the taste space

Salt and Vinegar Roasted Chickpeas

Posted in Appetizers, Sides by janet @ the taste space on July 13, 2013

Bring on the snacks!

Preparing for our road trip meant making a bunch of travel-friendly snacks. Preferably something with a bit of sustenance, too, in case we ran behind schedule.

One of my favourite snacks these days is dry roasted soybeans. Crunchy and satisfying. High protein, to boot.

I don’t know how it is made, because frozen edamame doesn’t look anything like what I buy pre-roasted. Instead of experimenting with homemade roasted edamame, I roasted chickpeas.

While I adore most things with chickpeas, roasted chickpeas have been hit or miss with me. It may have something to do with roasting the spices directly on the chickpeas, since I have also had troubles with baked spiced sweet potatoe fries. Leave the spices in the oven a bit too long and they may burn. Lately, I’ve taken to adding the spices just as they come out of the oven, like with these chickpeas and cauliflower spiced with dukkah.

But how about something easier to tote.. less messy.. something in classic snack flavours…. and here I bring to you roasted salt and vinegar chickpeas!

Infuse your chickpeas with vinegar by boiling them slightly, toss with a bit of salt, then roast them. Easy, peasy, for a delicious high-protein snack. I preferred these shortly after roasting as they maintained their crispiness. They lost a bit of their glorious luster as leftover snacks but were still very good.

Here are some other flavours you may want to try:

Pumpkin Spice Roasted Chickpeas (with Strawberries on a salad)

Cinnamon Roasted Chickpeas from Diet, Dessert & Dogs

Roasted Taco Chickpeas from Eat Me, Delicious

Crispy Roasted Chickpeas with Moroccan Spices from Kalyn’s Kitchen

Garam Masala Roasted Chickpeas from Bitchin’ Camero

This is my submission to this month’s My Legume Love Affair, hosted by Aparna, and to this month’s Credit Crunch Munch.

Salt and Vinegar Roasted Chickpeas
Adapted from Oh She Glows

2 cups canned chickpeas (I used a 19-oz can, rinsed and drained)
2 cups white vinegar (enough to submerge the chickpeas)
1/2 tsp fine sea salt (use more if using coarse sea salt)
2 tsp extra virgin olive oil

1. Place chickpeas and vinegar and place in a medium sized pot. Add a dash of sea salt. Bring to a boil and then remove from heat. Let sit in pot for 30 minutes.

2. Meanwhile, preheat oven to 425F and line a baking sheet with a silpat, tinfoil or parchment paper.

3. Carefully drain chickpeas. Dry them really well by using a towel. Place on lined baking sheet and drizzle with olive oil and sea salt. Massage with fingers until fully coated.

4. Roast chickpeas for 45 minutes, flipping once half way through. Watch them after 35 minutes to ensure they don’t burn.

5. Allow to cool and store in an airtight container at room temperature for up to 4 days (if they even last that long!).

Makes 2 cups.

15 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. pomelo said, on July 13, 2013 at 6:48 AM

    YUM!! I will have to try this. Some of my fab things in one recipe!

    Xxooo

  2. Crista said, on July 13, 2013 at 8:57 AM

    YUUUUMMMM!!!!

  3. Ellen Lederman said, on July 13, 2013 at 3:28 PM

    Yes! I can see these as a side with a broccoli/red onion/yellow raisin I’ll be making on Monday. Funny that it’s called salt and vinegar—seems like such a small amount of salt.

    Did you use canned chickpeas because of time constraints or needing to use up canned? I discovered how easy it is to cook dried chickpeas, although they are somewhat different from canned (some fall apart a little more easily and break in cooking, although I don’t think I overcook them or stir them violently).

    Now that you are in Texas, your snack is supposed to be boiled peanuts—bet you have no idea what they are! And a real Southern “delicacy” is regular peanuts in Coke (can’t see you doing this, even as a cultural experiment…)

    • janet @ the taste space said, on July 14, 2013 at 12:32 PM

      Ooh, sounds like a delicious salad, Ellen. Is it with a vinegar-based dressing?

      I used canned here because I wanted to use that up instead of cooking another batch of chickpeas. I actually find canned chickpeas to be more mushy… my home-cooked ones keep their shape better. I just cooked up my first batch of beans here in Houston, and sadly it took 3 hours to cook (un-soaked).. I was spoiled with my beans in Toronto: my chickpeas wouldn’t take more than an hour, even unsoaked. *sigh*

      I will have to look out for the boiled peanuts.. gotta try it at least once, right? I think I’ll pass on the Coke and peanuts though… that sounds absolutely terrible! ;)

      Hope all is well

      • Ellen Lederman said, on July 14, 2013 at 4:00 PM

        It’s a Vegetarian Times recipe:

        2 small heads broccoli (12 oz.)
        1/3 cup vegan mayonnaise
        2 tsp. agave nectar or sugar
        1 tsp. apple cider vinegar or rice vinegar
        3/4 tsp. Dijon mustard
        1/4 cup chopped red onion
        1/4 cup raisins
        2 Tbs. roasted, salted sunflower seeds

        I’m using raw nut cream for the mayo. Grilled the broccoli and red onion. YUM!

        Just finished making the chickpeas. Let me retract that they are not salty enough! They are perfect. I do believe this will allow me to kick my pretzel habit since they provide the same saltiness and crunch…but without the white flour. Loved them! The two cups will go quickly.

        I love vinegar, but I did get quite a whiff of vinegar fumes when I opened the oven to check on them and then take them out to stir them.

        My home-cooked chickpeas weren’t mushy, even after being frozen. I guess I was thinking of beans, which disintegrate.

        Why would chickpeas cook up more quickly in Toronto? I know there’s a Texas drawl, but I thought that was just in conversation and not cooking!

      • janet @ the taste space said, on July 18, 2013 at 5:48 AM

        Hey Ellen, Yum! Thanks for the recipe. Times like these make we wish I had a BBQ/grill… although in this weather, I like staying inside with the a/c. Ha!
        Yes, the vinegar odours were quite potent. Maybe I need a disclaimer, haha. My only reason for thinking it took longer to cook the chickpeas is because they aren’t as fresh. *sigh*

  4. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts said, on July 14, 2013 at 1:04 AM

    You have reminded me that I haven’t roasted chickpeas in far too long. I’ll have to rectify that…possibly with these :)

  5. Gabby @ the veggie nook said, on July 14, 2013 at 1:00 PM

    So much vinegar, how could these not be delicious!!?

  6. Joanne said, on July 14, 2013 at 4:41 PM

    I love the burning sensation of salt and vinegar chips…but i never really want to be actually eating chips lol! These chickpeas are the perfect snack food!

  7. kimmythevegan said, on July 14, 2013 at 7:11 PM

    Oh yum! I could totally picture this as a fun movie-time snack too =)

  8. Aparna Balasubramanian said, on July 15, 2013 at 1:52 AM

    A really healthy and guilt-free snack. Thanks for participating in this month’s MLLA.

  9. Menu + Skinny Jeans | said, on September 8, 2013 at 12:26 PM

    […] salt and vinegar chickpeas […]

  10. Cody Chokhman said, on December 6, 2013 at 10:49 PM

    just made half a cup in case theyd be good. and man they are!!! now time to hide them away to keep for another 4days???

  11. […] This recipe can be found over at TasteSpace […]


What do you think?

