the taste space

Baked Caramelized Banana & Pecan Oatmeal

Posted in Breakfasts, Favourites by janet @ the taste space on December 1, 2013

Baked Caramelized Banana & Walnut Oatmeal

The recent cold, wet and rainy weather put a temporary hiatus on our weekend cycling. Thus, with a bit of extra time on our hands last weekend, Rob and I crafted a delicious weekend brunch.

Rob was becoming a bit overwhelmed by our weekly banana surplus. I agree 4 bunches for a $1 is great, but probably not the best idea 2 weeks in a row. After packing our freezer with frozen bananas, we then caramelized the leftovers ones into this spin on a bananas foster baked oatmeal.

Baked Caramelized Banana & Walnut Oatmeal

There are two ways to make this. When Rob and I team up together, we can easily divvy up the tasks: him caramelizing the bananas, while I mix together the rest of the oatmeal, which are then combined before baking. However, I have also made this solo, where I found it easier to simply caramelize my bananas, deglaze them with the milk and then directly mix the rest of the ingredients in the skillet, which is then subsequently baked. Less dirty dishes is always a perk.

While we have added the rum, we couldn’t really taste it, so it is definitely optional. Or, conversely add more if you want to taste it. Or perhaps drizzle it at the end.

Baked Caramelized Banana & Walnut Oatmeal

In any case, you have a delicious breakfast. I prefer it warm, fresh from the oven. The sweet, caramelized bananas melt tenderly amongst the creamy baked oats. I have used both walnuts and pecans, with good results. If you have any leftovers, this is good chilled, too. Of course, that only works if you have leftovers. ;)

Baked oatmeal made previously:

Baked Apple Banana Oatmeal
Baked Pumpkin Cranberry Oatmeal Breakfast Pudding
Baked Blueberry Oatmeal Breakfast Pudding
Apricot Oatmeal Breakfast Clafoutis
Rhubarb Baked Oatmeal
Peanut Butter Cookie Baked Oatmeal

This is my submission to this month’s Bookmarked Recipes.

PS. The winner for the Raw & Simple giveaway is Emma.

Baked Caramelized Banana & Pecan Oatmeal
Adapted from Oh She Glows

3 small firm ripe bananas, chopped (you could add an additional sliced banana, overtop, if you want it to be more pretty!)
1 tbsp coconut oil
1-2 tbsp Kahlua or rum, optional (we are not sure you can taste it)
sprinkle of cinnamon
1 & 1/4 cup non-dairy milk (I have used coconut and almond milk)
1 tsp vanilla extract
3/4 cup rolled oats
1/4 cup oat flour (grind regular oats in a spice grinder or food processor)
1/2 cup pecans, chopped (chopped walnuts work great, too)
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp baking powder or baking soda
pinch of fine grain sea salt

1. Preheat oven to 350F.

2. In an oven-proof casserole dish (I have done it with a 7″ and a 9″ square dish), melt oil and rum. Stir in bananas and saute until softened and caramelized. Sprinkle with cinnamon.

3. Deglaze with the milk and vanilla, scraping up any bits on the bottom. Stir in the oats, oat flour, walnuts, cinnamon, baking powder and salt until well combined.

4. Bake for 45 minutes, until the top is firm. It will not seem cooked but it will be a lovely slightly gooey concoction that will firm up as it sits, and even more as leftovers, if you have any.

Serves 2-4.

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Joanne said, on December 1, 2013 at 8:44 AM

    Caramelized bananas…yum yum yum! I’m sure they make this baked oatmeal extra delicious!

  2. Gabby @ the veggie nook said, on December 1, 2013 at 2:19 PM

    Cold in Houston?? Don’t be complaining, it’s been mighty chilly here!

    This sounds like it would be a wonderful special breakfast for Christmas what with all the carmelizing ;)

    Oh lord, I just made the connection- almost Christmas means you are coming back for a bit soon! yay!

  3. Ellen Lederman said, on December 1, 2013 at 9:20 PM

    I almost didn’t read this after glancing at it quickly and thinking it was just a bowl of cooked oatmeal (which I never eat—just have it in granola) with bananas on top. I completely missed the baked part…and what a difference a bake makes! (apologies to Dinah Washington.) I am definitely making this next Saturday or Sunday. With the rum, of course.

    Thanks for posting.

    This actually seems like bread pudding, but w/o the oats—oat pudding?

    • janet @ the taste space said, on December 3, 2013 at 2:19 PM

      Rob is more into granola, too, but I love the cooked stuff…. But we both loved this – it just takes more coordination. If you are serving for guests, a chopped banana would be really pretty on top. Please report back with your thoughts. :)

  4. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts said, on December 2, 2013 at 1:01 AM

    I’m pretty sure I will never be organised / motivated enough to make this for breakfast. For snacking, though? Absolutely!

  5. Johanna GGG said, on December 2, 2013 at 6:55 AM

    Oh that sounds good to me – I go hot and cold on bananas but they usually get my vote when caramelised – though I would only have the time and energy for this on a weekend.

    By the way I smiled at the winter weather curtailing your cycling – I have been trying to have a short bike ride each of the last few weekends but this weekend it was the hot weather than made me curtail my cycling.

    • janet @ the taste space said, on December 3, 2013 at 2:24 PM

      Haha, I hear you, Johanna. Everyone thought I was nuts for biking in the heat. Although I like biking because you make your own wind and it usually isn’t so bad. The humidity makes it bad in Houston. Rain nearly always deters me and ice/snow always has been away… but cold, I can usually wear enough clothes to make it worthwhile. :)

  6. coconutandberries said, on December 2, 2013 at 9:18 AM

    It makes me sad to think of all those years I wasted not liking bananas….
    I’ve only tried a couple of variations on baked oatmeal but they have been yummy so I should make it more often. I like the sound of the pumpkin cranberry version too.
    Can’t wait for Raw & Simple- thanks so much again for hosting the giveaway!

    • janet @ the taste space said, on December 3, 2013 at 2:25 PM

      Our taste buds must change as we age… or as we eat different things. After going vegan, I definitely enjoy a lot more fruit and veggies. :)

  7. […] left Houston, and its cold weather, and thankfully, by the time we returned, it was back to its glorious warm self. I am back to […]

  8. […] evidenced by my maple pecan shortbread cookies, vegan cheesecake with a pecan shortbread crust, baked caramelized banana & pecan oatmeal and even a savoury brussels sprouts slaw with pecans and […]

  9. Ellen Lederman said, on December 11, 2013 at 7:45 AM

    Loved this! Couldn’t taste the Kahlua per se—just that the bananas were yummy. Just as good two days later cold!


What do you think?

