the taste space

Raw Walnut Zucchini Crackers

Posted in Appetizers, Sides by Janet M on July 4, 2013

You will have to forgive me. There may be a forthcoming onslaught of recipes using the dehydrator.

Towards the end of my move, the dehydrator was out in full force. Need travel snacks? Dehydrate them! Not sure what to do with random bits and bobs in the kitchen? Throw them together to get dehydrated. I quickly reconsidered my suggestion to move without the dehydrator. It suddenly made sense to bring it along for the ride.

I bookmarked this recipe because it promised to be better than Ritz crackers. It was also a fun way to sneak zucchini into a cracker along with walnuts, flax and hemp seeds. Unlike my previous savoury hemp crackers, I kept the flavours neutral. This way, they can equally be paired with homemade nutella, vanilla blueberry chia jamvegan smoked salmon, rosemary cashew cheese, or a nacho cheese sauce. Or go even more travel friendly with a simple tomato and avocado.

These crackers were a bit salty for my tastes but they were somewhat reminiscent of Ritz crackers, in the way walnuts can be buttery. However, they were more coarse due to all the fun bits in it.

For those that do not have a dehydrator, these crackers can also be made baked. And I don’t mean with the oven going for 8 hours. See below for a baked option.

This is my submission to this month’s Bookmarked Recipes.

Raw Walnut Zucchini Crackers
From The Rawtarian

2.5 cups walnuts, soaked for at least an hour, drained and rinsed
2.5 cups zucchini, chopped (1 large)
1/4 cup hemp seeds
2 tsp salt, or to taste (I suggest starting with less — these were quite salty)
1/2 cup golden flax seeds, ground
1/2-1 cup water

1. Place soaked walnuts in food processor fitted with its S-blade. Process until coarsely ground, scraping down the sides as needed. Remove and place in a large bowl.

2. Place zucchini in food processor and process until finely chopped. Remove and add to the walnuts.

3. Add the hemp seeds and salt to the bowl and mix well. Stir in the ground flax seeds and mix until well combined. Add water to make the dough spreadable (I used a full cup).

4. Working quickly, divide dough into 2 and place each on a separate dehydrator mat. Spread dough to form a thin paste on each tray.

5. Dehydrate at 115F for 1 hour, then lower to 105F for a further 8-12 hours. After a couple of hours, flip the dough onto a mesh sheet and score the dough where you would like to cut them. They are done when they snap easily.

Alternatively, you can try baking them, as seen here.

Makes a lot of crackers!

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Erin said, on July 4, 2013 at 8:37 AM

    These crackers look amazing! I’m definitely going to give them a try!

  2. heathergfc said, on July 4, 2013 at 8:38 AM

    Walnuts and zucchini crackers sound so good! The zucchini would make it moist. I can’t wait to try these! And bring on the dehydrator recipes! No apologies accepted here. Yay!

  3. kimmythevegan said, on July 4, 2013 at 12:57 PM

    These sound great! I’m guilty of making the same dehydrated crackers over and over – it’s time for a change =)

  4. Hannah said, on July 4, 2013 at 5:59 PM

    You’ll only need forgiveness if every recipe includes the devilfruit. So far, that is not the case. So bring it.

  5. Johanna GGG said, on July 4, 2013 at 9:12 PM

    Baking options are good for me because I don’t have a dehydrator – but I can see that appeal esp with your move and this recipe sounds like an excellent one for travel (or anytime)

  6. Davida @TheHealthyMaven said, on July 5, 2013 at 7:10 AM

    Thanks for the baking option! I wish I had a dehydrator. Next on the kitchen appliances to buy list :)

  7. Joanne said, on July 5, 2013 at 8:43 PM

    This is such a great way to sneak zucchini into non-believers like my brother! Not that I would do such a thing. :P

  8. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts said, on July 6, 2013 at 5:30 AM

    You might convince me to buy a dehydrator if you keep this up ;)

    • janet @ the taste space said, on July 6, 2013 at 10:08 AM

      I am kind of worried about that… I feel bad for those that don’t have a dehydrator which is the majority of people, but since I have it, I may as well use it. :-)

  9. […] I mislead you with some pre-written posts, things have been a tad chaotic since my arrival in Texas. We drive down separately from our […]

  10. Jac -Tinned Tomatoes (@tinnedtoms) said, on August 2, 2013 at 4:42 AM

    Ahh, now I was wondering how you got around not cooking them! Great entry :)


What do you think?

