the taste space

Snow Pea & Tofu Pad Thai

Posted in Mains (Vegetarian), Favourites by janet @ the taste space on August 27, 2013

Snow Pea & Tofu Pad Thai

As I shared earlier, slowly, Rob and I are exploring different ethnic grocers in Houston. Each weekend, we have been heading to a new place. Last weekend was a bit of a whirlwind, though.

We wanted to go to Little India but everything was closed when we were there early in the morning (yes, we are the early birds). Chinatown was our alternate choice. Since it is more of a big box store Chinatown that necessitates driving between stores, the dilemma was figuring out which grocer to hit up first. I had 3 stores starred. I picked the one that we knew was open early, the one that also happened to be the closest and the one that had great online reviews.

The parking lot was empty but we ventured in. Let’s just say it was a sad store. I picked up some snow peas and bean sprouts. We left a bit sad. I always gauge a store by the state of their produce. I was hoping for better quality produce and to be honest, much cheaper prices. Whole Foods was better priced, which doesn’t say much.

Snow Pea & Tofu Pad Thai

Uncertain what the rest of Chinatown would hold, we figured we would check out another grocer. The next on the list was Welcome. This time, though, the parking lot was nearly already packed for an early Saturday morning. Definitely a better sign. Their produce section was busy with so many people, snapping up the best produce, clamouring for the cases of mangos or picking the best greens. Good prices and good quality. Now I was a happy camper! Chinatown had been vindicated.

I still had the snow peas and bean sprouts which Rob and I put to good use by making pad thai. I was the sous chef as Rob made pad thai for me, complete with kelp noodles and snow peas. He slipped the fresh pad thai onto my plate. It was so pretty, I had to take a photo.

Snow Pea & Tofu Pad Thai

I don’t photograph many dishes twice. Especially if it is a regular in our kitchen and Rob’s signature dish, at that. But these photos turned out much better than my first post. We tinkered with the recipe only slightly, mainly by adding more tamarind. However, that’s because we had a new brand (Swad) and it doesn’t seem as potent as what we were used to (Tamicon or the blue top one). This version turned out so well though, so if you prefer things less tart, try to find this brand of tamarind. Otherwise, 3 tbsp of concentrate may be tamarind overload! :)

And for anyone curious, we found the kelp noodles at H-Mart. Around $3 for a Korean brand, which is even cheaper than Vitacost and Sea Tangle directly.

swad tamarind concentrate

Do you re-photograph your pretty meals?

Snow Pea & Tofu Pad Thai
Adapted from Rob’s Vegan Pad Thai

100-200g firm tofu, pressed and chopped into small cubes
scant tsp of oil
1 garlic clove, minced
1/4 tsp Aleppo chili flakes, or red chili (to taste)
3 tbsp tamarind concentrate
1 tbsp low-sodium tamari
1/4 package kelp noodles, soaked for 5 minutes and drained (Rob uses rice stick noodles, see here for directions using those)
2 tbsp green onions, chopped (reserve some for garnish)
2 tbsp unsalted, roasted peanuts (chopped if desired, reserve some for garnish)
1/3 cup bean sprouts (not too many)
1/3 cup snow peas, trimmed

1. In a medium non-stick skillet over medium heat, heat oil. Add tofu and cook, flipping so that most of the sides are brown, cooking around 10 minutes. Add garlic and chili flakes and saute until fragrant, around 1 minute.

2. Stir in tamarind concentrate and tamari. Stir in noodles and toss to coat. Heat through. Stir in green onions and allow to brown slightly, around 1-2 minutes. Add peanuts, bean sprouts,  and snow peas and heat through, another 1-2 minutes.

3. Remove from heat and top with additional green onions and peanuts. Repeat with your next serving.

Serves 1.

16 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. sprint2thetable said, on August 27, 2013 at 8:46 AM

    I love ethnic food. And this reminds me that I have a whole thing of tamarind syrup in my fridge. Mmmm… I feel an Asian week coming on!

  2. Ellen Lederman said, on August 27, 2013 at 2:28 PM

    Yup, it’s disappointing when an ethnic market is lackluster—but I can’t feel too sorry for you since you do have access to H-Mart!

    Never thought to use tamarind for pad thai—will have to do this. Interesting combination of raw and cooked here, but I’d probably skip the kelp noodles—I’ve tried to like them, but the texture is just so weird! (There—I’ve said it!).

  3. coconutandberries said, on August 27, 2013 at 4:53 PM

    How great that you’ve found a good ethnic grocer. I’ve got a few little ones near me but often the fresh produce does leave a little to be desired. Dates, chickpea flour and fresh cilantro are my staples, and sometimes Alphonso mangoes. I hope I can find some good ones when I move :S
    Rob’s pad thai looks so tasty and v.pretty like you say. I can’t seem to find roasted, unsalted peanuts though. I suppose I could roast my own?

  4. Hannah said, on August 27, 2013 at 6:31 PM

    Well done Rob! This looks amazing.

  5. Richa said, on August 27, 2013 at 9:29 PM

    the pad thai looks gorgeous. ah you have a big patelbros there, nice! the Indian stores in the northwest are just a few and have a monopoly. Though in the past few years, we have seen a few more open up and the competition is doing good in terms of them keeping better items and properly priced.

  6. Joanne said, on August 27, 2013 at 10:43 PM

    I’m so glad you guys found a good grocer! That is key to happy living.

  7. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts said, on August 28, 2013 at 4:47 AM

    This is definitely a grocer – and dish – to keep :)

  8. veghotpot said, on August 29, 2013 at 7:10 AM

    This looks like another winner, I have a folder in my inbox called “recipes to keep” and I realised 80% are from this blog! Thank you for all the great food!

  9. Gabby @ the veggie nook said, on August 29, 2013 at 10:26 AM

    I have grown to absolutely love Chinatown- all the amazing produce and other foods for so cheap! Those kelp noodles are a great find! This dish looks wonderful, Rob done good ;)

  10. Johanna GGG said, on August 29, 2013 at 7:12 PM

    Nice photo – interesting how it looks quite different in a different serving dish – I have started to rephotograph my meals when they look prettier than the first time (I have some terrible photos) but I usually use them to update the earlier post – am still experimenting with them. I must try your pad thai one of these days because something you make often must be great!

  11. […] any case, it is no wonder that Rob, working from home, with regular hours and no commute, has more time on his hands. The best part is that it has transcended into the kitchen for some delicious meals. Epic meals, at […]

  12. […] (via Snow Pea & Tofu Pad Thai | the taste space – steam, bake, boil, shake!) […]

  13. […] course, we also shared our tips for our favourite grocery stores. We tried to explain the awesomeness of Trader Joe’ but we could see […]

  14. […] 2. Snow Pea & Tofu Pad Thai […]

  15. […] quickly gravitated to make old favourites: Tamarind Lentils, Pad Thai, and Moroccan Carrot and Chickpea Salad. Then, finally itching to make something new, I decided to […]


What do you think?

