the taste space

Fresh Mango Chutney

Posted in Favourites, Sides by janet @ the taste space on July 20, 2013

Fresh Mango Chutney
I knew you would miss me in Canada, but I swear, I did not wish Houston upon you.

First there was the Toronto flood.

And now there’s the heat wave.

Your heat wave is my new normal. Although last week was actually quite mild. Lots of rain meant the temps were only peaking at 85-90F (29-32C) (before humidex, add another 10 degrees please). Whereas in Canada, you can boast about the amount of snow you endure, in Houston, it is the heat. Although, to be honest, it is not as bad as I feared. Why? Because biking is better. Working long hours. And a/c is everywhere. Yes, my long working hours mean that I cycle to work before the sun is shining too brightly and my commute home is after the mad rush from the Texas Medical Center. I swear, a leisurely bike ride is better than walking in hot weather since you make your own wind.  I basically meander from one building with a/c to another with a/c (on really hot days my car’s a/c has trouble keeping up, though). And drink lots of (flavoured) water. Fresh Mango Chutney I also have not been cooking too much. Eating, yes. Cooking, no. Salads, yes. Lots and lots of veggies. Even though my home has a/c, I do not feel like turning on the oven too often.

Raw food for the win! Simple raw food for the win.

Chutneys can be really spicy or ookey sweet. Neither which really appeal to me. I’ve made a simpler fresh mango chutney, paired with mung beans, but this time I focused a bit more on the chutney as a vector for flavour. Mango, red pepper, ginger, onions, chile flakes, curry powder and even raisins. Apple cider vinegar gives you the tang you associate with traditional chutneys. Use it as a dip, a salad topper or on top of your favourite curry. Whatever you pick, it is quite refreshing.

What are your favourite ways to beat the heat? Fresh Mango Chutney

Fresh Mango Chutney
Adapted from Real Raw Kitchen

1 mango, chopped (1/2 cup)
3 tbsp finely diced red bell pepper
1 green onion, chopped
1/4 tsp grated fresh ginger
1 tbsp apple cider vinegar
1 tsp curry powder (Penzey’s sweet blend was great here)
1/2 tsp Aleppo chili flakes
pinch sea salt
1 tbsp raisins, chopped

1. Place all ingredients in bowl and mix. Refrigerate and use within 2 days.

Makes scant 1 cup.

23 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. pomelo said, on July 20, 2013 at 6:50 AM

    Yummy! And what are you fav sprouts, Janet? Our friends in Sweden sent us a Swedish designed clay sprouter for our wedding and we love it. Made lentil sprouts first.

    Xxoo S

    • janet @ the taste space said, on July 20, 2013 at 6:57 AM

      Ooh, what fun! I left my sprouter in Toronto. I really only made alfalfa sprouts… and a mixed sandwich blend. It is crazy how so little seeds turn into SO MANY SPROUTS! I like eating sunflower sprouts and pea shoots but I think you need a more garden like contraption with soil. Radish sprouts are quite spicy.. and broccoli, too, if my memory serves me correctly. I actually haven’t sprouted beans myself. I don’t like them too much.

  2. Donna said, on July 20, 2013 at 8:25 AM

    LOVE me my chutney!!!…THIS will be next on my agenda….Would you happen to know if this could be adapted to make a Rhubarb chutney…or would you happen to have a recipe?…I’ve heard it is delishhh and I have a ton of it!!!…Thank you for your consistently stellar culinary inspiration!

  3. Ellen Lederman said, on July 20, 2013 at 3:14 PM

    Very impressed that you are still biking in all the heat!

    The mango chutney sounds terrific. It would have gone very nicely with the bhel puri we recently made from Vegan Eats World. I think you’d love the recipe—loved the tamarind sauce and the cilantro sauce that went with it. But—it does use Indian puffed rice, etc.—which probably isn’t the most whole foodish choice—the vinegar and salt roasted chickpeas could almost substitute for it.

    • janet @ the taste space said, on July 21, 2013 at 7:22 AM

      Ooh, that does sound wonderful. I left my copy of VEW in Toronto but I wonder if I saved that recipe somewhere in my email. Funny things lurk in there. Chickpeas instead of puffed rice sound fun… :)

  4. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts said, on July 21, 2013 at 12:02 AM

    Summer here in Perth (Western Australia) can get really hot and I do hate it. Exercising early and spending time in a/c are definite necessities! Drinking cold drinks and making frozen fruit based ice creams are my other ‘go tos’, and if it’s a weekend and it’s too hot for much, we go to the movies. Glad you’re settling in ok despite the temperature shift – and this looks like just the thing for hot weather!

    • janet @ the taste space said, on July 21, 2013 at 7:26 AM

      Haha, love the movie theatre tip! We live close to the museum district so I have a feeling museums may be our new theatre substitute. Although we still have to get to the museum. Although if we stay in our home, we may go crazy! :)

  5. amzie23 said, on July 21, 2013 at 2:58 AM

    Looks so yummy. Loving your recipes. Gotta go find me some mangoes!

    http://amyscottpic.wordpress.com

  6. Kalyan said, on July 21, 2013 at 5:13 AM

    looks inviting and mouthwatering stuff!

  7. Joanne said, on July 21, 2013 at 9:12 AM

    The heat here really has made me lethargic so I can’t imagine experiencing it nonstop all the time! I can see biking being more appealing than walking though! And at least you’re getting some exercise in. How far is where you’re living from the hospital??

    • janet @ the taste space said, on July 21, 2013 at 10:10 AM

      Hey Joanne, At least I have had exposure to the humid summers in Toronto. If I were from out West, were it is dry, I surely would have melted as soon as I got here. Anyways, the bike ride isn’t bad: 5 mi. No hills either, so really my enemy is the humidity each time. ;)

  8. Gabby @ the veggie nook said, on July 21, 2013 at 11:56 AM

    Ahhh I just wrote a whole comment and it got deleted! Oh well- this chutney looks amazing and glad the Houston weather isn’t as bad as you imagined :)

  9. coconutandberries said, on July 21, 2013 at 4:15 PM

    We’re having a crazy heat-wave here too. We rarely have summers like this though so I can’t really complain. I love summer bike rides, you’re right it’s much cooler than walking with that nice breeze.
    I haven’t made anything Indian for a while, I think the spices are too warming! I’m sure this chutney on a salad, or maybe just mixed with some cold chickpeas would be tasty though.

    • janet @ the taste space said, on July 21, 2013 at 6:16 PM

      Boo.. sucky about the weather, no? I love your idea with the chickpeas… gives me a good idea for a salad wrap. :)

  10. Your chutney sounds fun! I have made mango chutneys in many ways, but this is something I need to try. Never added curry powder to chutneys, so I am excited to try this!!

  11. Genevieve said, on July 22, 2013 at 12:25 PM

    The heat wave here last week was pretty intense, so I couldn’t imagine living like that all the time! I like this idea of a fresh, raw chutney rather than a cooked version. It sounds similar to mango salsa (which I love to make), but thicker and with the Indian flavour twist!

  12. Heather @Gluten-Free Cat said, on July 31, 2013 at 9:31 PM

    Ooooh, that looks so delicious! I’d like that chutney on absolutely everything, please!

  13. […] (via Fresh Mango Chutney | the taste space – steam, bake, boil, shake!) […]


What do you think?

