the taste space

Lemon-Mustard Glazed Carrots and Chickpeas (aka Yassa Chickpeas)

Posted in Mains (Vegetarian) by janet @ the taste space on January 30, 2014

Yassa Chickpeas

Based on my review of vegan nutrition books, you can tell why I always try to eat a lot of beans. So much so, that when I travel and people want to know what I eat, I tell them that something as simple as vegetables and a can of chickpeas would suffice. My family is actually really good about making sure there is food for me, but I still have fun cooking in the kitchen while travelling.

Yassa Chickpeas

During our trip back home during the holidays, not only did I make a delicious dark chocolate peanut butter pie (delicious, definitely check it out), but I made this dish a few times. Basically, it is a simple dish of mustard/lemon-glazed root vegetables and chickpeas but I experimented each time I made it. While I could count on everyone having mustard available, every time was a bit different depending on what was in the kitchen. I learned that this is definitely better with garlic, tamari/soy sauce is preferred and while this is nice with carrots, the addition of parsnip is a fun twist. This is a great comforting dish for anyone looking to warm their kitchen with your oven. ;)

What did you think of the nutritional recommendations from the review? Do you feel like you eat enough of the different areas?

Yassa Chickpeas

This is my submission to this month’s Bookmarked Recipes.

PS. The winners for the nutrition books are: Rachel with Vegan For Her and Moo with Becoming Vegan Express. Congratulations!

Lemon-Mustard Glazed Carrots and Chickpeas (aka Yassa Chickpeas)
Inspired by Julia’s Vegan Kitchen

1/4 cup Dijon mustard
1/4 cup fresh lemon juice
1 tbsp tamari or soy sauce
2 tbsp pressed/minced garlic

1.5-2 cups cooked chickpeas, rinsed and drained if canned
4 onions, sliced
2 large carrots, peeled and chopped
1 large parsnip, peeled and chopped

1. Preheat oven to 400F.

2. In a large oven-proof dish, place mustard, lemon juice, tamari and garlic. Mix together until smooth. Place chickpeas, chopped onions, carrots and parsnip. Mix in the sauce. Drizzle with a touch of oil if desired and season with salt and pepper, too, if needed. (I would not fault you if you decide you need more sauce, but I liked it well enough with this amount). Cover with aluminum foil and bake for 20 minutes at 400F. Remove foil and bake for an additional 20-40 minutes, until the vegetables are tender.

Serves 3-4.

19 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lucie Elizabeth said, on January 30, 2014 at 8:47 AM

    I was absolutely thrilled to read I had won your giveaway this morning – thank you so much, you made my day =] As for this recipe, I cannot get enough of lentils right now, there is something about the subtly “crunch” of them that make my taste buds do a little dance each time I cook with them, so delicious! I will certainly be trying this recipe.

    journeysthroughmeadows.blogspot.com

  2. Laura said, on January 30, 2014 at 9:38 AM

    His delicious is this!?!? Looks so amazing!

  3. Deena Kakaya said, on January 30, 2014 at 9:55 AM

    Lovely, light and fresh x

  4. sprint2thetable said, on January 30, 2014 at 10:26 AM

    I love beans, and I always have a can in the pantry in case of (polar) emergency. I rarely bake them… this sound perfect for our little winter vortex.

  5. tastyrules said, on January 30, 2014 at 11:18 AM

    It looks great! Congrats :)

  6. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts said, on January 30, 2014 at 6:54 PM

    This looks lovely and as you say, simple to mix up with kitchen staples. I love it when basic ingredients come together into something fancier than the sum of the parts :)

  7. Eileen said, on January 30, 2014 at 7:47 PM

    Simple veg and chickpeas, together forever. :) I love the idea of a spicy mustard dressing here!

  8. saucygander said, on January 31, 2014 at 5:42 PM

    I don’t think I’ve ever had the mustard and soy/tamari combination. Must give this a go, since I just tried to make mustard at home last weekend. :-D

    • janet @ the taste space said, on January 31, 2014 at 6:09 PM

      I hope you share your mustard making experience. I thought about making it myself, too!

      • saucygander said, on January 31, 2014 at 11:39 PM

        I will share about mustard making, once our mustard passes the taste test! :-)

  9. julia said, on February 1, 2014 at 1:24 AM

    Awesome! I actually made Smitten Kitchen’s dijon-braised Brussels sprouts tonight, so I am totally back on the mustardy sour bandwagon!

  10. coconutandberries said, on February 1, 2014 at 3:05 PM

    mmm, I know I’d love this. I honestly can’t imagine a life without beans now, especially not without chickpeas! I just checked back at the nutritional recommendations and think I’m doing ok. I’m only low on fruit and that’s not out of choice.

  11. Hannah said, on February 1, 2014 at 4:38 PM

    Ha! This combination is exactly what I tossed through the veggies I’m eating right now. With chilli too, though.

    • janet @ the taste space said, on February 2, 2014 at 7:01 AM

      Awesome! I love how we’re on the same page. :) Oddly enough, both kitchens I tried this out had no chile flakes! I guess Polish people don’t like spice. (And one didn’t eve have garlic…) BUT I think I will try that next time, though. Yum!

  12. kimmythevegan said, on February 3, 2014 at 12:23 AM

    Mmmm love how this is simple to make. My mom is pretty good about having food for me too, but I love simple meal ideas as I don’t expect her to cook for me.

  13. Gabby @ the veggie nook said, on February 9, 2014 at 10:59 PM

    I never thought to roast veggies in a combination of mustard and lemon! Weird because Mustard is my absolute favourite condiment. This could be life altering :O

    • janet @ the taste space said, on February 10, 2014 at 9:37 AM

      DO IT! :)

      PS. We are planning a mustard tasting party… we have some serious mustard lovers here in Houston. :)

  14. […] 40% like cheese. It was 90% like cheese as the uncooked spread. With my recent infatuation with all things mustard, I thought it was perfect with a side of sauerkraut as well. (With a shout-out to this recipe that […]

  15. Jac -Tinned Tomatoes (@tinnedtoms) said, on March 16, 2014 at 7:25 PM

    I am off to look at the pie, but before I do I wanted to say how much I love this dish.


What do you think?

