the taste space

Raw Peppermint Patties & Cookbook Giveaway!

Posted in Book Review, Desserts, Favourites by Janet M on November 21, 2013

Raw Peppermint Patties

I noticed this when the weather dipped to cooler temperatures. With the recent swing back to Houston’s humid summer temperatures, I noticed it again.

My kitchen barometer is the coconut oil.

During the summer it was a liquid and during the cooler days, it becomes solid.

Other things that melt in Houston: massage bars, solid hair conditioner and chocolate. Those warnings about using expedited shipping so that your items don’t spoil? Well, let it be known: chocolate will melt en route to my home. Thank goodness it still tasted great. That massage bar, unfortunately, could not be salvaged.

Raw Peppermint Patties

Wipe away your tears with these fantastic raw peppermint patties. They were delicious and you would never have known they were raw. A buttery mint filling courtesy of ground cashews and coconut flour with a touch of coconut oil is enveloped by a thick chocolate coating.

They may look like lumps of coal, but they certainly did not taste like it. ;)

Raw Peppermint Patties

I don’t know whether it was the temperature or the humidity, but I had a bit of trouble making these homemade peppermint patties.  I have made chocolate truffles before - classic lemon bittersweet chocolate truffleschocolate peanut butter truffles and even raw maca chocolates - but this was the first time my chocolate turned out more like play dough instead of a thinner liquid! This meant I had a much thicker coating for my peppermint patties which I wrapped around with my hands. Double the chocolate, which was great, since they tasted fantastic.

Also a note about coconut flour (again): it is defatted ground coconut so it lends a different texture. It also absorbs a lot of liquid, which is why it is so different than regular dried coconut. I am also convinced that different brands absorb more, so adjust the recipe as you go. I ended up adding more coconut flour since it was too liquidy with the original recipe. If you don’t have coconut flour, try these recipes that use dried coconut instead.

This recipe is courtesy of The Simply Raw Kitchen. The cookbook is from a raw restaurant in Ottawa, Simply Raw Express, and features both cooked and raw recipes (despite what the title may suggest otherwise). All vegan and whole-foods based. All gluten-free. With a bit of Austrian in her background, some of her Eastern European-inspired dishes really called to me: Austrian Blaukraut, Krautfleckerl, Lovage (Chickpea) Dumplings, Mushroom Goulash as well as Lemon Dill Cheeze and Aged Peppercorn Cheeze. However, it was her collection of (mostly raw) desserts that I could not shake from my mind: Better Pecan Pie with Shortbread Crust, Austrian Linzer Squares, Cloud Lime Pie, Orange Chocolate Blossom Tart, Holiday Nut Nog.

SimplyRaw kitchen review

I know I say it all the time, but I really want to share this cookbook with you. Thankfully the publisher is letting me give a cookbook to one reader living in the US or Canada. To be entered, please leave a comment here, telling me which recipe you’d like to try the most (or if you have a recipe from Natasha that you recommend). Have a look through the index of The Simply Raw Kitchen on amazon (or my list below) or pick something from her website and tell me what you want to cook the most. I will randomly select a winner on December 7, 2013. Good luck!

Other recipes shared from The Simply Raw Kitchen:

Real Tomato Soup

Lentil Soup with Kale

Award-Winning Marinated Kale Salad

Spicy Thai Salad

Lemon Poppyseed Energy Bites

Righteous Brownies with Caramel Frosting

Other recipes from Simply Raw are shared here and here.

Raw Peppermint Patties

PS. There is still time to enter my giveaway for Raw & Simple and Practically Raw Desserts.

Raw Peppermint Patties
Adapted from The Simply Raw Kitchen

Patties:
1/3 cup cashews, ground into a flour
1/3 cup + 2 tbsp coconut flour, divided
1/4 cup coconut oil
3 tbsp maple syrup
2.5 tsp mint extract
pinch salt

1. In a food processor, process cashews into a fine flour if not done previously. Add a portion of coconut flour to make sure you don’t turn it into a butter. Blend all remaining ingredients (only with 1/3 cup coconut flour). I found mine too oily, so I added the remainder of the coconut flour until it was more firm. Roll into bite-sized balls, then pat them flat. Place in a container/plate and freeze for at least 30 minutes, until firm.

Chocolate Coating:
3 tbsp grated cacao butter
1 tbsp melted coconut oil
1/4 cup cocoa powder
2 tbsp maple syrup (or to taste)
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
dash salt

1. Natasha recommends processing all of the ingredients in a food processor until it turns into a sauce. This didn’t work for me, so I heated it in the microwave for a few seconds to melt it… and then it became softer (and thicker so I could only coat half the patties), with a consistency more like playdough. I used my fingers to wrap it around the frozen patties. Alternatively, you could try the chocolate coating from this magic shell which is simply melted chocolate and coconut oil. Freeze chocolate-coated patties again, until hardened, at least 30 minutes. Prior to serving, allow to thaw 5-10 minutes, if you can wait that long!

Makes 15 patties.

53 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Shannon Y-I-V said, on November 21, 2013 at 7:21 AM

    I’m from an Eastern European family, too. I’d love to try the goulash recipe and a couple of the other savory ones. Not something I’ve tried much to veganize yet..

  2. sprint2thetable said, on November 21, 2013 at 8:14 AM

    Coconut oil is my season indicator too. I hate when it gets hard!!!

    I need o try these out – my mom would LOVE them. Peppermint and cashews are two of her favorites.

  3. Heidi said, on November 21, 2013 at 8:49 AM

    Spicy Thai Salad seems interesting to try. Coconut oil rarely melts in Ottawa.

  4. Mackenzie Rifkin said, on November 21, 2013 at 8:54 AM

    I really want to try the Spicy Thai Salad! Looks delicious!

  5. ourqueenskitchen said, on November 21, 2013 at 9:42 AM

    These look amazing! I’m a good cook but an AWFUL baker- I think even I could manage these since technically there’s no baking involved. I miss mint chocolate candies since going vegan, this would hit the spot!

  6. Linda said, on November 21, 2013 at 10:16 AM

    I LOVE lemon; that lemon dill cheese sounds great!

  7. Jessica Eagle said, on November 21, 2013 at 10:43 AM

    Thanks for the giveaway !!! Super interesting.

    Hummmm…as I am a big fan of kale, I would certainly try her Award-Winning Marinated Kale Salad and The Lentil Soup With Kale sounds interesting too.

    Good luck to everybody :)

  8. Susan said, on November 21, 2013 at 11:07 AM

    I would love to try the brownies … anything chocolate has me hooked!

  9. Chrystal in Canada said, on November 21, 2013 at 1:18 PM

    Lemon Poppyseed energy Bites! And with seeds too! Sounds great. Thanks for the awareness.

  10. sanielj@gmail.com said, on November 21, 2013 at 1:31 PM

    no doubt the righteous brownies with caramel frosting. raw and soo delicious!! thank you

  11. Gaby said, on November 21, 2013 at 3:02 PM

    Perfect way to put my new processor and those 25 lbs of coconut flour to use! I’ve made something similar but in bar form with shredded coconut so I imagine these will be just as delicious! I noticed the same thing when I made coconut butter last week, it was drippy liquid coming out of the processor, and a solid block after a little while in the fridge.
    I think her peach pie with pecan crust looks great and could use some of Max’s stash of pecans, but I”m trying to eat more savory meals and reign in my sweet tooth so maybe I should take a look at more things like the tomato soup.

    • janet @ the taste space said, on November 24, 2013 at 8:26 AM

      You are a bad influence on me, Gaby… I ended up buying the coconut flour, too!!

      • Gaby said, on November 27, 2013 at 11:08 PM

        You’ll have fun with it! Plus it will last forever. I divided mine up into several tupperwares and freezer bags and have all but one in my freezer. I’ve been putting it in everything! Making crackers, throwing it in to thicken up oatmeal or rice pudding, of course baking like a gluten free mad woman :p and then with the food processor I’m also making coconut butter to put on top of all these coconut flour items. Cookoo for coconuts!

      • janet @ the taste space said, on December 3, 2013 at 2:08 PM

        Cuckoo for coconuts! LOVE IT!!
        I am curious about the coconut butter since coconut flour has been defatted. I may just try it out. ;)

  12. Ellen Lederman said, on November 21, 2013 at 4:24 PM

    I may have to break down and buy this cookbook–will know for sure after I try this recipe tomorrow (just need to get mint extract—have everything else, including coconut flour I’ve been wanting to get rid of after the raw coconut flour cupcake disaster).

    Since I don’t have the mint today, I was tempted to try to substitute fresh rosemary—I know, weird—but at the VegFest, Isa sampled her rosemary chocolate chip cookies and they were surprisingly good—but ever the good girl, I will restrain myself and wait to get the mint extract so as to make the recipe exactly as written.

    • janet @ the taste space said, on November 24, 2013 at 8:28 AM

      Oh Ellen, I totally blew my “only bare-bone staples” in my pantry with this recipe.. although I cannot find fault having peppermint extract and cocoa butter in the house now. I love, love mint, but the rosemary has been very curious. I would probably just split the batch in half and try rosemary in a portion – it wouldn’t be too difficult… variety is the spice of life, no? :)

      • janet @ the taste space said, on November 24, 2013 at 8:29 AM

        Oh – and that is wicked awesome she sampled such awesome cookies. When she did her demo in Toronto, she made her beet burgers and a orange soup (orange as in it was sweet potato or pumpkin – I can’t remember) but we didn’t get to try it :(

      • Ellen Lederman said, on November 26, 2013 at 4:48 PM

        Made them and loved them. Didn’t have cocoa butter, so used coconut butter. Would tehy have been even richer with the cocoa butter? Can’t imagine.

        These are what peppermint Patties would taste like if they weren’t so processed and used whole ingredients.

        I restrained myself and waited until I had mint extract.

        Yum!

      • janet @ the taste space said, on December 3, 2013 at 1:58 PM

        Yay! I think cocoa butter imparts a richer, chocolatey feel but coconut oil would be a good substitute. I totally blew my minimalistic pantry by getting the cocoa butter. HA! So happy to hear you loved them as much as us. I had to hide them in the freezer to keep me from eating them all at once. :)

  13. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts said, on November 21, 2013 at 7:03 PM

    Delicious! I love mint chocolate flavours and these look like just my kind of snack – dense and chewy and full of good things :)

  14. Joanne said, on November 21, 2013 at 10:10 PM

    I love all things mint chocolate! These look great!

  15. coconutandberries said, on November 22, 2013 at 9:54 AM

    Obviously I’m not eligible to enter but wow those look like tasty little lumps of coal! I’ve seen many variations on the peppermint patty but this one’s rather different with the coconut flour/cashew filling. It looks like a beautiful book.
    I’m off to go check out some of those recipes now!

  16. Debra Lee said, on November 22, 2013 at 10:44 AM

    I love the idea of salad in a jar!

  17. Nik said, on November 22, 2013 at 10:49 AM

    Never heard of this restaurant and it looks so great! Which recipe would I like to try the most? Right now it’s a toss between the Avocado Dill Dressing (which sounds delicious) and the Stovetop Rice Pudding (because it may be warm in Houston but it is getting downright cold in Montreal!)
    In the meantime I might just make these raw peppermint patties over the weekend. Thank you for sharing!

    • janet @ the taste space said, on November 24, 2013 at 8:30 AM

      I haven’t heard of the restaurant, either, and I grew up in Ottawa. Although it is probably because I cook at home when I return to Ottaws, but now I want to check them out. Please let me know how the chocolates turn out :)

      • Nik said, on November 26, 2013 at 9:16 AM

        The chocolates turned out so well! They were super fun to make and really good (too good, actually… we kept going back to the freezer until they were all gone). I opted for your suggestion of the magic shell, which was perfect. Thanks for a keeper!

      • janet @ the taste space said, on December 3, 2013 at 1:56 PM

        Thank you so much for returning with your feedback, Nik! I am thrilled they turned out as well for you, too. :)

  18. Danielle Davis (@writesinLA) said, on November 22, 2013 at 1:59 PM

    Holiday parties, here we come! Great recipe.

  19. Emily Lynn (@emily__lynn) said, on November 22, 2013 at 6:20 PM

    I love peppermint chocolate! The avocado dill dressing also sounds great.

  20. Cheryl W. said, on November 22, 2013 at 6:55 PM

    Thai Coconut Curry Vegetables, sounds really good!

  21. kimmythevegan said, on November 22, 2013 at 11:29 PM

    Oooh I have yet to come across a recipe for these without using icing sugar (which I really don’t like using). I’m super looking forward to making these!!!

  22. Johanna GGG said, on November 23, 2013 at 7:27 AM

    I have tried this sort of chocolate with dessicated coconut but not with coconut flour – mine is just too neglected and crying in a corner of my pantry – am quite interested in the recipe but your reminder about chocolate melting makes me really dread summer’s heat – I hate having to put chocolate in the fridge.

  23. strengthandsunshine said, on November 23, 2013 at 7:42 AM

    The Almond Dream Bars!

  24. […] goodness Houston redeemed its hot, humid self, so my parents could relish instead in highs of 28C, feels like 38C weather!  Rob and I have […]

  25. Bouncingsonia said, on November 24, 2013 at 1:23 PM

    I’m definately will be making the kale salade this week, not only cause I’m a sucker for award winning recipes, but also a sucker for anything kale.

  26. Josiane said, on November 24, 2013 at 11:15 PM

    It’s been quite a while since I last went to Ottawa… and learning that a new (to me, at least) restaurant where I could eat has appeared in the meantime. That makes me want to go again sooner rather than later! Until then, I might have to get that book, it sounds great.
    As to what recipe I’d like to try from it – well, there are quite a few, but I’d start with the Tomato-Millet Soup, and I’d make the Lemon Dill Cheeze too, as I bet it would pair up wonderfully with the soup.

  27. The Vegan 8 said, on November 25, 2013 at 3:07 PM

    Those look soooo good! Peppermint patties has always been a favorite of mine and I have been meaning to come up with a recipe but I don’t need to now…although I am still inspired to create something using the peppermint patty flavors. This has my drooling! Yummy!

  28. Alexandra said, on November 25, 2013 at 5:35 PM

    I think I’d have to start with the Peppermint Patties. I’ve been addicted to the “unhealthy” version ever since I was a child and would love to have a recipe for ones I don’t feel quite so guilty about eating! Yum!

  29. […] PPS. There is still time to enter my giveaway for The Simply Raw Kitchen. […]

  30. TC said, on December 3, 2013 at 11:14 AM

    The peppermint patties look fantastic! But I’m curious about the Happy Hemp Pesto with Parsnip Noodle recipe.

  31. thepeacepatch said, on December 3, 2013 at 8:27 PM

    I’m hooked on pancake stacks lately so I’d love to try Razzberry Pancakes, maybe with a few slices of mango too. Total yumfulness! :)

  32. Stephanie said, on December 4, 2013 at 1:36 PM

    Kale salad

  33. Benjamin said, on December 4, 2013 at 6:45 PM

    One of my favorite restaurant :) And the Lemon Poppyseed Energy Bites look delicious :D

  34. Maria said, on December 4, 2013 at 7:53 PM

    these are amazing! and one of the first things i made from this book as requested by my little taster (my son) who loves anything mint/chocolate :D i love what you did here!

    great review of the book btw :) next time you’re in Ottawa, definitely plan a visit to Natasha’s spot, she is fabulous! always warm, inviting, loving, and a real pleasure to be around :) you will love her! she will love YOU! x

  35. sweetsimplevegan said, on December 6, 2013 at 2:27 PM

    Definitely the Cauliflower Chowder! Cauliflower is my favorite cruciferous vegetable right now, and soup is my go to in this cold winter weather!

  36. Carolyn Audilet said, on December 6, 2013 at 4:13 PM

    I love soup. Especially so with this cold weather. I would love to make the Lentil Soup with Kale!

  37. Kelly Docherty said, on December 6, 2013 at 9:33 PM

    I would love to try the award winning marinated kale salad!

  38. Greg Allbee said, on December 7, 2013 at 7:52 AM

    Spicy Thai Salad sounds good to me!

  39. Sarah said, on December 9, 2013 at 6:50 PM

    the kale salad- drooooool

  40. […] swear, I wasn’t planning on sharing yet another dessert. But once I made these (uber wonderfully, possibly, yes, confirmed, the best chocolate I […]

  41. Raw Foods Thursday:  | Gluten-Free Cat said, on December 18, 2013 at 7:43 PM

    […] Raw Peppermint Patties by Janet of The Taste Space […]

  42. […] may seem like I have a plan for most of my purchases, but not this one. Reading through a new cookbook with coconut flour recipes, I envisioned running through my coconut flour fairly quickly. And while […]


What do you think?

