the taste space

Indian-Spiced Mung Bean Stew

Posted in Mains (Vegetarian), Soups by Janet M on January 7, 2014

Mung Bean Casserole

While it may seem like I had a severe lack of down-time  over the holidays, I was able to catch up on a few things on my to-do list. I caught up on the links Rob routinely shares with me, watched my share of movies, read a few books and cooked up a few bookmarked recipes. In the spirit of clearing out a bit of blogging backlog, I thought you may enjoy my favourite finds, too… so here were my linkable highlights:

1. 38 Life Lessons Leo has Learned in 38 Years.Great list. An old post, but timely in the spirit of the New Year.

2. Batkid: More feel-good moments. My friend was The Penguin in this heist. You can read about his experience here.

3. 2013 World Press Photo Winners. I would scope out the travelling exhibit of jaw-dropping photography while in Toronto, but this year I savoured it online.

4. 2013 National Geographic Photo Competition Winners. Another fabulous collection of photographs can be savoured online. National Geographic rarely disappoints for awesome pictures, including this other favourite.

5. Time-Lapse Auroras Over Norway. Watch it. Love it. It brings me back to my vacation in Iceland.

6. The Happiest Facts of All Time. Very cute list.

7. Ten Words You’ve Probably Been Misusing. Not entirely accurate but I am guilty of a few misused words. ;)

Mung Bean Casserole

I have been gravitating to easier meals and have not been cooking up as many dried beans from scratch lately. One solution to this problem is to use quick-cooking no-soaking needed beans, like lentils, anasazi and mung beans. Yes, mung beans. I am back on the mung bean bandwagon with great results. Simmer the mung beans directly with an assortment of veggies (kabocha squash, tomato, bell pepper and spinach here) with simple Indian spices: cumin, fenugreek and turmeric. The kabocha squash and mung beans melt into a deliciously creamy stew. A thick and hearty stew, perfect for the winter.

Where have you been on the web recently?

Mung Bean Casserole

This is my submission to Deb for this week’s Souper Sundays and to this month’s Let’s Cook with Green Vegetables.

Indian-Spiced Mung Bean Stew (aka Mung Bean Casserole)
Adapted from Pulse

1 tbsp coconut oil, or oil of choice
1 tsp fenugreek seeds
1 tsp cumin seeds
3 garlic cloves, thinly sliced
2 cm knob fresh ginger, freshly grated (around 1 tbsp)
1/2 tsp Aleppo chili pepper, or to taste (this was not spicy)
1 onion, chopped
1-2 red bell peppers, sliced
2 lb kabocha squash, washed and chopped into 1-cm chunks (or sweet potatoes, or your choice of winter squash)
1 tsp turmeric
1.5 cups dry mung beans, rinsed and drained
4-6 cups water or veggie stock (I added 1 tbsp nutritional yeast to the water)
500g fresh spinach, roughly chopped (350g prepped)
1 pint tomatoes, cut into chunks
juice of 2 limes (optional, I forgot to add it)
salt to taste

1. In a medium pot over medium-high heat, add oil. Once hot, add fenugreek and cumin seeds, stirring occasionally, for approximately one minute. Do not let burn. Add garlic, ginger, chili flakes, onion and bell peppers. Saute until the onions are translucent, stirring often, approximately 7 minutes. Add the kabocha squash and turmeric and stir to coat in the onion medley. Add mung beans and water/nooch (or vegetable stock).

2. Cover, raise heat to high and bring to a boil. Once boiling, reduce heat to allow the stew to simmer for 45 minutes, until the mung beans are cooked through. Add the tomatoes and spinach and cook for a further 5-10 minutes, until the spinach wilts.

3. Remove form heat. Add lime juice and season to taste. Serve with your favourite Indian bread, rice or eat it as is.

Serves 4.

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. shartran said, on January 7, 2014 at 7:23 AM

    I could certainly enjoy a huge bowl of that anytime!! YUM:))

  2. Gabby @ the veggie nook said, on January 7, 2014 at 7:54 AM

    I seriously need to start cooking more composed meals like you do- fast yes, but still wonderful, delicious and it feels complete. I’ve been so unsatisfied with my meals lately because they are thrown together. Teach me your ways!!

    I read the 30 happiest facts a little while ago and I was grinning like an idiot for an hour :)

  3. Laura said, on January 7, 2014 at 10:10 AM

    I keep reading about mung beans but still have tried them! They sounds awesome in this recipe – I just need to do it!

  4. Ellen Lederman said, on January 7, 2014 at 11:52 AM

    I like your links! I also like elephant journal, a yoga and mindful living site:

    http://www.elephantjournal.com/

    And one green planet, which features vegan recipes from all over the web:

    http://www.onegreenplanet.org/

    I am definitely going to make this! After years of avoiding bean sprouts because of reported bacterial contamination, I realized I have never gotten sick from them when I eat Vietnamese food and am back to sprouting. have never cooked them, so this will be a first.

    Is kabocha squash frightfully expensive in Houston? Not sure why they charge so much for it than acorn or butternut squash. Ordered a dish that was half of a Kobocha stuffed with some rice in a Korean restaurant and it was double or triple what most vegan entrees are!

  5. Nayna Kanabar (@SIMPLYF00D) said, on January 7, 2014 at 1:17 PM

    I love moong beans and this stew looks really delicious and so healthy too.

  6. coconutandberries said, on January 7, 2014 at 4:13 PM

    I’ve been thinking about mung beans for the last few days! This looks so darn good!
    Thanks for sharing your links- that happy list made me smile over and over :D

  7. Joanne said, on January 7, 2014 at 9:10 PM

    Have yet to try mung beans! Must seek them out immediately. Or I guess I could make this with the red lentils I have in the pantry!

  8. Deb in Hawaii said, on January 12, 2014 at 8:27 PM

    I have a bag of mung beans in the pantry–I need to get cooking with them. This stew looks perfectly hearty and has all of my favorite flavors. Thanks for sharing it with Souper Sundays this week. (You have been missed!) ;-)

  9. Simona said, on January 12, 2014 at 9:37 PM

    Like Deb, I have some mung beans in the pantry that I need to turn into something. Thanks for the great suggestion.

  10. Hanna said, on January 13, 2014 at 8:53 AM

    Mung beans! I never know what to do with them, and I could definitely eat this right now! looks yum!

  11. Hanna The Veganarian said, on January 17, 2014 at 10:57 AM

    Hi Janet, just wanted to say thanks for sharing this recipe, it really inspired me, and I featured a version of it over on my blog supersimplevegan.blogspot.com if you wanted to take a look!
    x

  12. […] Which also meant that Rob’s to-read list got longer as I punted them to him as well! Like my last link share, I figured you may enjoy them, too. There are a few travel-related links here. You know that I like […]


What do you think?

