the taste space

Thrive’s Cookies and Cream Recovery Smoothie & Cookbook Giveaway

Posted in Book Review, Desserts, Drinks by janet @ the taste space on March 20, 2014

Thrive's Cookies and Cream Recovery Smoothie & Cookbook Giveaway

Rob disappears and I do a cold, windy and rainy bike 100 km ride. Cameo appearance by the dreaded flat tire again. Sound familiar?

It is hard to believe, but within the span of a few days of my last solo cycling adventure, I signed up for the Tour de Houston for the 60-mile/100-km ride. More impressive (or shocking), I also dedicated some overflow vacation days to visit my parents and cycle Rideau Lakes with my Dad in June. This will be my third time on the 360 km 2-day course, I am hoping it will keep me motivated to continue to cycle throughout the summer to have fun at Cycle Oregon.

In any case, cycling season has begun. This weekend simply solidified why I love cycling so much. IT IS FUN! Even with nearly 4 hours of on-and-off again rain and fierce winds, I had a blast. Granted, I was sad Rob was missing such a fun experience but it was liberating to tackle the course at my own pace (yes, I know, Rob is usually the one waiting for me, not the other way around). I don’t know how many people showed up in spite of the weather (see the video recap here), but over 5000 people registered for the event. It is infectious to be surrounded by other cyclists. I rarely see another cyclist on my commutes to work but now, I had to jostle and wind my way around so many others.

I picked this event because it is actually run by the City of Houston to promote cycling in the city. It was well marked (save one turn) and well staffed. The course changes every year to highlight different areas of Houston. This year, the course was fantastic. Nearly all intersections were staffed to give cyclists the right-of-way (most of the time, obviously they had to let cars go through as well). I also knew it would give me the courage to try out a 100 km course with lots of support. Turns out, I needed it. I found myself with a flat tire a bit after the half-way point. When I cycle with Rob, he always brings a tube, pump, and tools to fix tires but this time, I didn’t. Thankfully, I turned around and one of the sag trucks found me and my sorry wheel. They brought me back to my last rest stop where I was able to get my flat tire. In addition, they then drove me back to where I had my flat tire so I could continue my journey.

I was a bit bummed because I had lost a lot of time and I was even turned away at one of the rest stops. I had a flat tire, I am not that slow! I kept thinking to myself. However, with the continuous rain, it turned out to be a blessing in disguise: the cyclists had thinned out so it was less congested but the best part was that I was mostly passing everyone. Not just a morale boost, this was incredible practical: less mud in my face! No one has mud guards, so if you are within 10 feet of the person cycling in front of you, you would be greeted with mud galore. How do I know? Right before I had my flat tire, there was a muddy patch and it landed all over my face, my glasses, my clothes and my bike.

The course was well stocked with bananas, oranges and peanuts (and pretzels which I didn’t eat) but by the time I arrived at the finish line, most of the vendors had packed up for the day. I cycled home. And only then I remembered how long rides really deplete my motivation to cook. I had the most motivation to do laundry and have a bath, though. Talk about being dirty. But before that, I treated myself to a fun recovery smoothie courtesy of Brendan Brazier’s new cookbook Thrive Energy Cookbook.

Based off the recipes from one of my favourite restaurants, Thrive Juice Bar, this is both a blessing and a curse. The blessing: the recipes taste great. If they are true to the restaurant, you will want to make that pad thai stat. However, the curse: that pad thai? It tastes great, in part, because each component is perfected. The recipe may be on one page but it will redirect to 4 addition recipes – three sauces/vinaigrettes and a vegetable mix. All for a single serving.

The photos are gorgeous. The recipes are tantalizing with many classic vegan combinations.  I am salivating over the drinks: kale mojito (I have had that at the restaurant and it is great!), chocolate-truffle-caramel mocha, chocolate-peppermint matcha magic drink. The restaurant’s Big Green Energy Charger is in there, too, which I love with a hit of maca, but I don’t know how I will find my own freshly squeezed wheatgrass juice for my version to be authentic. The recipes focus on mostly whole foods, although Daiya cheese makes its appearance, numerous Vega products along with Wildwood Zesty Garlic Aioli which seems to be the base for all four aioli recipes. Some incredibly hard-to-find ingredients are included (lucuma, astralagus, ginseng, wheatgrass juice, reishi mushroom, maca) but not too many.. and most could easily be omitted. I look forward to trying out more recipes and thrilled I can share a cookbook with one of you, too.

For this smoothie recipe, nuts, chocolate and protein powder are combined to make a satisfying smoothie. I typically don’t like smoothies with ice, but this was well balanced, probably because there was a larger amount of nuts than my typical smoothies. Brendan calls this a recovery smoothie although for information on his rationale for his sports recipe (either before, during or after exercise), you are redirected to his previous books.

Thrive's Cookies and Cream Recovery Smoothie & Cookbook Giveaway

Thankfully, the publisher allowed me to share the recipe (with my modifications, of course) AND giveaway the cookbook to a reader living in the United States. To be entered in the random draw for the cookbook, please leave a comment below. The winner will be selected at random on March 29, 2014. Good luck!

Recipes from Thrive Energy Cookbook shared elsewhere:

Cashew Berry French Toast

Chia Seed Blueberry Pudding

Roasted Red Pepper & Sweet Potato Soup

Coconut, Lemongrass and Lime Soup

Quinoa Tabbouleh Salad

Red Lentil & Chickpea Burger Patties

Avocado, Black Bean & Chipotle Burger with Chipotle Lime Aïoli

Chocolate Chip French Vanilla Smoothie

Chocolate-Almond Decadence Smoothie

Acai Berry Pre-Workout Energizer

Super Chocolate Powder Mix

Almond Butter

Blood Orange and Ginger Citrus Tart

This is being submitted to Ricki’s Weekend Wellness.

Thrive’s Cookies and Cream Recovery Smoothie
Adapted from Thrive Energy Cookbook

2 tbsp raw cashews (soaked if you don’t have a high-speed blender)
1 oz (1 square) chocolate (or 2 tbsp chocolate chips)
1 tbsp raw cacao nibs
1 tbsp nut butter (I used almond butter)
1 large date, pitted
1 scoop protein powder (the recipe calls for a vanilla-flavoured one but I have yet to find one I like so I used Sunwarrior Chocolate)
1 cup nondairy milk
ice, 1-2 cups

1. In a blender, combine all ingredients except ice. Add ice to 1 inch above the liquid line (or to taste) and blend until creamy. Garnish with cacao nibs if desired.

Serves 1.

31 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Laura said, on March 20, 2014 at 8:02 AM

    Oh my goodness, Thrive is my fitness bible! I’ve been dreaming if the new cookbook. This smoothie already has my mouth watering too – awesome! I’m so excited to follow your cycling season – I’m hoping to start integrating that into my cross-training this summer!

  2. Linda said, on March 20, 2014 at 8:23 AM

    What a great-sounding cookbook! Thanks for doing the giveaway.

  3. sally jones said, on March 20, 2014 at 8:57 AM

    would LOVE that cookbook!

  4. thepeacepatch said, on March 20, 2014 at 9:23 AM

    Yay for you for sticking it out through a flat and a mudwash and all that pedalpushing! So cool too that Houston is stepping up to promote cycling, especially in the city. Hopefully it will be warm cycling weather here soon. Thanks for sharing the recipe…it’s all my favorite smoothie ingredients in one glass! :)

  5. sweetlesssSarah said, on March 20, 2014 at 11:08 AM

    Another cookbook I’d love to add to my collection!!!

  6. TC said, on March 20, 2014 at 12:20 PM

    Sounds like an awesome cookbook

  7. cheri savory spoon said, on March 20, 2014 at 12:30 PM

    Good for you, that’s amazing that you are cycling that many miles. The smoothie looks great!

  8. Ali Seiter said, on March 20, 2014 at 12:44 PM

    Love the first Thrive books! Excited to see a new one. :)

  9. Laurie said, on March 20, 2014 at 1:48 PM

    This cookbook sounds fantastic. Good on ya for all that solo cycling!

  10. Strength and Sunshine said, on March 20, 2014 at 2:37 PM

    I have been hearing tons of good things about this cookbook!

  11. Tanyah Brown said, on March 20, 2014 at 3:08 PM

    Yay!!!!! Hope I win

  12. Anat said, on March 20, 2014 at 3:27 PM

    Thank you for having a giveaway for such a useful looking cookbook!

  13. Gaby said, on March 20, 2014 at 3:50 PM

    So much cycling! you rock! I can’t believe I forgot Tour de Houston was last weekend! I had originally planned to sign up for the shorter ride but then work took over my life. It’s probably best since I was in full panic mode all weekend trying to complete projects as Max moved his loads and loads of stuff in around me. I could have used this easy smoothie though, I have had no time too cook real meals. I also caved and paid a billion $$ for cacao nibs a few weeks ago, I’m rationing those out slowly :)

  14. Ellen Lederman said, on March 20, 2014 at 4:45 PM

    Yum! I’ve been looking to use up some cacao nibs. Speaking of using stuff up, have you made a dent in the coconut flour?

    Kale mojitos—I don’t know. i guess if they are on the menu, lots of people like
    k them. I put just a bit of kale in a fruit smoothie and thought it made it way too grassy (can do spinach in smoothies. Love kale, but drinking it may not be for me..)

  15. coconutandberries said, on March 20, 2014 at 6:04 PM

    I’ve been interested in this cookbook and the smoothie and the other linked recipes do sound very good. I might find the constant use of Vega products annoying though…hmmmm.
    The ride sounds great. I’m not a cyclist but I do enjoy running and get a real thrill from races when you’re surrounded by other excited runners!

  16. ladycoop said, on March 20, 2014 at 7:15 PM

    Looks so good. Def trying this recipe.

  17. Melissa said, on March 21, 2014 at 12:12 AM

    This cookbook sounds fabulous. Thanks for the chance to win!

  18. Lydia Claire said, on March 21, 2014 at 12:36 AM

    These recipes look amazing. I’d love to win the book!

  19. Corrine said, on March 21, 2014 at 12:38 AM

    This cookbook looks great and I’d love to win it.

  20. Joanne said, on March 21, 2014 at 6:31 AM

    Yay for having an awesome motivational ride!! It’s always so great to have those workouts where you remember why you love it so much!

    This smoothie sounds deelicious!! Perfect post-workout treat!

  21. LP said, on March 21, 2014 at 7:56 AM

    This looks great! I have been running a lot lately and realized this week that I need to start eating something afterwards for recovery since my metabolism is speeding beyond my normal diet. This will be a good place to start!

  22. Ana Z. said, on March 21, 2014 at 11:13 AM

    Can’t wait to see this cookbook! Thanks for the great smoothie recipe :)

  23. Marsha said, on March 21, 2014 at 12:04 PM

    It looks like a great cook book. thanks for the chance to win it.

  24. Gabby @ the veggie nook said, on March 21, 2014 at 9:08 PM

    Move back to Canada so I can enter your giveaways already! ;) Hehe but no seriously, this book looks awesome, I wish I had gotten to review it!

  25. Roberta said, on March 22, 2014 at 5:51 AM

    I’ll be watching for this cookbook. It looks fantasic.

  26. Shannon Y-I-V said, on March 24, 2014 at 12:15 PM

    I would love to win this book! I think I’m going to buy it eventually anyway =].

  27. Sherri said, on March 26, 2014 at 6:12 AM

    I just signed Brendan’s book from the library and love it! I would love to have it permanently sitting on my bookshelf though!! Fingers crossed. Thanks!!!

  28. Annette said, on March 28, 2014 at 4:15 PM

    The recipes sound delicious. I really like the one you prepared – the image has my mouth watering.

  29. kimmythevegan said, on April 2, 2014 at 6:31 PM

    Mmmm thanks for sharing this recipe Janet! I used to LOVE Thrive when I lived in Kitchener. So good! The soups, the smoothies… oh the ALT. Mmmm. There aren’t really any restaurants like that around where I live now. I’ll have to check out the cookbook so I can make some of the delicious food at home.

  30. […] Rob and I finally started training together. My last few jaunts have been solo, so we weaned in carefully: 140 km over 2 days (split 90 km and 50 km). The advantage of splitting […]


What do you think?

