the taste space

Strawberry & Avocado Salad with a Citrus Vinaigrette

Posted in Salads by janet @ the taste space on August 6, 2013

Strawberry & Avocado Salad with a Citrus Vinaigrette

I was hoping Rawfully Organic was going to provide me with local produce. I know they try when it is possible. Rob and I had been pining a few local treats before we even arrived.  The first one: avocado. Avocados are quite expensive in Canada, but upon our first week here we were greeted with a warm welcome. Avocados: 4 for $1.

Strawberry & Avocado Salad with a Citrus Vinaigrette

The nice thing about my Rawfully Organic share was that I wasn’t saddled with uncommon ingredients. With so many greens, I knew salads were in order, though. Luck would have it that I was tempted by Gena’s berry and avocado salad at the same time. Coincidentally, I had all the ingredients and then some. I tried it her way, with hemp seeds, then with almonds and when I finally got around to photographing it, I used pumpkin seeds. I used sweet strawberries, paired with creamy avocado and a sweet citrus dressing. Since the oranges we got in our share were “juicing oranges” (Valencia, aka sweet Texan oranges!!), I figured a dressing was a good way to capitalize on their sweet juiciness. Since, yes, I left my juicer at home. No homemade juice on the horizon yet.  It may seem fiddly to also add lemon juice, but it balanced the dressing nicely.

Any nut or seed would work for crunch – as I said, I have made this with almonds, hemp and the pumpkin seeds (a mix of almond and hemp was my favourite). Any berry would work well here. Pick your favourite.

With all these salads that I have been making, I am kind of sad I left my big plates and big bowls in Canada. I want more greens but don’t have a serving plate big enough!

Other fruity salads you may enjoy:

Strawberry, Avocado and Mint Salad with a Chocolate Vinaigrette

Strawberry and Roasted Chickpea Salad with a Cinnamon Vinaigrette

Strawberry, Asparagus and Basil Salad with Mosto Cotto

Blackberry, Avocado and Walnut Salad with a Ginger Lime Vinaigrette

Blueberry, Lentil and Walnut Spinach Salad with a Blueberry Tarragon Dressing

Strawberry & Avocado Salad with a Citrus Vinaigrette

This is my submission to Deb for this week’s Souper Sundays.

Strawberry & Avocado Salad with a Citrus Vinaigrette 
Adapted from Choosing Raw

4 cups leafy greens
1 cup sliced strawberries
1 avocado, chopped
2 tbsp pumpkin seeds (or hemp seeds and almonds)

2 tsp extra-virgin olive oil (or oil of choice)
1 tbsp fresh orange juice
1 tbsp fresh lemon juice
1 tsp maple syrup
pinch salt, to taste

1. Make dressing by combining oil, orange juice, lemon juice, maple syrup and salt in a small bowl.

2. In 2 bowls, divide greens. Top with strawberries, avocado, and pumpkin seeds. Drizzle with dressing, to taste.

Serves 2.

17 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Joanne said, on August 6, 2013 at 7:49 AM

    I am SO jealous of that low avocado price! even though I’m technically not supposed to be eating them any more now. Sigh.

  2. Johanna GGG said, on August 6, 2013 at 8:36 AM

    strawberries are so pretty in a salad and so fresh and summery too – sounds delish

  3. sprint2thetable said, on August 6, 2013 at 10:12 AM

    I love berries with avocados! You have so much more self control than I do – I’d be out buying more bowls. LOL!

    • janet @ the taste space said, on August 6, 2013 at 1:50 PM

      Haha, thanks Laura. We have bought a few things but bowls and bigger plates, not yet. I haven’t bought peanut flour yet either which is on my hitlist thanks to you. ;)

      • Gaby said, on August 8, 2013 at 11:09 PM

        4 for $1? Where are you shopping? /I sometimes see the small ones at fiesta at 2 for $1. Speaking of dollars, I saw a lot of big colorful salad or mixing bowls at the dollar store down Gray a few weeks ago. As for peanut flour, sadly it must be ordered online, but I actually buy that and coconut flour very occasionally on amazon for way cheaper.
        I’ll have to take you to the indian grocery where I bought a lot of different flours and grains too, lentil flour, besan, millet flour, and lots of spices at probably half the price of regular groceries!

      • janet @ the taste space said, on August 13, 2013 at 1:18 PM

        OK, you have me totally wanting to go shopping with you, Gaby! We bought the avocados at Fiesta Mart and also Welcome in Chinatown. We went to Patel Bros in Little India and were quite disappointed (although we did score fresh curry leaves). I was very impressed with the international beans at Fiesta, actually. It is funny because I haven’t even been to HEB, Kroger, and the like yet… ;)

  4. Anna said, on August 6, 2013 at 1:49 PM

    For some reason, I shy away from fruity salads, but I’ll have to try this. Maybe it’s because I usually have salads over lunch and by then, I’m usually craving more vinegary/salty flavors. But it’s funny, cause I have no problem combining greens and fruits in smoothies!

  5. Ellen Lederman said, on August 6, 2013 at 2:35 PM

    I consider 2 avocados for $1 to be the bargain of the century, so needless to say I’m green (as an avocado or salad greens) about what you scored!

  6. coconutandberries said, on August 6, 2013 at 3:02 PM

    4 avocados for $1 is insane! They’re pretty much always at least £1 here ($1.50) EACH! I guess they do have a long way to come…I have to limit my avocado purchases :(
    I thought I’d made this salad before but it’s a different but similar Gena one- kale, strawb, avo + lime instead of orange. That one was great and I’m sure this one is too.

    • janet @ the taste space said, on August 8, 2013 at 5:10 PM

      It is like that in Canada, too.. crazy expensive avocados. Rob’s goal was to learn how to make good guac while here, so at least we won’t run out of avocados. We still have a hard to picking when to buy/eat them though… GAH!

  7. Vicky said, on August 6, 2013 at 4:44 PM

    A lovely salad, so refreshing and colourful!

  8. kimmythevegan said, on August 7, 2013 at 6:21 PM

    Mmmm what a great, fresh summer salad =)

  9. […] Same salad, different fruit and new herb. Still as delicious. […]

  10. Deb in Hawaii said, on August 11, 2013 at 6:59 PM

    I have found that avocado and any berry is one of my favorite summer salad combination. The citrus vinaigrette sounds perfect for it. Thanks for sharing with Souper Sundays! ;-)

  11. […] our warm avocado greeting? To be honest, comparatively, Texas does not grow very many avocados. In the US, avocadoes are […]


What do you think?

