the taste space

Cucumber Avocado Sandwiches With Dill and Mint

Posted in Appetizers by janet @ the taste space on November 5, 2013

Cucumber Avocado Tea Sandwiches With Dill and Mint

Time flies. I have already passed the 4 month mark. One-third of my time in Houston.  I already know what I will remember the most. Mosquitoes and potlucks. The mosquitos are relentless and well, I am discovering the joys of vegan potlucks.

I have been to many a potluck, but usually that means I bring a dish I will be eating. It is usually the only vegan component and I try to make it a complete meal, like a hearty bean or whole grain salad. Even though that is my specialty, it kind of limits my repertoire.

All vegan potlucks are a whole other ballpark. I know I will find plenty of food (and they have been really tasty!) and therefore, I can branch out to try something new. Furthermore, some foods lend better to a buffet set-up than others, so I have been testing out new ideas.

Enter the cucumber sandwich. Not a tea sandwich, this one replaces the bread for cucumber, creating a crunchy bite-sized nimbler. Easy to add to your plate and no fussy sauce that can leach and contaminate the next dish over. (I have adopted the 2 plate strategy for potlucks- 1 plate for savoury and 1 plate for desserts!) Perfect for those who want a gluten-free and nut-free snack… and raw, to boot. For me right now, raw has become more synonymous with easy food prep.

This dish, while easy to prep, is a bit more fussy than my typical one-pot meals. Puree your cucumber and lemon juice into a mayonnaise-like consistency and pulse in the cool and crisp cucumbers and herbs. The lemon juice should prevent the avocado from oxidizing but try not to make them too far in advance. Hopefully they will be devoured and none will remain after they have been served.

What are your go-to potluck dishes?

Other dishes I shared at potlucks this year:

Peach & Hazelnut Kale Salad with Maple Miso Vinaigrette

Raw Thai Pineapple Parsnip Rice

Curried Chickpea Salad with Carrots and Currants

Peanut Butter and Jam Energy Balls

Raw Watermelon Candy

Rich Vegan Cheesecake with a Pecan Shortbread Crust

This is my submission to Deb for this week’s Souper Sundays, to this week’s Raw Food Thursdays, this month’s Cooking with Herbs, to this month’s Random Recipes, and to this month’s Veg Cookbook Club for Isa Does It.

Cucumber Avocado Sandwiches With Dill and Mint
Adapted from Isa Does It (also found on Post Punk Kitchen)

2 ripe avocados, chilled
2 tbsp fresh lemon juice (half a lemon)
1/2 tsp salt
1 large cucumber, divided (reserve 1/2 cup chopped cucumber and thinly slice the remainder)
2 tbsp fresh chopped mint
2 tbsp fresh chopped dill

1. In a food processor, combine the flesh of the avocados with the lemon juice and salt. Puree until completely smooth, scraping the sides as necessary. Add the cucumber and pulse until finely chopped. Add the herbs and pulse until just combined. Allow to sit for 10 minutes as the flavours meld. Season to taste.

2. Spread mixture overtop cucumbers slices and if desired, top with a second slice, to make a bona fide cucumber sandwich. You could also keep it open faced, as the filling oozed out if you ate this in two-bites.

Makes 12 cucumber pieces (or more).

29 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Johanna GGG said, on November 5, 2013 at 7:22 AM

    I love these sandwiches – perfect for summer here – such lovely light finger food would suit any gathering. I can already think of a few events I would love to take these to.

  2. Gabby @ the veggie nook said, on November 5, 2013 at 7:40 AM

    Wow 1/3 of your time there gone! Time is ridiculous sometimes isn’t it? I can hardly get over the fact that Christmas displays have popped up. Wasn’t it just summer like a week ago??

    These look awesome! And I loved your comment about no sauces contaminating other dishes- such a problem that I wish people would think of! Glad you’ve found a solution ;)

    • janet @ the taste space said, on November 6, 2013 at 5:42 PM

      I can’t say that I go to many commercial establishments but I think Americans will be distracted by Thanksgiving for a few more weeks… but then Christmas explosion, for sure!

  3. Dominic Franks (@belleaukitchen) said, on November 5, 2013 at 11:00 AM

    so random aren’t they? I love them, such a fab idea as an alternative to bread and a lovely idea for a canape x

  4. Yvette Jones said, on November 5, 2013 at 11:27 AM

    As an in process converting vegan, it is a joy and meal save to get your recipes in the email every week. There is always something mouth watering vegan dish for me to try. The bean dishes have been my favorite so far but today’s cucumber sandwich is just fabulous! Can’t wait to make it AND eat it. Thanks Yvette

    • janet @ the taste space said, on November 6, 2013 at 5:40 PM

      Yvette, thank you so much. It is comments like yours that fill my heart with joy! Also, I love you enjoy my beany dishes as much as me!! I love comments, so please let me know how your kitchen adventures go, too. :)

  5. sarojinididi said, on November 5, 2013 at 11:44 AM

    So simple, I’m kicking myself for not having thought of these! They look truly delicious and I will certainly make some. Pinned :)

  6. kimthevegan www.rockmyvegansocks.vaskor.ca said, on November 5, 2013 at 12:45 PM

    I love the idea of this gluten-free tea-like sandwich. So cute!

  7. Eileen said, on November 5, 2013 at 2:56 PM

    Avocado, cucumber and herbs sound like a perfect appetizer, especially since it must still be pretty warm in Houston. NOM.

    • janet @ the taste space said, on November 6, 2013 at 5:38 PM

      Hey Eileen, Thanks! We had a cold spell for 2 weeks or so, but now it is back to summer weather with lows of 25C! Not cold at all!

  8. Deena Kakaya said, on November 5, 2013 at 5:07 PM

    These make a lovely canapé! Great idea. Have you seen my courgette rolls?

  9. sprint2thetable said, on November 5, 2013 at 5:33 PM

    I was looking forward to you posting this! Dil, mint, cucumber, and avocado is the best combo. Now I’m hungry. Again.

  10. Joanne said, on November 5, 2013 at 7:15 PM

    I need to scout out some all-veg potlucks in NYC! They sound amazing. I would love these refreshing bites!

    • janet @ the taste space said, on November 6, 2013 at 5:36 PM

      You would have a ball at these kinds of potlucks, Joanne, although it sounds like your lab meetings get the brunt of your goodies :)

  11. Jac and Jenn @ sketch-free eating said, on November 7, 2013 at 5:27 PM

    I’ve done this too with feta cheese in between lol! Mint sounds amazing though!

  12. rika@vm said, on November 8, 2013 at 4:38 PM

    Divine…and adorable sandwiches with refreshing mint! Bloody brilliant.

  13. Deb in Hawaii said, on November 10, 2013 at 6:25 PM

    These are so cute–perfect for a potluck or a little “nosh.” I like the avocado-mint-dill combination! Thanks for sharing them with Souper Sundays. ;-)

  14. Judee@ Gluten Free A-Z said, on November 10, 2013 at 8:10 PM

    I love all of the ingredients in these little sandwiches. I’m pinning these for my next party..

  15. Karen said, on November 13, 2013 at 11:16 AM

    What a FABULOUS idea Janet, I LOVE these!

  16. Heather @Gluten-Free Cat said, on November 13, 2013 at 4:59 PM

    Mmmmm, I’m including this recipe in my Raw Foods Thursdays “perfect raw day” post tomorrow. Thanks for sharing such a creative sandwich!

  17. […] • Janet of The Taste Space made the Cucumber Avocado Sandwiches With Dill and Mint. […]

  18. Josiane said, on November 24, 2013 at 11:22 PM

    Such a simple recipe, and yet, it must be so delicious! I’ve kind of rediscovered dill a few months ago and fell in love with it all over again. Adding it to puréed avocado is brilliant! Now I know what the next avocados I get my hands on will become…

  19. November Cooking with Herbs Round-Up said, on December 1, 2013 at 6:12 AM

    […] 6. Cucumber Avocado Sandwiches With Dill and Mint by Janet of The Taste Space: Fabulous tea time sandwiches made with cucumber and not bread! I love these little bites, and especially with mint too. […]


What do you think?

