the taste space

High Raw Vegetable Chili

Posted in Mains (Vegetarian) by janet @ the taste space on February 13, 2014

High Raw Vegetable Chili

Raspberries and tomatoes: red foods for Valentine’s Day! Matt, a friend from Canada, is joining us right now so for tomorrow, I think Rob will be making all of us dinner! Youpee!

Tomorrow is also the day to sign up for Cycle Oregon. After mulling over our options, we decided to scrap the Houston-Austin MS 150. Instead, Rob and I will be training for the 1-day 100 mile Shiner GASP (Great Austin to Shiner Pedal) ride this spring. For many reasons, we switched allegiances. I always prefer the first day of the long cycling rides and this will allow us to enjoy some time in Austin afterwards. (Free beer from the Spoetzle Brewery once we finish doesn’t hurt, either). And yes, it is only a stepping stone. Our master plan (provided we snag a porter) is to do Cycle Oregon this fall.

Cycle Oregon is not for the faint of heart: 2200 cyclists. 7 days. The route changes every year and this year it is over 400 miles and over 30,000 ft in incline. The hilly route mimics a portion of our beautiful roadtrip from Portland to Burning Man. This time, it will be by bike instead of by car.

Having a goal is a great way to stay on track. Even though we haven’t started training in earnest yet (blasted knees!), reading Gena’s snippet in No Meat Athlete about raw foods, reminded me why it is good to incorporate a variety of foods into your diet. Cooked or raw. And raw definitely does not need to be a salad. In the winter (even Houston’s winter), it can be hard for me to eat salads.

Filled with veggies, this is a fun twist on chili, done raw-style. A hybrid of my raw chili dip and chili salad wraps, this is a fun high-raw hearty chili. Red peppers and sun-dried tomatoes spiced with chili powder, tamarind and cocoa powder (YES!) create a smooth sauce that coats more veggies and beans. I used cooked pinto beans to make this a filling dish (and in my experience, easier to digest than using sprouted beans).

Is anyone else planning to do Cycle Oregon? We hope to have a small Cobra* contingent.

*Cobras are the name of our biker gang. We are a very inclusive bunch. Join us!

High Raw Vegetable Chili

PS. This is my submission to Anyone Can Cook Vegetarian Food for tomatoes.

High Raw Vegetable Chili
Adapted from Raw & Simple

1 cup water
3 tbsp sun-dried tomatoes, soaked if dry
1/3 cup red bell pepper
1 tbsp red pepper paste (can substitute tomato paste)
1 date, pitted
1 tbsp chili powder
1 tsp tahini
1.5 tsp cocoa powder
1 tsp tamarind concentrate
1/4 tsp salt, or to taste
1 garlic clove
1/2 tsp granulated onion powder
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp Aleppo chili flakes (can sub a different chili powder – Ancho or chipotle, if you wish), to taste
1.5 cups cooked pinto beans, rinsed and drained if canned
1 cup zucchini, chopped
1 cup tomatoes, chopped (I used cherry tomatoes)
1 cup yellow bell pepper, chopped
1/4 cup yellow onion, chopped

1. In a high-speed blender, combine water, sun-dried tomatoes, red bell pepper, red pepper paste, date, chili powder, tahini, cocoa powder, tamarind concentrate, salt, garlic, onion powder, cinnamon, and chili flakes. Blend until smooth. Add more water to thin to desired consistency (although your raw vegetables may ooze some liquid, so don’t go too thin). Season to taste.

2. In a bowl, combine the cooked pinto beans, zucchini, tomatoes, bell pepper, and onion. Stir in the sauce. Season to taste.

Serves 2-3.

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Laura said, on February 13, 2014 at 9:26 AM

    Oh my goodness – I love that this is high raw! Yum!

  2. Lisa said, on February 13, 2014 at 9:43 AM

    THAT looks gorgeous. Another must try from you lovely site.

  3. Ellen Lederman said, on February 13, 2014 at 9:51 AM

    I love the Matthew Kenney raw chili recipe, but this sounds even better…..combining cooked beans and tamarind concentrate (we now have 6 bottles of it, thanks to a deal on Amazon) and cocoa.
    Wish I could make it today,, but it’s the third day of the Atlanta snow-in and I definitely can’t get to the grocery store today.

    My legs are cramping just at the thought of doing all the miles you are planning….

  4. Johanna GGG said, on February 13, 2014 at 6:17 PM

    wow those ingredients taste amazing – and the great thing about a raw chilli is that you could take it with you for lunch – even on your ride :-) Seriously, I admire your cycling feats – got out on my bike yesterday and loved it but opportunities aren’t as many as I would love

  5. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts said, on February 13, 2014 at 7:16 PM

    Your cycle plans sound like lots of fun! And also a big challenge…but lots of fun :) This looks like just the dish to fuel you into training too.

  6. Gabby @ the veggie nook said, on February 13, 2014 at 8:30 PM

    I find the idea of raw chilli a tad strange, I don’t think I’d ever make it, although would definitely be tempted should I see it on a menu at a restaurant or offered it by a friend. To me, chilli needs to be well cooked and hot! That being said, this does look damn delicious :)

    • janet @ the taste space said, on February 14, 2014 at 8:15 AM

      Gabby, I should make it for you! it is true this isn’t heated up (but one could), but since I am so used to eating cold leftovers at work, it makes no difference in the end.. hahaha! :)

  7. Gaby said, on February 13, 2014 at 11:14 PM

    Wow, that sounds like an intense ride! But a lot of fun and beautiful scenery! I have a friend who did a 6 day tour of Ireland bike tour, I bet that would a great experience, going from small town to small town.
    This dish looks awesome, I have yours and some other simliar chili recipes bookmarked. Have you found a place to buy decently priced sundried tomatoes? I love them but they always seem so expensive for such small amounts!

    • janet @ the taste space said, on February 14, 2014 at 8:14 AM

      Please don’t put that idea into Rob’s head. He really wants to go bicycle tourist thing in Europe but I am not a fan….. ;)

      Re: sun-dried tomatoes, I have bought them from Phoenicia and lastly from nuts.com, but I forget which was cheaper. Both were great quality, though. The good thing about sun-dried tomatoes is that a little goes a love way.. they taste way better then fresh tomatoes!

  8. Alissa (@alissaloves) said, on February 14, 2014 at 4:04 AM

    Yummy! Thanks for the recipe. I’m thinking about signing up for my first 100mile cycle this year – just getting up the nerve to go for it!

  9. kimmythevegan said, on February 15, 2014 at 1:02 AM

    This is such a unique sounding raw recipe (and delicious sounding of course!).
    Go you and your husband for all of that awesome cycling!

  10. […] also registered us for Cycle Oregon. Tent porter, and all: we’re committed. Lucky (or unlucky) for me, cycling is easier on me than […]

  11. Heather @Gluten-Free Cat said, on February 17, 2014 at 5:23 PM

    Oh, I’m all over this one. I just made a raw soup today and thought, “Am I crazy??? It’s 17 freaking degrees out!” Glad you’re just as crazy as I am. :)


What do you think?

