said, on June 6, 2013 at 9:50 AM

    Must be my Italian genes, but if I was pressed to choose, I’d have to confess that my favorite dish with beans is pasta e fagioli. YUM!

  40. Cynthia said, on June 6, 2013 at 11:51 AM

    i’m always cooking up black beans for delicious veggie tacos: spicy black beans + dirty rice (w/ tomato & onion as well as cilantro and lime) with avocado slices and a bit of cheddar cheese.

  41. Mira said, on June 6, 2013 at 3:36 PM

    My favourite bean recipe is probably cooking quinoa in tomato sauce, with some spices and onion, garlic, and ginger, mixed with kidney beans….these look delicious though!

  42. Lydia Claire said, on June 6, 2013 at 5:42 PM

    One of my favorite ways to eat beans is to make a taco salad. I mix vegan refried beans with Daiya cheese and warm them up. Then I top them with shredded lettuce, olives, avocado, peppers, tomatoes, sweet corn and lots of salsa. I may have missed a couple of veggies but you get the point. =)

  43. Caitlin G-H said, on June 6, 2013 at 6:15 PM

    I absolutely LOVE beans! I couldn’t pick just one bean dish as my favorite but I love putting beans in desserts, like chickpeas in peanut butter cookies (http://kitchengrrrls.blogspot.ca/2012/10/peanut-butter-chocolate-cookies-with.html). You can’t beat it! Other than that, I love cold bean salads and pastas with beans.

  44. babette said, on June 6, 2013 at 8:50 PM

    I love molasses baked beans, frijoles too, and I am a huge fan of the Lima bean dish from Veganomicon.

  45. Emily Lynn (@emily__lynn) said, on June 6, 2013 at 10:41 PM

    When I was little I loved my grandma’s collard greens and white beans. I’ve tried (unsuccessfully) to re-create a vegan version. I also love molasses baked beans.

  46. thepeacepatch said, on June 7, 2013 at 4:38 AM

    Lentil cashew curry burgers…yumza!

  47. Linda said, on June 7, 2013 at 12:45 PM

    Sounds like a great book! I really love beans. A favorite for me is homemade refried beans….or even just beans topped with salsa, that’s great over a salad.

  48. Katie said, on June 7, 2013 at 1:02 PM

    Favourite Savoury: Kala Chana
    Favourite Dessert: My own creation – “Fruity Black Bean Brownie Fudge” :)

  49. Julie said, on June 7, 2013 at 2:36 PM

    Blackbean Sweet Potato Chili. YUM!

  50. Christine said, on June 7, 2013 at 6:02 PM

    I really like Texas caviar, which is basically black-eyed bean salsa.

  51. Theresa said, on June 7, 2013 at 6:38 PM

    I eat beans in some dish every day. I especially like the Mayo Clinic bean chili, black beans in a stir fry, and hummus on Wasa crackers with sprouts..

  52. jacquie said, on June 7, 2013 at 7:37 PM

    to be honest I like beans really simply prepared – black beans or lentils with some roasted tomatoes added at the end taste pretty darn good to me.

  53. Amanda said, on June 8, 2013 at 4:43 PM

    Hmm… Favorite bean dish… I like bean burgers, white beans in pasta, and roasted chickpeas with nooch.

  54. ladycoop said, on June 8, 2013 at 4:52 PM

    I LOVE baked beans that have brown sugar in them. SO good.

  55. Emmy said, on June 9, 2013 at 6:50 AM

    My favorite bean dish that’s a tough one. There are so many. One of my top 10 has to be a quinoa and white bean burger I make with toasted sesame oil. Delicious. The bean dish I make the most has to be hummus. I love my hummus quesadillas on a friday night with some walnut taco meat and daiya cheese. I need this bean book!

  56. Ricki said, on June 9, 2013 at 2:23 PM

    Sounds like a great book, AND a great recipe! And I love beans. :)

    PS I sent you an email last week–did you receive it? Thanks! Ricki

  57. Amber Gillespie said, on June 9, 2013 at 3:18 PM

    My favorite bean dish is homemade miso ramen.
    Thanks!

  58. Jen McN D said, on June 9, 2013 at 7:15 PM

    Love beans, but my fave? black beans loaded with garlic, served over rice with cilantro and yogurt or sour cream.

  59. Cee said, on June 10, 2013 at 10:57 AM

    My favorite bean dish is baked beans on a sweet potato or regular potato. I also like a good chickpea curry, black bean and sweet potato chili, and bean dip, but I always come back to the beans over a potato :)

  60. Lisa said, on June 10, 2013 at 2:26 PM

    Like I need yet another cookbook, but this one sounds wonderful. How could I pick a favorite bean dish as I love them all, but give me a chickpea curry or some vegan refried beans with sun-dried tomatoes and I am more than content.

  61. Veggie Next Door said, on June 10, 2013 at 11:10 PM

    I would LOVE to win a copy of this cookbook. I try to eat something with beans in it every day and am constantly adding beans to recipes that don’t already call for them.

    One of my all-time favorite bean recipes is my Mom’s Pumpkin Black-Bean Soup – it’s so easy & so comforting!

    http://www.veggienextdoor.com/pumpkin-bean-soup/

  62. Jennifer K said, on June 11, 2013 at 11:51 PM

    I love creamy beans with tahini lemon and dill. Yum!

  63. celticcur said, on June 18, 2013 at 12:18 PM

    Thanks for the info on these beans, I’d never heard of them!
    And thanks for the opportunity to win the cook book – I’d forgotten that it was out!
    Fav beans? That would have to be the plain old beans that many restaurants called Rancho Beans. I absolutely adore the broth!! I’ve never been able to replicate them though, so hopefully this recipe will!!!!
    Robin AKA Celtic Cur

  64. Gaby said, on June 24, 2013 at 4:27 PM

    I love those giant butter beans! Especially in ful medamas (no idea how to spell that?) I just love the fresh flavors of turkish foods!

  65. JoAnn Lakes said, on June 29, 2013 at 1:27 PM

    My favorite bean dish is Boston baked beans.

  66. […] The winner of The Great Vegan Bean Book giveaway is babette from Vegan in Montreal. […]

  67. […] away a copy of The Great Vegan Bean Book by Kathy Hester. This sounds like SUCH a great book! Hop over to Janet’s blog to enter–runs until June […]

  68. […] is still going, so check it out. I also highly recommend The Great Vegan Bean Book (see my review here). Head over to Miss Muffcake for her giveaway of the book […]

  69. […] photo and recipe from her upcoming cookbook OATrageous Oatmeals. I also reviewed Kathy’s Great Vegan Bean Book, which I really like, so I am thrilled to share her creativity with […]


What do you think?

