the taste space

Strawberry & Blueberry Salad with Cacao Nibs, Hemp and Maca

Posted in Desserts by janet @ the taste space on July 6, 2013

You don’t realize how much you need things until you don’t have them.

A bed? Yeah, sleeping bags don’t cut it.

Chairs? Sitting on the floor is actually not that much fun.

Lest I mislead you with some pre-written posts, things have been a tad chaotic since my arrival in Texas. We drive down separately from our stuff. The shipping pod that had nearly all of our belongings was 4 days late. We were only partially prepared for living without our stuff. Rob was smart enough to pack our sleeping bags in the car. However, after one night of sleeping on the hard floor, we knew that was not sustainable. We ended up visiting REI earlier than we thought, to buy two thermarest sleeping pads. Much better. Gosh, how did I ever enjoy sleeping parties as a kid??  The good thing about the pads was that I could bring them to the kitchen, too, so I had a more comfy spot to sit on the floor.

Eventually Rob emptied the pod (while I was at work) and slowly we’ve been unpacking our home. We prioritized: 1) bed; 2) computer and then 3) kitchen. Since we only packed the essentials, we kind of needed everything. Bathroom amenities were also important: our shower curtain was in there! And my bicycle to be assembled for commuting to work. (Even before we had the pod, our first priority was internet! Pick up a modem and hook up the wifi)

Those few days in limbo had me less focused on the kitchen. Overnight oats for breakfast and lots and lots of hummus, crackers and carrots. Trader Joe’s has such delicious hummus, no? Their chickpea Mediterranean Hummus is fabulous! I started to build up my pantry with trips to grocers (totally digging Fiesta Mart) but kept meals simple without much of a kitchen.

To celebrate my first American holiday, July 4, I made this patriotic-looking salad: strawberries and blueberries with cacao nibs, hemp and maca. A fun fruit salad with unusual but not unfamiliar flavours. Kind of like a Canadian in America, no? A bit different but kind of the same. I will save my American-Canadian observations for another post… so stay tuned for that. In the meantime, enjoy your summer with some tasty berries. :)

This is my submission to Deb for this week’s Souper Sundays, this month’s Tea Time Treats for fruits and Healthy Vegan Fridays.

Strawberry and Blueberry Salad with Cacao Nibs, Hemp and Maca
Adapted from Ani’s 15-Day Fat Blast

1.5 cups strawberries, sliced
1/2 cup blueberries
1 tbsp cacao nibs
2 tsp hemp seeds
1/4-1/2 tsp maca powder

1. In a small bowl, mix berries. Sprinkle with cacao nibs, hemp seeds, and maca,

Serves 1.

22 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Suzanne said, on July 6, 2013 at 12:20 PM

    Yums! I love berries alone, but the maca and cocoa nibs would be an extra special treat :)

  2. Hannah said, on July 6, 2013 at 2:44 PM

    Not going to lie, beds are very nice once you’ve been without ‘em for a while! Happy Being In America Day(s)!

  3. coconutandberries said, on July 6, 2013 at 4:40 PM

    Oh gosh, no bed or chairs! That doesn’t sound too fun! At least it sounds like you’re starting to settle in now.
    Your berry salad is beautiful- I’m gobbling up bowlfuls of any berries I can get my hands on right now :)

  4. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts said, on July 7, 2013 at 1:02 AM

    Mm, you’re making me a tad concerned for when we move across the world next year! I have previously lived without chairs, but beds are quite crucial and I’ve never done that (yet). On the plus side, this salad is GORGEOUS :)

    • janet @ the taste space said, on July 7, 2013 at 5:50 AM

      Where are you moving, Kari? The trick is not to pack that much. My brother is storing the majority of our stuff in his basement, but had the pod arrived on time, it would have been better. We could have saved ourselves by going to a hotel, but hey we’re cheap and we needed the thermarests anyways. :-)

  5. Joanne said, on July 7, 2013 at 5:46 AM

    Moving is always hectic and never goes as planned, but your experience sounds especially crazy! So glad to hear things are starting to come together!

  6. Gabby @ the veggie nook said, on July 7, 2013 at 1:45 PM

    Wow thats terrible the pod took so long! Glad things have been sorted since then!

    Hows the weather in Texas? Not melting yet I hope ;)

    Beautiful way to celebrate your temporary home country Janet!

  7. Deb in Hawaii said, on July 7, 2013 at 7:22 PM

    Hopefully it will all settle down soon. ;-) I love all the “goodies” you sprinkled on top of the berries–delicious and healthy too. Thanks for sharing it with Souper Sundays.

  8. heathergfc said, on July 9, 2013 at 7:32 PM

    But you’ve landed! That’s the great news. Everything else will fall into place soon. And how incredible that you’re already blogging about it and making gorgeous, healthy fruit salads!

    We are still apartment hunting and staying with friends/family. They are so gracious, but I’m ready to settle!

    • janet @ the taste space said, on July 10, 2013 at 6:57 AM

      Heather, thank goodness we had a place to live already. I imagine it could be even more stressful living with others, though. Hopefully you find your own place soon enough. :)

  9. Gaby said, on July 9, 2013 at 10:50 PM

    Hi! I don’t think I’ve ever commented but I absolutely LOVE LOVE LOVE your recipes! So delicious, creative, yet simple. And they’re always a hit with non vegan friends. Where in Texas have you moved? I’m in Houston! I’d love to help you settle in if you’re nearby!

  10. Genevieve said, on July 11, 2013 at 2:41 PM

    I don’t think I would have been as positive as you about that whole situation, I would hate not having all my stuff for that long! Glad you’re getting settled and liking the new location though! Love this idea of sprinkling hemp seeds on fruit, and the cacao nibs would be a nice addition too. Very patriotic looking!

  11. Chit Chat Chomp said, on July 22, 2013 at 2:04 AM

    Love the beautiful colours. I’ve got six months to wait until those gorgeous berries are in season again here in Australia.

  12. Karen said, on July 30, 2013 at 7:39 AM

    Aw, so sorry to hear about your ups and downs, but, this salad is certainly bright and cheerful! A FAB Tea Time Treats entry thanks and as always lovely photos! Karen

  13. […] Strawberry & Blueberry Salad by Janet of The Taste Space: Janet makes fruit salads look magical with her entry, and she even added some Cacao Nibs, Hemp and Maca to make it extra special. […]

  14. […] those hemp seeds? They are really growing on me. They are my new salad topping, including fruit salads. I picked up a few of my pantry staples online, and decided to splurge on these hemp seeds since […]

  15. […] discovering the cookbook at my library last year, I bought my own copy before my move. It was actually my first e-cookbook and I really appreciated its portability (books are heavy!). […]

  16. Robin said, on June 20, 2014 at 12:07 PM

    Yummmm! Thanks so much for sharing these on Healthy Vegan Fridays! Don’t forget to link back to us.

    • rockmyvegansocks said, on June 25, 2014 at 4:20 PM

      I have pinned this awesome bowl on our Pinterest page – thanks for sharing =)


What do you think?

