the taste space

Zesty Lemon Cilantro Chickpea Salad

Posted in Mains (Vegetarian), Salads by janet @ the taste space on July 16, 2013

Zesty Lemon Cilantro Chickpea Salad

I thought I had adequately prepared for a few days without a kitchen. I packed a paring knife, cutting board, can opener, garlic press and lemon press with me during our road trip. No pots meant I couldn’t cook up quinoa. No cups meant I couldn’t even boil water for tea. Never mind anything more fancy that needed a skillet.  Basically, it meant I could make salads.

Zesty Lemon Cilantro Chickpea Salad

This isn’t a boring salad, though. In between unpacking and snacking on hummus, I made this delicious chickpea salad when we first arrived in Texas. Of course, after I stocked up the fridge. Super simple: mix and marinate. It looks uninspiring but it was a nice balance between the tart lemon, fresh cilantro and sharp garlic. Lemon zest? Well, without my zester, I shaved off the lemon peel and chopped it with a knife instead. However, the zest in this salad is from the garlic, not the lemon zest. The garlic was stronger when I originally made it, but it tamed itself for leftovers, which made it perfect for lunch. It was also delicious overtop mixed greens for a more green salad.

Zesty Lemon Cilantro Chickpea Salad

This is my submission to Deb for this week’s Souper Sundays and Virtual Vegan Linky Potluck.

Zesty Lemon Cilantro Chickpea Salad
Adapted from Get Waisted (original recipe here)

1.5 cups cooked chickpeas, rinsed and drained if canned
1/4 cup minced cilantro
2 tbsp fresh lemon juice (half a lemon)
2 tsp extra virgin olive oil
1 tsp Dijon mustard
zest from 1 lemon
salt and pepper, to taste
2 cloves garlic, minced or pressed

1. In a large bowl, combine all ingredients. Season to taste. Allow to marinate, refrigerated, for at least an hour for the garlic to mellow. Serve as-is, or on top of your favourite leafy greens.

Serves 2-3.

26 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. sprint2thetable said, on July 16, 2013 at 11:03 AM

    Ha! You think you’re so prepared and then reality hits. I know that feeling! :)

    Love chickpea salads – mustared is a great idea for the sauce. And I love the colors!

  2. Reba - Not So Perfect Life said, on July 16, 2013 at 11:23 AM

    This looks simple and delish. I love adding cilantro into things. Its so tasty!

  3. Laura said, on July 16, 2013 at 4:13 PM

    Seems like the perfect refreshing summer side dish! Of if you live in Miami, like me…. the perfect year round side :)

  4. Kayla Hoffman said, on July 16, 2013 at 5:50 PM

    I just shared this with my fitness group I am coaching. It is perfect for summer and some of my favorite eats!

  5. kimmythevegan said, on July 16, 2013 at 7:01 PM

    Mmmm sounds great to me! Doesn’t sound uninspired – how could anything with chickpeas be uninspired? ;p

    • janet @ the taste space said, on July 16, 2013 at 9:17 PM

      You are too kind. I agree – I love chickpeas, and have been eating them non-spot.. I hope you don’t get bored with all the chickpea recipes. :)

  6. Hannah said, on July 17, 2013 at 12:59 AM

    Darlin’, we all know you could live on salads forever and a day. x

  7. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts said, on July 17, 2013 at 4:05 AM

    I’d like this even if I had a kitchen – to make it without one, I’d say it’s pretty close to perfect :)

  8. coconutandberries said, on July 17, 2013 at 4:38 AM

    I think you already know this is exactly my kind of food! I’d happily live off bean salads for a while. No tea would make me a little sad though :(

    • janet @ the taste space said, on July 18, 2013 at 9:02 PM

      Yeah, the no hot water was a bit of a let-down.. but once I made that cinnamon tea, I have been smitten with it ever since. No hot tea needed at all. :)

  9. Johanna GGG said, on July 17, 2013 at 5:10 AM

    looks like an excellent meal for moving house – esp long distance.

    I rarely use my garlic press these days – often just use a knife to finely chop the garlic – but must have been hard deciding what to take on the road

    • janet @ the taste space said, on July 18, 2013 at 9:01 PM

      The garlic press is funny because I never thought I would need it but once I got it, I was hooked. It is so much easier to prep garlic! :) I also think it has a stronger taste since it gets squished. ;)

  10. Crista said, on July 17, 2013 at 11:46 AM

    this looks AMAZING. i’ve been obsessed with chickpeas lately….

  11. Joanne said, on July 17, 2013 at 4:52 PM

    I love these bright flavors! And that you really only need the bare minimum to prepare it!

  12. heathergfc said, on July 20, 2013 at 8:05 AM

    Mmmm, so fresh and simple. Love it!

  13. Gabby @ the veggie nook said, on July 21, 2013 at 1:56 PM

    At least salads go really well with hot Houston weather :) Looks delicious!

  14. Deb in Hawaii said, on July 21, 2013 at 5:55 PM

    Exactly the kind of salad I love–lemon and chickpeas is such a perfect combination. Thanks for sharing with Souper Sundays. ;-)

  15. […] the Zesty Lemon Cilantro Chickpea Salad, this was the next salad I made. This salad is almost too simple. Only four ingredients, or five if […]

  16. Chitra Jagadish said, on August 29, 2014 at 10:32 AM

    i love chickpeas in my salads and this looks so simple and delectable….


What do you think?

