the taste space

Savoury Mung Bean & Kale Crêpes

Posted in Mains (Vegetarian) by Janet M on March 15, 2014

Mung Bean & Kale Crepes

I don’t celebrate my blog’s birthday, but it hit me that I have been doing this for a long time.

Over four and half years and still going strong. More than 780 posts, mostly recipes, mostly vegan. That is just a fraction of what I have created along the way. My draft folder is overflowing. Missing ingredients, missing photos or missing directions. OK, mostly missing photos.

I tried to find something non-traditionally green to share for upcoming St Patrick’s Day. I went looking for a spinach adai/pancake I made while in Toronto, but couldn’t find any trace of it. That’s ok, I made these anew and they were very good. Kale trumps spinach?

Crêpes may be stretching it a bit much as they are not nearly as thin as my regular or non-traditional crepes. Instead of chickpea flour as in our favourite chilla pancake, soaked split mung beans are the base. Pureed kale turned these a fun green.

Since the beans are in the batter, you could simply slather it with Indian chutneys but I encourage you to add more vegetables, like my Indian-Spiced Cauliflower.

I admit these are not the best photos, but I unearthed some real gems digging through my archives. I promise to share them in due time!

Are you eating anything green this weekend?

Mung Bean & Kale Crepes

Savoury Mung Bean & Kale Crêpes
Adapted from Holy Cow!

1 cup split (yellow) mung dal, soaked for at least 30 minutes in water
2 packed cups kale or spinach
1-inch knob of ginger, chopped
2 cloves of garlic, peeled
1/2 tsp Aleppo chili flakes, or to taste
1 tsp cumin seeds, lightly toasted
Salt, to taste

1. Rinse and drain mung dal. In a blender, place all ingredients and blend until smooth. Add water until you get the consistency of a thin crepe batter.

2. Heat frying pan to medium-high heat and add a bit of oil or butter.  A slick, smooth, non-stick pan works best and the pan size will depend on how big you want your crêpes. Likewise the amount of batter you use, will depend on the size of the crêpe.  I use around a 1/4-1/3 cup of batter for 8″ crêpes. Ladle onto greased frying pan over medium-high heat, turning the frying pan to get the batter all around the pan. Fill in any holes with remaining batter.  They are ready to flip when the crêpe seems dry and golden/firm around the edges, around 2 minute. Use a spatula to gently lift the edges, then use a wide spatula to flip the crepe. The second side will usually take another minute or so to gently brown. Once done, place on a plate. Repeat with another crêpe.

Makes 8 large crepes.

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Laura said, on March 15, 2014 at 9:07 AM

    Gotta love this green! These sound really good!

  2. vaishy said, on March 15, 2014 at 10:21 AM

    Love the idea of non-traditional green recipes for St. Paddy’s Day. I am not making anything green, but just cooked up a hearty “lamb” stew with Guinness. Glad you tried the crepe recipe. :)

  3. coconutandberries said, on March 15, 2014 at 1:50 PM

    I love bean pancakes like these. I think I’ve made a similar recipe before with soaked mung…probably one of Richa’s but especially like how green these are!
    4 and a half years! That is a long time. I hope I’m still blogging after that long but I have no idea where life will take me!

  4. Eileen said, on March 15, 2014 at 6:55 PM

    These crepes sounds so good! I think I’d probably fill them with a spicy potato masala, full of popping mustard seeds, and of course the ubiquitous cilantro & mint chutney. Yay!

  5. Johanna GGG said, on March 16, 2014 at 5:44 AM

    I expected filled crepes by the title and was quite impressed to see these green crepes – I have made some spinach dip today and hopefully will do a bit more St Pat’s day food tomorrow. 4 and a half years is a good innings – you should celebrate your blogging longevity – esp with the frequency of your posts

  6. Dannii @ Hungry Healthy Happy said, on March 16, 2014 at 8:10 AM

    Yum! I love anything with kale in it.

  7. Gaby said, on March 16, 2014 at 6:12 PM

    these look great! I’ve been trying to think of ways to sneak more greens into my diet, like baking them into pancakes exactly like this. Today I made chocolate protein kale chips! I know, sounds funky. Max’s mom got me the vega chocolate protein powder ( I would have totally gotten vanilla, but then again I can’t afford vega so I’m grateful!) I tried it in just shakes or almond milk and couldn’t really get over the weird taste but have been trying to find a way to use it. I mixed it with some chocolate coffee syrup and almond milk yestrday and made a sort of mousse for strawberries, and today I decided to coat some kale with it to replicate my favorite cocoa coconut kale chips. Not bad! Getting protein and greens :) This week will be a bit crazy, but I miss hanging out so let’s plan something soon!

  8. Gabby @ the veggie nook said, on March 17, 2014 at 4:28 PM

    These look awesome! I love the idea of soaked beans in pancakes but I’ve never tried it! I think that will be a project soon enough!

    4 1/2 years, wow congrats! I still think you should make a special dessert to comemorate it ;)

  9. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts said, on March 17, 2014 at 8:44 PM

    4 1/2 years is definitely a long time – and I vote that you celebrate at the 5 year mark! These green pancakes are really cool too :)

  10. Hannah said, on March 18, 2014 at 12:02 PM

    Blend and fry. This is my kind of super-simple recipe fo’sure.

  11. helloveggy said, on March 24, 2014 at 8:50 PM

    I love green foods! These look great; thanks for linking up with HVF Janet!

  12. […] is an acquired taste but all things green need not taste bad. And as I learned here (and my green kale pancakes), even a small amount of green ingredients can blend to a brilliant […]


What do you think?

