the taste space

Caramelized Cabbage Soup

Posted in Mains (Vegetarian), Soups by Janet M on March 13, 2014

Caramelized Cabbage Soup

Even though Rob was away, in the end, it didn’t stop me from a) cooking some delicious meals and b) going out to cycle.

Going out for a bike ride by myself doesn’t seem like a big accomplishment, but I always save my long rides to do with friends. Of course, I commute by myself, but I always want to do my longer, harder challenges with someone else in case we get into trouble (flat tire, accident, get lost, etc).

This weekend, though, I took matters into my own hands. It was cold and windy but I circumvented the rain. I still managed to pedal 100 km over the weekend. Baby steps, as we haven’t done more than 30 km within the past few months. I stayed with a well-travelled and well-loved route.

I even had a flat tire. A slow leak I discovered Sunday morning and took out my commuter instead. I didn’t want to waste time and lose motivation changing my tire.

Caramelized Cabbage Soup

Because I split my ride over 2 days, I still had enough time to do my weekend batch cooking. One of my favourites was this soup. All.things.caramelized: caramelized cabbage, caramelized onions and caramelized leeks. If I had roasted the carrots, it may have turned into a sweetness overload. Just kidding. While you dirty a bunch of dishes, everything cooks or roasts in parallel so it doesn’t take as long as you might fear. Combining the sweet vegetables with celeriac and white beans countered with a bit of bitterness, but the broth was spiked with dill that brought everything together.

I liked how the soup was made with winter vegetable staples (carrot, cabbage, celeriac, leeks) but I find fresh dill has a spring feel. Granted we have no snow, but the warmer weather will definitely be appreciated.

Caramelized Cabbage Soup

This is my submission to this week’s Souper Sundays.

Caramelized Cabbage Soup
Adapted from Love Soup (original recipe here)

1 small green cabbage (2 lbs)
2 tbsp olive oil, divided
1 tsp sea salt, plus more to taste
1 yellow onion, chopped
1 1/2 cups sliced leeks, white part
2 medium carrots, chopped into 1-cm cubes
1 celeriac, peeled and chopped into 1-cm cubes
4 cups canned vegetable broth diluted with 1 cup water
2 cups cooked white beans
1 cup non-dairy milk (I used almond milk)
2 to 3 tbsp chopped fresh dill
Freshly ground black pepper, if needed

1. Begin by caramelizing your cabbage: Preheat oven to 375F. Thinly slice cabbage, removing the tough core. Drizzle 1 tbsp oil overtop, sprinkle with salt and using your hands, mix to coat all leaves. Spread on a baking sheet, covered by a silpat, and roast 30-40 minutes, until toasty brown. Check after the first 10 minutes to stir it and make sure it does not burn.

2. Meanwhile, make your caramelized onion and leek. In a non-stick skillet over medium heat, heat 1 tbsp oil. Once hot, add onion, leeks and sprinkle with salt. Reduce heat to low, stirring infrequently, cook until golden brown, around 30 minutes.

3. Meanwhile, cook your soup. In a large soup pot over medium heat, bring vegetable stock to a boil. Once you have finished chopping your vegetables (carrots, celeriac), add to soup pot. Cover and simmer for 20 minutes.

4. Once your cabbage has finished roasting and your onions/leeks caramelized, add to the soup pot. Cover and simmer 10 minutes. Add white beans, non-dairy milk and dill. Taste and season with salt and pepper. Simmer just until heated through.

Serves 4-6.

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Susan Edelman said, on March 13, 2014 at 8:40 AM

    Oooh, carmelizing the cabbage! Good one! I love the look of this soup! Happy biking!

  2. Laura said, on March 13, 2014 at 9:28 AM

    I love the idea of carmelizing the cabbage – it sounds delicious!

  3. cheri savory spoon said, on March 13, 2014 at 10:06 AM

    What a beautiful soup, love how you cut everything so small, and how the dill looks in the broth. Wonderful presentation.

  4. Deena Kakaya said, on March 13, 2014 at 10:12 AM

    Sweet & deep; lovely x

  5. Eileen said, on March 13, 2014 at 2:24 PM

    This soup sounds wonderful! I never know what to do with celeriac, but now I think I need to chop some up and throw it into a soup very soon. Also: dill! Yes!

  6. Bill said, on March 13, 2014 at 2:36 PM

    This looks like a weekend venture. The carmalizing will take some time. If I can find Celariac, I will go for it. The basic recipie is something I know the family will like

  7. coconutandberries said, on March 13, 2014 at 5:00 PM

    Way to go Janet on getting out for a good cycle! Sorry the sun wasn’t shining for you.
    I’m loving this soup- definitely a full meal in a bowl kind of recipe. And doesn’t dill just make everything better?

  8. erika said, on March 14, 2014 at 10:59 AM

    Yum!!! This sounds like an EXCELLENT way to enjoy cabbage. I <3 roasted vegetables above all others so I def want to try this! Also, go you for taking on your extreme biking challenges solo! I totally admire that :)

  9. Joanne said, on March 15, 2014 at 5:31 PM

    Good for you for getting out there even without a partner! It is daunting to not have anyone to talk to during all that time…but you did it!! I have half a head of cabbage in my fridge left over from a failed recipe…totally know what I’m doing with it now!

  10. Gabby @ the veggie nook said, on March 17, 2014 at 10:36 AM

    I made a recipe with roasted cabbage recently too that I am hopefully going to share this week! Great minds :)

  11. […] Rob disappears and I do a cold, windy and rainy bike 100 km ride. Cameo appearance by the dreaded flat tire again. Sound familiar? […]

  12. zsudever said, on March 23, 2014 at 5:06 PM

    Love love dill! Great looking soup :)

    Zsu @ Zsu’s Vegan Pantry

  13. Deb in Hawaii said, on March 23, 2014 at 5:40 PM

    There is a lot of roasty goodness going on in here. ;-) Looks very satisfying and love the touch of the ‘springy’ dill. Thanks for sharing with Souper Sundays.


What do you think?

