the taste space

Ange’s Glo Bars & Oh She Glows Cookbook Review + Giveaway

Posted in Book Review, Desserts, Favourites by janet @ the taste space on April 24, 2014

Ange's Glo Bars

Yet another travel-friendly, energy-boosting snack. But these are no ordinary granola bar. They are Angela’s Infamous Classic Glo Bars, packed with all good things.

Have you ever noticed how many different kinds of granola bars Angela has posted? Soft-and-chewy baked sugar-free granola bars, healthy banana cranberry oat bars, last-minute protein energy barsbanana bread protein bars, and more. She is the Queen of Granola Treats. Previously, I had difficulties with her almond butter rice crisp treats which was probably due to too many substitutions. Thus, I (mostly) followed her recipe exactly, scoping out brown rice syrup. And let me tell you, this ingredient is key. Its viscosity alone lends to enhanced stickiness which helps keep the bars together. Initially, I tried to replace it with maple syrup, which probably didn’t help the cause. In any case, I absolutely loved these bars. Not too sweet with a hint of peanut butter, still packed with an assortment of seeds. I used puffed kamut (instead of crisped rice) and I liked this more because it lended to a more chewy bar.

Ange's Glo Bars

The cycling has been more intense (HILLS! OMG HILLS!), which explains why I have been sharing more treats. I have enough fore-thought and energy to make my snacks at the end of the week. Rob makes us tamarind lentils to go. In theory, this should give us more time so we can leave earlier Saturday morning. In theory, alas. We ended up sleeping in last weekend and having another later start in the hills. Our Saturdays have started to look like an entire treat day: fun snacks, tamarind lentils for lunch, tropical agua fresca from Mi Tienda #2 (this week it was papaya and pina colada on tap), followed out by a meal made by someone else… because we don’t have much energy to cook for ourselves once we get back.

By Sunday, I get my cooking mojo back and have been enjoying cooking out of Angela’s latest cookbook: The Oh She Glows Cookbook. I am behind the surge of posts highlighting its praises, but that is just because I have been smitten by trying all.the.recipes. All in the name of good review research for the blog.

With such a popular and prolific blog, long-time readers of her blog may wonder how many are new recipes.  Angela mentions that there are 75 new recipes with a dozen new-and-improved reader favourites. Angela has grown as a recipe developer, as I have had some failures with her earlier recipes. Thankfully some of my favourite recipes from her blog made it to the cookbook: Creamy Lemon Basil Avocado Sauce, Salt and Vinegar Roasted Chickpeas, and her Lemon-Tahini Dressing. She is also a much better photographer than me, so this cookbook is eye-candy as well as delicious. A photograph of possibly every single recipe. How awesome is that? Her recipes are all vegan, all whole foods based, 85% gluten-free and mostly soy-free.

I cooked and baked my way through 10 recipes (so far) and then had the difficult decision of what to share. In truth, I already shared the Breakfast Chocolate Mocha Pudding Cake, but those photographs would not due justice to such a nice cookbook. My other favourites were the On the Mend Spiced Red Lentil-Kale Soup and the Crowd-Pleasing Tex-Mex Casserole. Some meals were a bit lacklustre (Indian lentil-cauliflower soup) but just adjust the seasonings to your taste. You can see all of my recipe reviews here. There are still more recipes I want to try and will continue to enjoy cooking from this cookbook.

Ange's Glo Bars

Other recipes from the Oh She Glows Cookbook shared elsewhere:

Breakfast Chocolate Mocha Pudding Cake (as christened by me, aka Fudgy Mocha Pudding Cake)
Ultimate Nutty Granola Clusters
Apple Pie Oatmeal
Glowing Mojo-ito Green Monster
Life-Affirming Warm Nacho Dip
Eat Your Greens Detox Soup
Cream of Tomato Soup with Roasted Italian Chickpea Croutons
Empowered Noodle Bowl with Thai Peanut Sauce
Walnut, Avocado & Pear Salad with Marinated Portobello Caps & Red Onion with Effortless Anytime Balsamic Vinaigrette
Chakra Caesar Salad with Nutty Herb Croutons
Super Power Chia Bread
Oil-Free Baked Falafel Bites
Crowd Pleasing Tex-Mex Casserole
Grilled Portobello Burger with Sun-Dried Tomato Kale-Hemp Pesto
Marinated Balsamic, Maple and Garlic Tempeh
Quick & Easy Chana Masala
15-Minute Creamy Avocado Pasta
Peanut Butter Cookie Dough Bites

Chilled Chocolate Espresso Torte

Thankfully, the publisher is letting me give a cookbook to one reader living in the United States. To be entered, please leave a comment here, telling me about your favourite Angela recipe or what you most want to make. I will randomly select a winner on May 4, 2014. Good luck!

Note: I was given a copy of the cookbook from the publisher.  I was under no obligation to share a review. The opinions expressed are entirely my own.

Angela’s Classic Glo Bars
From The Oh She Glows Cookbook (original recipe found here)

 

68 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Concetta said, on April 24, 2014 at 7:13 AM

    The avocado cream sauce looks wonderful.

  2. Ali Seiter said, on April 24, 2014 at 7:51 AM

    Love angela’s pasta sauces!

  3. Laura said, on April 24, 2014 at 8:08 AM

    Definitely a bar I need to bake – and I’d love to win this cookbook! Sounds so amazing!

  4. Johanna GGG said, on April 24, 2014 at 8:54 AM

    Instant reaction – can make these nut free easily enough (tahini?) so I can make for school lunches – then second thought is that Sylvia gets funny about seeds and I wonder if I can get them past her – then third thought – maybe it is not so bad if she rejects them as I am sure I would love them

    • janet @ the taste space said, on April 24, 2014 at 8:59 AM

      Haha, you are too funny, Johanna. Sunflower or pumpkin butter could totally work. I have made other bars with tahini and it might need more sweetener to compensate but I think it could work, too. The other random seeds are barely noticeable (to me) but you never know with kids. They could easily be omitted because they just settle in between the oats and puffed rice/kamut. This is a very flexible recipe. :)

  5. Linda said, on April 24, 2014 at 9:07 AM

    Thanks for doing this giveaway–sounds like a great resource to have! The titles of so many recipes sound intriguing. Like you, I am forced to do multiple substitutions on most recipes, but at least it gives me a starting point. I bet I’d love the Tex Mex Casserole, if it still remains true to form after my subs.

  6. cheri said, on April 24, 2014 at 11:52 AM

    Love the empowered noodle bowl, I could live on that for my main meals and these granola bars for snacks. Thanks!

  7. Laurie said, on April 24, 2014 at 11:55 AM

    Gosh, I’ve read so many glowing reviews of this cookbook! Which makes sense with the whole glow thing. ;)

    Anyway, it seems to me that this cookbook is full of fresh, fast, simple & straight-forward recipes for Spring & Summer. That’s something I desperately need. I need more streamlined time in the kitchen this time of year and I think this book could definitely help! As well as eating lighter & more wholesome while staying delicious.

  8. Brandy said, on April 24, 2014 at 12:31 PM

    I’d really like to make the apple & pear baked oatmeal. Thanks for the giveaway!

  9. charj said, on April 24, 2014 at 12:33 PM

    I really want to make the glowing mojo-ito green monster

  10. Anie U said, on April 24, 2014 at 12:57 PM

    The noodle bowl with Thai peanut sauce looks right up my alley!

  11. Dawn said, on April 24, 2014 at 12:59 PM

    Her recipe for the overnight raw buckwheat porridge has become a breakfast staple. So easy and so good!

  12. carole said, on April 24, 2014 at 1:06 PM

    I haven’t made any of her recipes yet, but I am sure I will love the salt and vinegar chickpeas!

  13. The Vegan 8 said, on April 24, 2014 at 5:45 PM

    Wow, you scored a review with Angela’s book?! Haha, I am totally jealous :)
    I would totally want to make the Chilled Chocolate Espresso Torte. The bars look really delicious too!

  14. ladycoop said, on April 24, 2014 at 6:26 PM

    My fave is her overnight oats that have blueberries and bananas. Simple and easy. It introduced us to over night oats and I have shared that recipe many times with friends and they love it as well.

  15. Gabby @ the veggie nook said, on April 24, 2014 at 6:50 PM

    I completely agree with you on how crucial brown rice syrup is in recipes like these! So sticky!!

  16. Cynthia said, on April 24, 2014 at 7:21 PM

    I love Empowered Noodle Bowl with Thai Peanut Sauce and make it often.

  17. Kate said, on April 24, 2014 at 8:10 PM

    I have Angela’s book and have been very impressed with the recipes I’ve tried so far! I’m looking forward to trying these :)

  18. Whitney said, on April 24, 2014 at 9:10 PM

    Those banana bread protein bars are on my list for sure!

  19. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts said, on April 24, 2014 at 9:38 PM

    I can’t wait to get Angela’s book (I am waiting until after our move to place the order!!) and these look great. I have discovered rice syrup relatively recently and it’s a really nice alternative to other sweeteners.

  20. DaintyMoiselle said, on April 24, 2014 at 10:24 PM

    Recently in the market for a Vitamix and stumbled across her vanilla/cinnamon/sea salt homemade almond milk recipe! Yum!!!

  21. sarah donovan said, on April 24, 2014 at 10:38 PM

    I love making her dressings for salads – using them for my own concoctions. I reference her site so frequently I can’t narrow down one – – – three layer bars or raw almond butter cups.

  22. LeanGreenBean said, on April 24, 2014 at 11:07 PM

    I make the Present Glo Bars every week! I make a double batch and my partner and I both eat them for breakfast or a snack. That and the Creamy Avocado Pasta are my favorites so far! It would be amazing to win this cookbook, there are so many more recipes I want to try from it!

  23. Melissa said, on April 25, 2014 at 12:19 AM

    I love her recipe for On The Glow Basic Oatmeal Squares… yum!

  24. unexpectedlymagnificent said, on April 25, 2014 at 8:20 AM

    I love her roasted tomato pesto! It’s delicious! :)

  25. Marsha A. said, on April 25, 2014 at 11:55 AM

    The empowered noodle bowl sounds great. I want to try that first. Thanks for a chance to win the book.

  26. Jenny said, on April 25, 2014 at 1:13 PM

    I’d definitely try the Marinated Balsamic, Maple and Garlic Tempeh, I’m still looking for a go-to tempeh recipe

  27. Linda said, on April 25, 2014 at 1:30 PM

    My one- year old grandson and his parents love Angela’s lentil walnut apple loaf.

  28. Terri Cole said, on April 25, 2014 at 1:44 PM

    I love the Avocado Pasta and the Empowered Noodle Bowl. I want to make these bars, the Easy Chana Masala and about a dozen more! Thanks for the chance to win this lovely book!

  29. Jen said, on April 25, 2014 at 1:55 PM

    The first recipe I made from her blog and one of my many favorites – Black Bean and Butternut Squash Burritos! SOOO good!!

  30. Dave said, on April 25, 2014 at 3:38 PM

    Peanut Butter Cookie Dough Bites

  31. Lolly Busey said, on April 25, 2014 at 4:34 PM

    I would LOVE to win a copy of Angela’s cookbook! I love her Big Vegan Bowl – I have made that several times. I would also love to try her Falafel Balls. Keeping my fingers crossed here in Virginia!
    ~Lolly

  32. Mackenzie Rifkin said, on April 25, 2014 at 6:05 PM

    I love Angela’s Big Vegan Bowl and her Empowered Noodle Bowl with Thai Peanut Sauce! I make them quite frequently… I would love to have her cookbook for some more great go-to recipes!

  33. herbivoretriathlete (@herbivoretri) said, on April 25, 2014 at 7:33 PM

    I have made so many OSG recipes from the book already it’s crazy! I haven’t made any Glo Bars yet but I did buy brown rice syrup so they will likely be made soon.

  34. gabsodon said, on April 25, 2014 at 9:46 PM

    Oh these are so popular on the interwebs! With as much baking as I do, you’d think I’d make more granola bars, but I’m really just now starting to try and replicate protein bars, as you’ve tried. I like my treats though even without the cycling haha. I think the nutty granola bites would be right up my alley.
    I also just made a purreed green soup as a way to use up some kale and get in my greens despite my constant cravings for sweets.

  35. I can’t believe I still haven’t bought the cookbook. Well, maybe I’ll win a copy ;p
    I LOVE so many of her recipes, but my hands-down favourite (and made once a week, each and every single week) is her overnight oats. It’s love in a bowl. I will have to try these bars!

  36. […] enter, leave a comment on her post, Ange’s Glo Bars and Oh She Glows Cookbook Review + Giveaway, and tell her your favorite Angela Liddon recipe, or the one you most want to make. She will […]

  37. Jessica Eagle said, on April 26, 2014 at 8:36 PM

    I’m in love with this cookbook. My next recipe to try would be theses bars :)

  38. Lydia Claire said, on April 27, 2014 at 12:06 AM

    The one we make the most is the Cauli-power Fettuccine Alfredo.

  39. Jana Westran Allen said, on April 27, 2014 at 8:36 AM

    My favorite is the Rad Rainbow Pad Thai.

  40. Amy Rose said, on April 27, 2014 at 9:01 AM

    I want to make Glo bars! I would love to have this cookbook.

  41. Tami said, on April 27, 2014 at 9:05 AM

    The chocolate mocha pudding cake has caught my interest!

  42. Saniel said, on April 29, 2014 at 6:38 PM

    Grilled Portobello burger looks so yummy

  43. Jackie said, on April 30, 2014 at 12:03 PM

    I love her Creamy Avocado Pasta recipe. It is quick and easy.

  44. Sally Crouse said, on April 30, 2014 at 1:32 PM

    Love Angela’s recipes. Would love to have her cookbook!

  45. Tess said, on April 30, 2014 at 2:04 PM

    I definitely want to try the chocolate espresso torte!

  46. […] Oh She Glows Cookbook at The Taste Space – Open to US – Ends May 4 […]

  47. rika@vm said, on April 30, 2014 at 2:58 PM

    I enjoyed her
    Effortless Anytime Balsamic Vinaigrette!

  48. Candy Hoffman said, on April 30, 2014 at 4:01 PM

    Yummy! This post is making me hungry. There are so many recipes that I want to make. Maybe I’ll start with the granola bars! They look easy.

  49. Chelsea Ortiz said, on April 30, 2014 at 4:08 PM

    I love so many of her recipes….tomato casserole, tomato basil cream sauce, avocado cream sauce, her brownies…

  50. sarahcttr said, on April 30, 2014 at 6:22 PM

    detoxsoup please!

  51. Tricia Martin said, on April 30, 2014 at 7:11 PM

    I LOVE her oatmeal recipes – I have the zucchini bread oatmeal, sweet potato oatmeal, pb/banana oatmeal all the time.

  52. Amy said, on April 30, 2014 at 10:16 PM

    The chana masala caught my eye right away!

  53. […] 1. Ange’s Glo Bars on The Taste Space […]

  54. Healthy Vegan Fridays # 16 said, on May 2, 2014 at 5:01 AM

    […] Glo Bar Recipe + Oh She Glows Cookbook Giveaway from The Taste Space~I have made many of the recipes featured in Angela’s new cookbook but I haven’t had the opportunity to make a Glo Bar yet. I love Janet’s version and can’t wait to make them myself. […]

  55. Healthy Vegan Friday #16 | said, on May 2, 2014 at 8:01 AM

    […] 1) Oh She Glows Cookbook Recipe & Glo Bar recipe from The Taste Space: […]

  56. nourished roots said, on May 2, 2014 at 10:14 AM

    I made the chocolate espresso torte for Easter and it was a huge hit. I am going to make it for my book club this month- so yummy!

  57. Michelle said, on May 2, 2014 at 5:25 PM

    I check her Instagram almost everyday now for inspiration! I want to make the Empowered Noodle Bowl with Thai Peanut Sauce, substituting zucchini noodles for the soba.

  58. simona said, on May 3, 2014 at 7:37 AM

    Chocolate mousse pie!

  59. […] The Oh She Glows Cookbook, I have been madly cooking out of Robin Robertson’s latest cookbook: More Quick-Fix […]

  60. Annette said, on May 3, 2014 at 10:05 AM

    I could eat soup all day, everyday and her Eat Your Greens Detox Soup looks delicious.

  61. thepeacepatch said, on May 4, 2014 at 7:29 PM

    Angela’s Blueberry Vanilla Bean Pancakes with Blueberry Glaze make me overthemoon happy every time! :)

  62. […] for a pretty cracker. The maple syrup bound it all together after baking. Maybe I don’t need brown rice syrup afterall? […]

  63. […] made her Chocolate & Cherry Hemp Bars which are a spiffied rice krispy treat. Like Ange’s Glo Bars, brown rice syrup is the binder of choice but the bars are not that sweet. Calling them hemp bars […]

  64. […] discounted that by writing this post. Although, to be fair, this was a recipe I discovered while previously reviewing a cookbook. This soup, in its original incarnation, belongs to Angela from within The Oh She […]


What do you think?

