the taste space

Sweet Sesame Rice Crispy Treats

Posted in Desserts by janet @ the taste space on April 3, 2014

Sweet Sesame Crisp Rice Treats

I feel kind of bad for all my buddies in Canada reading about my cycling adventures. Not much cycling is happening there, unless it is of the indoor variety. The weather here is glorious (not too humid yet and only a few mosquitoes have been spotted so far) but more importantly, we have to start cycling early. Our first cycling goal is less than a month away. 100 miles in early May. We need to get moving.

Last weekend, Rob and I finally started training together. My last few jaunts have been solo, so we weaned in carefully: 140 km over 2 days (split 90 km and 50 km). The advantage of splitting the distances is that you have a break for your legs but not your bum. ;)

The other reason we had to split our distance is because we had a late start on Saturday. With my recent string of flats, my 3-year-old tires were in need of replacement. We spent the first hour changing the tires only to realize that we also punctured one of the tubes. The fresh tires were a bit tight and I even managed to snap one of the plastic doodads trying to get the tire back on.  By this time, we were too frustrated to remove it and try again and wanted to call in the pros. However, it seemed like all bicycle stores open at 10 am so had to wait it out.

As we waited it out, I made these delicious snacks.

Sweet Sesame Crisp Rice Treats

Do you remember last year when I cycled 100 km and came home too tired to make my own smoothie? In retrospect, I wonder whether I had encountered the dreaded bonk. This year, I am ramping my snacks and calories. I am drinking my homemade sports drink. Even for these “short” beginner rides.

I really liked these treats. First of all, because they look like rice crispy treats but there are no marshmallows here at all. The goopy mess that keeps it all together is tahini and brown rice syrup with a touch of vanilla. I loved Gabby’s sesame overload with sesame seeds in addition to the tahini and the marvellous addition of  chewy raisins. This is a grown-up version of rice crispy treats if I ever tasted one, assuming that adults grow up. Perfect as a cycling snack, especially for long rides, since it is mostly carbs with some fats important for longevity… but most importantly: it tolerated the Houston heat perfectly.

While I wish I could say this was a fairy tale ending, with Rob and I cycling away without any hiccups, as we peddled away together, I noticed I lost the clipping mechanism on my clippy pedal. I opted to ride this weekend with only one foot clipped in.. I suppose I am working my way in. When I completed my first 100 km ride of the year, I only had regular shoes. Hopefully next weekend, I will have both shoes clipped in. ;)

Sweet Sesame Crisp Rice Treats

This is my submission to this month’s Bookmarked Recipes and Dead Easy Desserts

Sweet Sesame Rice Crispy Treats
Adapted from The Veggie Nook

3 cups crispy rice cereal (I used the one from Trader Joe’s)
1/4 cup toasted sesame seeds
1/4 cup raisins
1/2 cup tahini
1/2 cup brown rice syrup
few dashes umeboshi vinegar or salt (I used salt)
1 tsp vanilla

1. Grease or line a 9″ square container with plastic wrap or the like.

2. In a large bowl, mix together the rice cereal, sesame seeds and raisins.

3. In a small saucepot over medium-low heat, combine the tahini, brown rice syrup, umeboshi vinegar (or salt) and vanilla. Watching carefully, stirring often, stir until it thins slightly, right before it is about the boil. Remove from heat and pour into the rice mixture. Working quickly mix until everything is incorporated. The sesame seeds are difficult to catch but you can always add to the top of the bars.

4. Scrape mixture into the lined container. Spread out evenly and press down such that it is evenly spread out. Cover and allow to chill in the refrigerator for a few hours until set (or an hour in the freezer). Remove and cut into desired size. Store in refrigerator for a week.

Makes 12 pieces.

21 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Laura said, on April 3, 2014 at 7:33 AM

    This is really great – I’m wondering if I could hide some protein powder in there for extra long days – or even use the new love grown o’s that already have some protein? These are great for energy and look delicious!

  2. sprint2thetable said, on April 3, 2014 at 8:30 AM

    I could eat a whole pan of these. Sesame seeds are so good in sweet dishes!

  3. cheri savory spoon said, on April 3, 2014 at 8:54 AM

    I love the addition of sesame seeds, that makes these the perfect treat. Yum!

  4. Elaine @ foodbod said, on April 3, 2014 at 1:03 PM

    Anything with tahini and cycling and I’m interested!!!

  5. coconutandberries said, on April 3, 2014 at 3:27 PM

    Oh my goodness these look so delicious! And they really do look marshmallow-y, despite not containing any. I’m a serious tahini lover too so these are perfect for me. Fingers crossed for a successful ride next weekend.

  6. Johanna GGG said, on April 3, 2014 at 6:19 PM

    this looks so delicious – I have tried these rice krispy snacks with nut butter and rice syrup but tahini sounds great – and more acceptable for lunch box treats (no nuts) – just had to look up the bonk and worried maybe I had it some days riding home from work :-)

  7. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts said, on April 3, 2014 at 7:01 PM

    Well done on your riding! Those are impressive distances – and these treats look like just the thing to fuel them. As Emma noted, it’s amazing how marshmallow-y they look!

  8. Hannah said, on April 3, 2014 at 7:08 PM

    You do realise its not adapted when it’s exactly the same recipe, right? ;) Ah well, loved it on Gabby’s blog, love it now!

    • Hannah said, on April 3, 2014 at 7:09 PM

      argh it’s***** DAMN APOSTROPHE TYPO!!!

    • janet @ the taste space said, on April 3, 2014 at 7:56 PM

      Oh, the recipe police. Removed the word adapted. Thank you, Hannah.

      • Hannah said, on April 3, 2014 at 8:07 PM

        Bahahaha! Sergeant at arms ;)

    • janet @ the taste space said, on April 3, 2014 at 7:59 PM

      Actually, no! I will not appeal the peanut gallery!! Adapted it is. The ingredients were similar but the method different. Who has time for a double-boiler, my friend?! ;)

      • Hannah said, on April 3, 2014 at 8:10 PM

        Teehee! Fair enough, fair enough. You got me ;)

  9. Joanne said, on April 3, 2014 at 10:13 PM

    Sorry you had so many roadblocks!! Hopefully your next ride will be much easier!

    And love these as snacks. They are so fun!

  10. Kate said, on April 5, 2014 at 11:39 PM

    These look so good! I love tahini in sweets- in raw caramel slice especially!

  11. […] Adult rice krispies and now adult rice pudding. […]

  12. kimmythevegan said, on April 13, 2014 at 6:32 PM

    Oh I love this fun, sweet treat (without the guilt of course!). I have all of the ingredients too =) Score!

  13. Sarah, Maison Cupcake said, on April 29, 2014 at 9:08 AM

    I’m rather fond of rice krispy squares and I love the sesame twist. Thanks for sending to Dead Easy Desserts!

  14. […] Sweet Sesame Rice Crispy Treats by the Taste of Space […]

  15. […] I immediately wanted to try it. Tahini-based desserts were a definite hit earlier this year (see my Sweet Sesame Rice Crispy Treats) and I am warming up to liking a hint of coffee flavour. It pairs well with chocolate (hello […]

  16. Choclette said, on May 28, 2014 at 5:44 AM

    These look fantastic. Love the idea of using tahini. I’ve made flapjacks with it and chocolate truffles, but not much else in the sweet department.


What do you think?

