the taste space

Roasted Cocoa Cauliflower

Posted in Sides by Janet M on March 1, 2014

Roasted Cocoa Cauliflower

Will you forgive me for another simple cauliflower recipe?

Because I have a problem: I will eat the whole head of cauliflower in one sitting.

If Rob is around, I might share it. If he is not, I will definitely eat the whole head.

Even to me, it sounds like a lot of cauliflower. But I swear, it starts off as a lot and after I roast it, it shrivels to a manageable and enjoyable feat.

I started by buying 1 cauliflower a week. Then it was two. I rationalized that to last the whole week, I should start buying at least 5 heads of cauliflower. Matt thought that was crazy. He dissuaded me from increasing my cauliflower purchases.

Then I let him taste my roasted cocoa cauliflower.

Roasted Cocoa Cauliflower

I would be lying if I insinuated he then agreed with my fanciful cauliflower plans. But he understood.

It is a simple recipe which surprises you. Cocoa is normally associated with sweet recipes, but instead the cocoa is paired with a hefty dose of smoked paprika. The cocoa provides a fun depth to the smoky paprika which is accentuated by the lemon pepper seasoning. (Why do I use lemon pepper seasoning? Well, I am too lazy to break out the spice grinder for simply 2 peppercorns. Plus the lemon bits add a fun twist, too).

I know it sounds crazy but after a few others had success, I had to try it out, too. And I was so happy I did.

PS. I have long been smitten by the prettiness of roasting a whole head of cauliflower, but I have yet to be convinced it tastes much better. In fact, I would think the core would not cook through entirely which is why I break up my florets first.

Roasted Cocoa Cauliflower

PPS. This is my submission to this month’s Bookmarked Recipes, Extra Veg, and Laura’s Strange but Good Link-Up.

Roasted Cocoa Cauliflower
Adapted from Gluten-Free Girl

1 small head of cauliflower, greens trimmed and chopped into large florets
1.5 tsp cocoa powder
1 tbsp smoked paprika
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp lemon pepper seasoning
1 tbsp melted coconut oil (or more to thin)

1. Preheat oven to 425F.

2. In a small bowl, combine the cocoa powder, smoked paprika, salt, lemon pepper seasoning and oil. Stir to combine. Thin with more oil if desired.

3. Place cauliflower florets in a large bowl. Drizzle with spice mixture and stir to evenly distribute. It is a bit challenging if you don’t have the proper thinness to your spice mixture but eventually it will mostly even out.

4. Place cauliflower on silpat-lined baking sheet. Make sure they are evenly spaced out. Roast at 425F for 25-30 minutes, or until tender.

Serves 1-2.

19 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Linda said, on March 1, 2014 at 8:49 AM

    Sounds fun! But I can’t do MSG, which is in every lemon pepper seasoning locally available. Easier for me to grate a bit of lemon zest and pepper…

  2. Linda Adams said, on March 1, 2014 at 9:00 AM

    Just thought I’d mention, a whole roasted cauliflower is both beautiful and delicious.  I simply wash that puppy, remove leaves and cut off core so the head sits directly on my silpat-lined cookie sheet.  Rub each head with a palm-full of olive oil (I do four heads at once for my large family), and stick in the oven at 400 for 90 minutes.  That’s it!  It comes out ready to enjoy plain, salted, dipped in BBQ or salsa, ketchup or pasta sauce, steak sauce or salad dressing.  I cut in quarters to serve.  Leftovers are great, too.  Oh, and I don’t toss out the core; I put that on the pan, too, and peel off the outer layer before I eat it.  What’s not to love?

  3. Laura said, on March 1, 2014 at 9:38 AM

    I will forgive you, especially since I’ve got cauliflower and needed a recipe!

  4. The vegan 8 said, on March 1, 2014 at 10:13 AM

    Interesting flavor combination, but as I’m sitting here imagining the flavors together, it actually sounds really delicious!!! I’m a sucker for anything cocoa related :)

  5. Matt said, on March 1, 2014 at 11:20 AM

    I made this first thing upon returning home from visiting you and it was great!! Thanks again for sharing Janet! :)

  6. Natalie Tamara said, on March 1, 2014 at 11:59 AM

    This sounds so delicious! I can imagine the cocoa and smoked paprika together really add such a deep flavour, I definitely want to try this out

  7. Aileen Cohen said, on March 1, 2014 at 12:47 PM

    Glad I am not the only one eating copious amounts of cauliflower in one sitting. I roast mine in the toaster oven with brussel sprouts. Your recipe will be a nice change to the seasonings I have been using.

  8. Gabby @ the veggie nook said, on March 1, 2014 at 3:49 PM

    Yum! Cocoa + smoked paprika + lemon pepper- that sounds amazing!!

  9. The New Loaf said, on March 2, 2014 at 10:20 AM

    What an interesting recipe! Love the idea!

  10. Julie West said, on March 2, 2014 at 11:25 AM

    I can eat the whole head too! Love roasted cauliflower and the flavor combo sounds intriguingly delicious! Must try

  11. Shannon Y-I-V said, on March 2, 2014 at 3:43 PM

    I will never, ever get tired of cauliflower recipes! We probably go through a head of cauliflower every week, too. Mmmm. This is a really interesting combination and it sounds great.

  12. Suzanne @ hello, veggy! said, on March 2, 2014 at 6:37 PM

    GREAT idea for a healthy snack! Thanks for sharing

  13. Johanna GGG said, on March 3, 2014 at 8:25 PM

    wow – that looks amazing – chocolate, smoked paprika and cauliflower – must must run out and buy a cauliflower – I would have them about more but they take up so much room in my fridge

  14. cookeasyvegan said, on March 3, 2014 at 11:11 PM

    I never would have combined cocoa and cauliflower — but now I have to. It sounds so good.

  15. […] I haven’t beaten roasted cauliflower to death yet as it is my favourite way to eat it. But, have you tried roasting broccoli […]

  16. Gail said, on March 6, 2014 at 5:44 PM

    Made this last night. The only change I made was to sprinkle cayenne on……..just one word…….YUMMM!

  17. Cat said, on March 7, 2014 at 6:39 AM

    I JUST bought some cauliflower and was wondering how I could jazz it up! This is happening today. Love the chilli chocolate combo so much!

  18. Laura @ Sprint 2 the Table said, on March 7, 2014 at 2:45 PM

    I did this during competition when i was desperate for dessert! I dipped it in a chocolate protein powder sauce. Have you tried it with parsnips or carrots? It’s really good since those are pretty sweet. Anything for dessert. ;)

  19. Genevieve said, on March 7, 2014 at 6:47 PM

    I know what you mean about the shrivelling! I just roasted some broccoli and sweet potato last night thinking I had enough there for two meals, and when it came out of the oven I was scratching my head thinking, “this is all I get?” because it had all shrunk down so much! Anyway, I love roasted cauliflower even more, and I love the idea of combining cocoa with smoked paprika!


What do you think?

