the taste space

Pumpkin Pecan Frosted Cinnamon Buns

Posted in Desserts by Janet M on December 7, 2013

Pumpkin Pecan Butter Frosting

I consider my blog to be a public food journal. And as I share my favourite recipes, I may unearth some trends.

Right now, I seem to be all about pecans.

(As evidenced by my maple pecan shortbread cookies, vegan cheesecake with a pecan shortbread crust, baked caramelized banana & pecan oatmeal and even a savoury brussels sprouts slaw with pecans and cranberries)

I say pee-cans, but recently, I can catch myself with a Southern drawl muttering pe-cahns, too.

Pecans are a taste of the Southern United States, and I am trying to relish in all good things here.

Pumpkin Pecan Butter Frosting

Take this pumpkin pecan butter frosting.

I originally made this as a way to tame our consumption of nut butters… and cookie butters. Did I mention how fast my parents devoured the cookie butter? Three days, three people, finito.

Rob declared this spread tasting like a hug. With the warming cinnamon with a pumpkin backdrop, I could see why. This was not as rich as our regular nut butters (obviously!), but it worked remarkably well as a frosting. Thanks to Gaby and Max, we used it to frost Sinfull Bakery’s monster vegan cinnamon bun for a fall-inspired treat.

Pumpkin Pecan Butter Frosting

Now it is your turn: How do you pronounce pecan?

Pumpkin Pecan Butter Frosting
Adapted from Oh She Glows

1 cup raw pecans, soaked if you don’t have a high-speed blender
1 cup non-dairy milk
3/4 cup pureed pumpkin (I used canned)
2 tbsp chia seeds
1 tbsp coconut oil
2 tsp pure vanilla extract
1.5 tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
dash of ground cloves
1-2 tbsp maple syrup or other liquid sweetener, to taste

1. Place all ingredients in a high-speed blender and blend until completely smooth. Adjust sweetener to taste.

2. Store in the fridge in an air-tight container for up to 1 week. Use it as a frosting, or as a dip for apples, toast, etc.

Makes 2 cups.

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. coconutandberries said, on December 7, 2013 at 2:02 PM

    I saw the picture and thought you’d broken your flour-free pantry rule! Apparently not ;)
    The frosting looks sublime. I could definitely see myself eating this with a spoon.

  2. coconutandberries said, on December 7, 2013 at 2:34 PM

    Oh and I’ve never heard it pronounced “pe-cahn” that sounds funny to me- Definitely “pee-can”. Now written out that sounds even worse though!!

  3. Maria said, on December 7, 2013 at 8:34 PM

    i will be making this and keeping it close by (especially during the times when i need a big hug from my son but he is at school or with his dad) :)

    i pronounce pee-can like you do..pe-cahn sounds a little more sophisticated though, i think.

  4. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts said, on December 7, 2013 at 11:34 PM

    I definitely say pee-can, but i’d say it anyway at all in order to get some of this! Delicious :)

  5. Johanna GGG said, on December 8, 2013 at 2:53 AM

    pee-can – but isn’t it funny that food blogging is about the written word and we don’t see the difference in pronunciation so much usually. Your frosting looks so creamy and delicious that it makes me want to bake a cake just so I can smother it :-)

  6. Joanne said, on December 8, 2013 at 10:11 AM

    I would just eat a jar of this. No cinnamon buns necessary. And I’m in the pe-cahn camp1

  7. erika said, on December 11, 2013 at 10:17 AM

    Oh my god SINFULLLLL. I’m literally staring at my screen in want. This sounds like an amazing frosting to top an amazingggg pastry. Also, I thought pee-can was the Southern pronunciation! I say pe-cahn because I think that’s how I’ve heard everyone else say it in California. Anyhoo, either way–totally delicious!

  8. […] swear, I wasn’t planning on sharing yet another dessert. But once I made these (uber wonderfully, possibly, yes, confirmed, the best […]

  9. Heather // girlichef said, on December 16, 2013 at 9:25 AM

    I say pe-cahns…but right now I can’t concentrate on that – these look insane! Just that frosting alone has my cheeks tingling. Amazing!

  10. beate weiss-krull (@Beatepdx) said, on December 18, 2013 at 11:59 PM

    I say it with my German accent and I am so with that trend. Yes, pecans rock and your pumpkin pecan Forster cinnamon buns look out of this world! ~ Bea @ The Not So Cheesy Kitchen


What do you think?

