the taste space

Miso-Kimchi Vegetable Stir-Fry with Bean Curd Skin

Posted in Favourites, Mains (Vegetarian) by Janet M on September 26, 2013

Miso-Kimchi Vegetable Stir-Fry with Bean Curd Skin

Miso-Kimchi Vegetable Stir with Bean Curd Skin

I really wanted to call this Miso-Kimchi Vegetable Stir with Tofu Intestines, because isn’t that what you think of when you see it, too? In truth, I know what I am talking about. I would consider myself an expert at what the small bowel looks like. (For the record, Rob thought it was inappropriate)

In case you were curious, a google search for tofu intestines still pulls up what I am describing:

tofu bean curd skins, yuba, tofu intestine

Also known as yuba, bean curd skins are made from the thin skin that forms on top of the tofu while it is being made. It can be bought fresh, frozen or dried. If it is dried, it needs to be soaked for at least 8 hours but the fresh ones are ready to go, as is. A bit more googling, taught me that yuba has been gracing higher end restos lately. I would believe it. Because let me tell you, they pack the nutritional punch of tofu with a nice, new texture.

While they were new to me and Rob, this did not stop Rob from making a fabulous random stir fry. Tender crisp vegetables are a must for a stir fry (broccoli and carrot here) along with your typical aromatics, like ginger and garlic. While the tofu intestine bean curd skins were an amazing textural foil amongst the vegetables, the flavour explosion came from Rob’s addition of kimchi and miso to the mix. Yeah, bliss.

Miso-Kimchi Vegetable Stir-Fry with Bean Curd Skin

Now for a shout-out to Viet Hoa, the grocer where we found the tofu intestines. It is possibly the biggest Asian grocer I have encountered. They have a lot of fresh produce and aisles upon aisles of other Asian goodies. They honestly have a whole section for noodles and a large room solely for rice. Sadly, their brown rice selection is not as plentiful and they don’t stock our favourite brand (but I did find whole oat groats amongst the rice, crazy eh?). Total props goes to their tofu selection which covers nearly an entire aisle. Not only are there multiple varieties of traditional tofu, they also had fun bean curd shapes, such as these tofu intestines and small bowties. However, it was their selection of mock meats that made our jaws drop. As you know, I don’t usually eat mock meats (other than the seitan I’ve made myself), but they had an entire freezer aisle dedicated solely to vegan mock meats (see below: Rob snapped some photos with his phone). I am not talking Gardein and the like. Mock chicken, salmon and ham but also mock abalone and sea cucumber made from seitan or soy. Explore a bit more and they have dried seitan and bean curd in fun shapes, as well. I swear, I have never seen so many versions of mock meat/tofu in one place.

Have you tried bean curd skins? Think they look like intestines? Had enough of the kimchi recipes yet? :)

vegan eats at viet hoa, houston

This is my submission to this week’s Weekend Herb Blogging, hosted by Lucia.

Miso-Kimchi Vegetable Stir-Fry with Bean Curd Skin

1 tbsp coconut oil
1 clove garlic, smashed
1/2 piece of ginger, grated
1 pack tofu intestine/bean curd skins/yuba, chopped into medium sized chunks
1 head broccoli, cut into florets
1 carrot, peeled and cut into slices
1 cup kimchi, chopped smaller if desired (or mash it in the skillet like Rob)
2 tbsp miso

1. In a large skillet over medium-high heat, heat oil. Once hot, add garlic and ginger. Saute for 2-3 minutes until fragrant but not burned.

2. Stir in the bean curd skins and saute for a few minutes. Add in broccoli and carrot and saute until tender crisp.

3. Stir in kimchi, and use a spoon to break apart into smaller pieces. Stir in miso. I think the liquid from the kimchi allowed Rob to dissolve it because it can be hard to stir iso straight into a dish.

Serves 2-3.

18 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. sprint2thetable said, on September 26, 2013 at 7:01 AM

    They do look like turds. *shudder. #strangebutgood? ;)

  2. veganmiam.com said, on September 26, 2013 at 8:22 AM

    Bean curd skin is my favorite component in a braised Asian dish, especially my Mother’s dishes. I had a wrapped bean curd on a piece of bamboo, coated with panko-like crust, and fried in oil in Kuala Lumpur, and it was supposed to be a vegan “drumstick.” Kinda cool, right?

  3. Kyleigh said, on September 26, 2013 at 9:26 AM

    Bean Curd Skin is so good! I haven’t cooked bean curd skin myself yet, but when I dine out in Vancouver at the vegan Asian restaurants they almost always have it on the menu.

    This stir-fry looks so good. Love the addition of Kimchi!

    • janet @ the taste space said, on September 26, 2013 at 7:28 PM

      I haven’t noticed it before but maybe because I didn’t know what it was. I will definitely be scoping it out now. :)

  4. sarojinididi said, on September 26, 2013 at 4:06 PM

    Gotta love a stir fry, and yours looks superb :) We can only get the dried kind of yuba here, and soak it for only about half an hour, which works okay as it’s not that thick. I also love it in a noodle veg broth.

    • janet @ the taste space said, on September 26, 2013 at 7:29 PM

      I am not sure how long the fresh stuff lasts, so the dried yuba sounds a bit more practical. Thank you for letting me know if it almost as simple to prepare. :)

  5. Joanne said, on September 26, 2013 at 9:25 PM

    Amazing!! I’m pretty sure i’ve had tofu skin before but I’ve definitely never prepared it myself!

  6. chrissieh said, on September 28, 2013 at 1:39 AM

    I couldn’t help but be pleased that you found something good at Viet Hoa. You might not recall, but that was one of my suggestions in that Chowhound thread where you were asking about ethnic grocers in Houston:

    chowhound.chow.com/topics/902315

    • janet @ the taste space said, on September 28, 2013 at 5:36 AM

      Thanks Chrissie. Yes, I still refer to that thread! Viet Hoa was a later addition but once I read up about it, we made it over there pretty fast. We finally made it to 99 Ranch last night, too. I have been meaning to write up a Phoenicia post – I went there during my first weekend. :)

  7. […] ended up combining a ton of Asian goodies (thank you Viet Hoa) with the Brussels sprouts to create this very nice rendition of Vietnamese pho. The ingredient […]

  8. […] course, we also shared our tips for our favourite grocery stores. We tried to explain the awesomeness of Trader Joe’ but we could see it was […]

  9. carrieonvegan said, on October 31, 2013 at 3:25 PM

    Okay, so “tofu intestines” just grosses me out, but I agree that yuba is delicious and I love the recipe you created! :)

  10. […] and added in these interesting soy knots. To be honest, I prefer the texture of the yuba skins (aka tofu intestines) as they were very dense. The recipe, though, is a keeper. A colourful keeper perfect for any […]

  11. […] our kimchi phase, Rob quickly figured out that kimchi worked really well in chilla. Basically it is pre-seasoned […]


What do you think?

