the taste space

Rob’s Tamarind-Sweet Chile Vegetables with Soy Curls

Posted in Favourites, Mains (Vegetarian) by Janet M on April 26, 2014

Rob's tamarind-sweet chile veg stir fry

After nearly 10 months in Houston, you’d think we have settled in.

I (only slightly) notice when people say “y’all”. The humidity is slowly building up past my Toronto summer thresholds. All in a regular Texan day.

And then, a few months ago, we spotted a new-to-us animal. Half-turkey, half-duck, we had no way to ask¬†locals about it other than “Have you seen the turkey duck?”.

I have a feeling I am getting the same look from you right now. Turkey duck??

Rob snapped this photo. Tell me you do not agree:

turkey duck, muscovy duck

The crazy Canadian Canucks following the ducks.

My googling suggests these are Muscovy Ducks¬†and are rather invasive, almost pest-like. Probably similar to Canadian geese. I don’t get excited about them, either, but I am sure tourists love feeding them.

Rob's tamarind-sweet chile veg stir fry

Rob and I are also starting our purging of the pantry/fridge/freezer.

Rob is better at experimenting but he ran with my crazy idea. He wanted a veggie-centric stir-fry and I helped him with the sauce.

He wanted tamarind, obviously.

And for some reason, it hit me. What better pair for sour than a sweet chili sauce for a spicy-sweet kick? YES! Rob added lemon pepper seasoning, too.

Even though this was a crazy-fun kitchen experiment, I obviously wouldn’t be telling you unless it was a crazy-good experiment. The sauce ingredients are a guesstimate of what Rob added so feel free to adjust it along with your own tastes. We always go heavy on the tamarind compared to most people. :)

Rob's tamarind-sweet chile veg stir fry

Have you seen a Muscovy duck before? Do you have any exotic pests where you live?

 

Rob’s Tamarind-Sweet Chile Vegetables with Soy Curls

dash of coconut oil
1 shallot, chopped (or onion)
1 tsp grated ginger
1 cup chopped cauliflower
1 head broccoli, chopped
2 carrots, peeled and julienned
3 tbsp tamarind concentrate (or to taste)
1.5 tbsp sweet chili sauce
1/4-1/2 tsp lemon pepper seasoning
1/4-1/2 tsp 21-Spice Salute
1 cup dry soy curls, soaked in boiling water for 5 minutes, then drained well

brown rice, to serve

1. Get your brown rice cooking.

2. In a large non-stick skillet over medium heat, heat oil. Add shallot and saute until softened, around 5 minutes. Add ginger and cook for 1 minute more, until fragrant.

3. Add in cauliflower, broccoli and carrots and stir fry until al dente, around 5-10 minutes.

4. Stir in the tamarind concentrate, sweet chile sauce, lemon pepper seasoning, 21-Spice salute and mix well. Add reconstituted soy curls and cover in the sauce. Saute until warmed through. It may be a bit soupy, but more the better to drip into your rice.

5. Serve with rice.

Serves 3-4.

22 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Laura said, on April 26, 2014 at 8:04 AM

    I’ve never tried soy curls – but I’m intrigued!

    • janet @ the taste space said, on April 29, 2014 at 7:24 AM

      They are wonderful. Rob has approved a 50 lb purchase before we leave. YES! :)
      (because it is cheaper to buy in bulk!)

  2. Ellen Lederman said, on April 26, 2014 at 8:35 AM

    I’ve seen those ducks; knew them as Muscovys. Like them, but what I really love are Canadian geese (we have so many here—are there any left in Canada?).

    Again, uncanny timing—as my goal for Monday’s lunch was to use up some soy curls. Was going to make them BBQ or your Caribbean style. along with collards. Am intrigued by this, but Andy is dubious, so we will see (he had doubts about a recent mango curry I made, but admitted that it really was spectacular).

    • rszumlak said, on April 26, 2014 at 12:51 PM

      Canadian geese are huge pests! They are aggressive and make big green poops all over the place. Mean and disgusting.

      • Ellen Lederman said, on April 26, 2014 at 8:52 PM

        Well, yes, to the green poop…but I’ve never seen them be aggressive…just pleasantly assertive…:)

    • janet @ the taste space said, on April 29, 2014 at 7:26 AM

      I hear it was a cold Canada this winter so perhaps the geese flew South!! Maybe they are like us: they don’t want to go back! (just kidding!)
      Soy curls are fabulous with a BBQ sauce! If you go that route, let me know if you followed a recipe. :) The curls aren’t essential to this recipe, though, just pick your favourite vegan protein.. the sauce is key, though.

  3. sprint2thetable said, on April 26, 2014 at 11:30 AM

    That would be a short cut to making a turducken! Lol!

  4. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts said, on April 27, 2014 at 2:58 AM

    That duck is hilarious. And this meal sounds excellent!

  5. whatjessicabakednext said, on April 27, 2014 at 8:25 AM

    This looks divine! And those soy curls sound so unique and interesting!

  6. Hahaha love the turkey duck. You guys should call it a turck!!! Or a durk? The options are endless.
    Love the idea of this recipe – I still have never tried soy curls! I’ll have to try this.

  7. Gabby @ the veggie nook said, on April 27, 2014 at 5:52 PM

    Maybe we can call turkey ducks turcks?

    Also this looks delicious! I am loving tamarind lately!

  8. Gabby @ the veggie nook said, on April 27, 2014 at 5:53 PM

    Ooops just noticed Kimmy beat me to the punch on that name…whomp whomp….

  9. The Vegan 8 said, on April 28, 2014 at 3:03 PM

    This looks so good! I love all the veggies and flavors going on here. I have never tried soy curls. Haha about Houston. That is where I live and I have lived here my entire life and I am STILL not used to the humidity!

    • janet @ the taste space said, on April 29, 2014 at 7:29 AM

      Thanks, Brandi! It was 33C yesterday and just as hot as any day in Toronto’s summer. The sad part is that is only gets hotter from here!! ;)

  10. Hannah said, on April 28, 2014 at 8:54 PM

    You’ve been in Houston pretty much as long as we’ve had winter. I’m crumpingggggggg

  11. Johanna GGG said, on April 29, 2014 at 9:54 PM

    I am sure I have seen muscovy ducks but can’t think where – you might think possums a bit exotic – they seem quite ordinary here but are pests for some. We also have a fruit bat problem in our botanical gardens though they are quite spooky flying overhead – we even see them out our way occasionally. Love how rob must use tamarind – it is forgotten at the back of my fridge – looks a yummy meal

    • janet @ the taste space said, on May 2, 2014 at 10:50 AM

      Fruit bat?! That sounds a bit more worrisome for rabies, which is what I think of when I think of bats. There are some here in Houston but I haven’t seen them, just their poop under the overpasses. :P


What do you think?

