the taste space

Indian-Spiced Creamed Collard Greens & Tofu

Posted in Mains (Vegetarian) by Janet M on February 18, 2014

Indian-Spiced Creamed Collard Greens & Tofu

I have resorted to this blog to help settle a question. Between these two words, which do you recognize? One? Both? None?

Ablution

Ambulate

Full disclosure: Rob’s word was ablution. I had never heard of it before. Me, I use ambulate all the time. Rob swears it is medical jargon.

The best part? We both agreed on one word: ablation. Mainly because there is a medical/biological use as well as a nerdy space definition.

As your ponder your newest words, this will be a short post with a short recipe.

This is an Indian spin on creamed greens. Beefed up with some tofu, you pan-fry it first, then simmer it along with coconut milk and collard greens. Easy peasy. Serve with some brown rice if desired. Kind of a hybrid of my Spicy Coconut Braised Collards and Indian-Spiced Chickpeas and Kale. All delicious.

Looking for other reading to keep your brain working? I try not to disappoint and will steer you elsewhere.

Other recommended links:

Why the Olympics Are a Lot Like ‘The Hunger Games’
The Power of Protein Timing
Sweet nothing: The real science behind sugar
All About The Filter Bubble (make sure to watch the associated TED talk)

Indian-Spiced Creamed Collard Greens & Tofu

This is my submission to Speedy Suppers.

Indian-Spiced Creamed Collard Greens & Tofu
Adapted from The Blissful Chef

1/3 cup water or broth, or more if needed
half onion, chopped (1/2 cup)
salt, to taste
1 clove garlic, minced
1 tsp grated ginger
1 tsp garam masala
1 tsp ground coriander
1/2 tsp ground cumin
350g firm tofu, chopped into small cubes
1 cup coconut milk
~3 cups thinly sliced collard greens (200g prepped)
1/4 tsp Aleppo chili flakes, or to taste
salt and pepper, to taste

1. In a medium/late skillet, heat water. Add onion, sprinkle with salt and saute until softened, adding more water if it becomes too dry. Add garlic and ginger and saute 1-2 minutes, until fragrant. Add garam masala, coriander, and cumin and toast for 30 seconds, until fragrant. Add tofu and saute until slightly browned.

2. Deglaze with the coconut milk and stir in collard greens. Sprinkle with chili flakes. Cover and bring to a simmer. Remove lid and simmer for 8-10 minutes, until the collards are a brilliant green and tender. Season with salt and pepper.

Serves 2-3.

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jasmin said, on February 18, 2014 at 8:49 AM

    hmmmm! I will try this :)

  2. Laura said, on February 18, 2014 at 9:31 AM

    Both are GRE words! and because I’m a word nerd, I actually remember them! Loving this dish too – yum!

  3. Deena Kakaya said, on February 18, 2014 at 10:03 AM

    Lovely! Just my kind of thing. Would love you to add this to fabfusionfoods x

  4. gillbla said, on February 18, 2014 at 12:10 PM

    I’ve definitely heard of “Ablution” in the context of women in bye-gone time performing their ablutions – a sort of beautification ritual, or in the context of religious ritual washing. I’m rather excited though to find out that “Ambulate” is a word. I’ve frequently gone for a “perambulation” with my dad – usually the word gets used to refer to that post Christmas dinner walk around the block in the cold air, which is designed to make us feel less like we’ve just been eating and sitting all day and give us an excuse for cake and tea!

    As for “ablation” I’d never heard of it, but I don’t fancy it ever being used on me! You say it’#s medical? Yikes!

  5. Eileen said, on February 18, 2014 at 1:15 PM

    Well, I know both those words, but I also have two English degrees and have taken the GRE three times, so there’s that. :) Anyway. these greens sound so good! I haven’t really used tofu in Indian food before, so I think I need to give it a try.

  6. Joanne said, on February 18, 2014 at 8:38 PM

    Doesn’t ablution have something to do with washing? And yes, I know ambulate. And ablation.

    Also – I want these collards! Indian spices FTW!

  7. Ellen Lederman said, on February 18, 2014 at 9:37 PM

    Know ambulation from being an occupational therapist—we would classify patients as being ambulatory or not.
    Fell short on ablution. Indian collard greens—not heard of, do an Indian spinach, but collard greens would be a cool variation.

  8. Hannah said, on February 19, 2014 at 7:40 PM

    Yep, knew both.

  9. The Vegan 8 said, on February 20, 2014 at 1:54 AM

    Haha, I’ve actually never heard of either word! This dish on the otherhand looks delicious…I pretty much am a sucker for anything involving greens :) Loving all of those amazing spices too…bet it smells fantastic.

  10. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts said, on February 20, 2014 at 3:47 AM

    I knew both, but don’t think I have ever said ambulate myself!

    Luckily no debate is needed on these greens and tofu. Delicious!

  11. […] of all, you guys are awesome. You guys are word wizards! I love it! (And yes, I realize there is a selection bias based on who chooses to write a comment, […]

  12. Gabby @ the veggie nook said, on February 20, 2014 at 8:43 AM

    At first, I had noooo idea what either word meant, but then I gave ambulation a try and I got it! While not a common term, I certainly used it a lot in school for Kin. Although the other 2, you guys are on your own there!

    On another note- more nerdy posts like this please- I loooove nerding out about words and various other things so it fills my heart with happiness when bloggers do it!

    Delicious food of course too!

  13. Sarah, Maison Cupcake said, on February 28, 2014 at 11:28 AM

    I know what ablutions are but always think of it as old fashioned word and never use it. Never come across ambulate – is it the verb for transporting someone in an ambulance?!

    Loving your tofu supper, looks very healthy with those dark greens. Thanks for sending to Speedy Suppers!


What do you think?

